We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daventry Court Hotel - very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Daventry
manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Daventry Court Hotel - very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at Daventry Court Hotel just for an overnight stop as we were attending a private function here. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who was extremely helpful in dealing efficiently with our reservation. We booked a double room and twin, very satisfied with them both, was clean and had everything we needed for our short stay. Included, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom had complimentary shower gels/creams etc..although we didn't use them, they were a nice touch. There was a table and 2 chairs in our room. There was a small gym which my husband used and said was adequate. Swimming pool (didn't use this) but could if you wanted to.breakfast was excellent, so much choice, buffet style so you could help yourself, staff on hand to help you. Wide variety of choice from cold meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, fruit juices, pastries, cereals, toast, tea/coffee to the good old English breakfast! 10 out of 10! Overall it was a delightful stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adele40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Daventry Court Hotel
It is fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to sample most of the amenties and facilities we offer, here at the hotel.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    204
    205
    89
    64
See reviews for
119
161
23
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Not the worst hotel I have stayed in, but a close second. Had the misfortune to stay for 2 nights on business and whilst my first impressions were ok, it became very apparent that the staff had no obvious training, motivation or management. They were actually quite defensive when asked why something hadn't been done or that there was something needed doing, basic stuff that all other hotels would do as a matter of course e.g. I had a breakfast at 8.30, and when we left 1.5hrs later, at no point did the waitress clear any of our plates, she only came over at 10 to politely say the buffet was now closed. At one point I counted 5 staff and 9 dinners so they were not exactly rushed off their feet. We had a group dinner and the food whilst eatable was poor and I'd guess that prison food would be better. Service was ok, although the waiter/barman had a fear of clearing empty glasses. Reception staff were polite but again in-affective, inexperienced or again badly trained. A theme that ran throughout.

The bedrooms - I seriously contemplated after the first night of driving home and coming back the next day as the 2hr drive would be more comfortable than the 7hrs in a bed on wheels that had a mind of its own and even a umphah lumpha from the wizard of oz would have felt the bed was too small! I was on the ground floor as are half the rooms and the metal bars on the windows stop you escaping in the event of a fire or the need to open the window fully to appreciate the fresh air, which you will need as the odour in my room #138 had a distinct smell or a room where you can't open the window fully and has damp. Bathroom is basic, small and badly designed. And an absolute sin (in my book) no ale or bitter only lager or Guinness.

Take my advice, book a nice guesthouse or B&B for half the price and you wont be disappointed, stay here and you will...

Room Tip: Yes stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our hotel
I do hope that you had the opportunity to discuss your experience with our duty management team whilst at the hotel so we could address your concerns at the time ensuring you had an enjoyable stay
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daventry hotels

Daventry
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wanted to take daughter away, to take away a little stress in her life, arrived hotel ok clean room, trouble with room.key, staff aware other people had same problem, leisure club clean tidy and pleasant staff,had swim, dressed for dinner, menu not that inspiring, staff lack of knowledge did not help, soup salty, terrine just passable, main course sausage mash daughter ok nothing 4 star in that,, pasta carbonara bog stand like u would make at home, bacon not pancetta, nothing specialist expected, homemade pasta,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our hotel
I do hope that you had the opportunity to discuss your restaurant experience with our food and beverage management team whilst at the hotel so we could address your concerns at the time ensuring you had an enjoyable stay
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I asked when I booked and when I checked in for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper and had a headache. The room I had looked out over a road. Although not a busy road, noisy enough to wake you. There were rooms overlooking a central courtyard that would have been quieter. Poor knowledge of where rooms are is not unique to this hotel. Everything else was ok

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments on your room location
I have passed on your feedback to our front of house team so that they can learn from your experience.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Overall an enjoyable break, but with one or two detracting factors.
Very slow service in the evenings, but front of house staff pleasant and helpful.
No tray in wet room for soap and shampoo. A small matter, but so annoying!
Bed not very comfortable, but maybe this a personal thing?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel
I am glad you enjoyed your visit however it is disappointing to read you experience slow service. We have taken note of your comment on the tray and are currently sourcing a suitable item to put in place.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Average hotel. The restaurant service is quite slow so be prepared to wait9it wasn't that busy,(only 24 people in the restaurant but only 2/3 waiters). Room was ok,large bed, except for a leak in the bathroom that spread to the bedroom carpet and left a damp patch. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our hotel
I do hope that you had the opportunity of mentioning the leak to our team so that a corrective solution could have been put in place for you to ensure you enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a friendly and efficient greeting at reception.
Initial impression of our room was good.
Large comfortable bed, flat screen TV with a good picture and tea/coffee making facilities.
A few points about the Bathroom though:
• The back of the bathroom door needed a wipe to remove accumulated splash marks.
• Something electrical had been removed from the bathroom wall and replaced by a smaller blanking plate.
The exposed tiles were not grouted.
• There was a gap between the electrical connection for the towel rail, which was not working, and the wall.

• The fitted sink plug was missing and had been replaced by a too small standard plug.
• A quantity of mastic had been poorly applied all around the bath (and on one of the taps).
The overall impression in the bathroom was one of a lack of care and cheapness!
The highlight of our visit though was the newly refurbished restaurant.
• Sticky tables - the manager explained that this was because the tables hadn't been dried properly after they'd been cleaned. He re cleaned the just area in front of me. It was still left sticky.
• No forks and only one knife for me although these were laid whilst we were sitting at the table.
• Serving of main course (after starters) was very very slow.
• My daughter was served the wrong pasta meal but kept it because she didn't want to wait for a replacement.
• Portions were very small. The quality was ok, but not appropriate for a restaurant in a four star hotel.
• Two of us ordered chocolate fudge pudding with clotted cream for our dessert. The chocolate fudge was delivered without cream, but with one scoop of ice cream! It hadn't been felt necessary to ask whether this substitution was acceptable!
• On signing for the restaurant bill, the waitress warned us to check it carefully as it would probably be wrong. She was right, it was. We were charged for five three course meals but had had four three course and one two course meal.
Two tables next to us fared worse. The tables, which were not next to each other, had parties of about 12 on each.
Table 'A' got table 'B's meals!
This resulted in some guests on table 'A' having food, but no one on table 'B'.
Table 'B' eventually grabbed a tray of weetabix and began eating them. After a while they had a basket of rolls placed on the end of their table - Hilarious.
Table 'A' after their meals were delivered and eaten and fed up with waiting for service, cleared the dirty plates themselves.
Not all was bad though. Molly, the waitress who served our drinks and bread rolls, was very efficient and pleasant.
Back to our room. At 4:30AM we were woken by a loud high pitched whistle. Despite searching, we couldn't find the cause!
We heard it again at 7:30AM and again shortly after.
My son, who was in the room next to us, says he thinks the whistle was coming from the radiator.
Breakfast.
This was serve yourself.
• The restaurant wasn't particularly busy, but most empty tables needed clearing.
• The floor could have done with a sweep.
A waitress began clearing a table for us, but whilst waiting, we saw a table that had been cleared and was almost clean so chose to sit there.
• The quality of the food was fine. There was no bacon, but a waitress brought some to our table as soon as it was cooked.
• There were no appropriate sized cups for the coffee machine.
We stayed at this hotel, because they were hosting an excellent ‘Muscular Dystrophy Campaign’ conference.
If the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign’ choose to hold their conference in the hotel in future, we would probably stay again. Maybe we would take sandwiches.

Room Tip: Choose one without the early morning whistle and check the bathroom. The main problem with this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clanfieldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha D, General Manager at Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your visit to our hotel
It is great to have some detailed feedback and we will use this in our analysis of our customer service in the relevant departments
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daventry
2.5 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.8 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
4.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
19.3 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cross Roads Hotel Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Address: Sedgemoor Way, Daventry NN11 0SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Daventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and modern four-star Daventry Court Hotel is set in lovely landscaped grounds in the heart of the Saxon town of Daventry. With 155 refurbished rooms, including 23 premium rooms, it’s ideally located for enjoying high-speed thrills at Silverstone, horse-racing at Towcester, historic Ashby Castle and the National Trust’s beautiful and impressive Elizabethan House and Gardens at Canons Ashby. With excellent transport links, a Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool and beauty rooms, as well as great food in the Fuel Bar and Restaurant, there’s everything you need for a relaxing break that offers town and country experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Daventry
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel And Spa Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing