We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Granary at Fawsley
Ranked #1 of 1 Fawsley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Clean, warm, comfortable, excellent service (nothing was too much trouble) and a very nice afternoon tea. The price was a bargain, too; if you do your research instead of moaning afterwards, the Granary is what it says on the tin. In fairness, the gentleman in charge of our stay was not the owner, so all was as it should have been.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beveren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Would just like to thank everyone at the Granary for all the hard work you put in at our wedding on Saturday. It was the perfect day and the attention to detail from you all was amazing. All of our guests were amazed at how beautiful the barn looked went they went in. From the first drinks when everyone arrived at the main building, the top food served at the reception, through to the great breakfast the next day everything was excellent. And the people who stayed all commented on how good the rooms are. Apologies for any mess from my best man in his room by the way ! I would just like to say if anyone is thinking of somewhere to hold there wedding reception they should look no further than the Granary. We will defiantly be sharing some of our wedding photos on trip advisor when we get them back so everyone can see how amazing the place looks. Thanks Stuart and Ewa

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I am so pleased we stayed at this classy, warm and welcoming hotel. We were so impressed with the standard and the quality of the food (Breakfast which was simply amazing). The host was very diligent and I can only imagine an extended stay would only back this up. However the access was a challenge but as always in life the special things are always a challenge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaljohn254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Charming old world hotel. Set at the end of a single track road and in the middle of rolling countryside. Yet only 10 minutes drive from the main industrial area of daventry. Very relaxing and very different from the usual commercial hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Rodney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Apparently the ownership of this place has changed hands not very far back. I know the granary hotel had a bad reputation previousy. Sadly though in my opinion new owners have not given a boost to the tea room which is a big let down. Now I know I was not expecting the earth from a small tea room like this, and we were just stopping because it was on our way home. Still, it was quite alot worse than I expected. The hotel served stale cakes to us in the tea room. It was a bit of a shock but we were too embarassed to say anything because the hotel employee was not terribly nice. My friend said we could have got better at a supermarket cafe and she was probably right.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the moment you set foot inside, everything is too much trouble for the hotel staff, who I presume are the owners.

There are no amenities. There is nothing to do. You are in the middle of nowhere. The food is patchy, and ours was both cold and unhygeinic.

After we checked out, we stayed at a bog standard Travelodge. Even a budget hotel chain like that made us feel vastly more welcome.

The Granary is not what you expect for the money. We have stayed at all kinds of hotels, two star to five star, and this is the most unfriendly. It is like they just see you as another addition to their balance sheet. Once you have booked, they could not care less.

STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: I doubt that there are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaryHotelFawsley, Owner at The Granary at Fawsley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are saddened and disappointed that your experience of The Granary at Fawsley was not a positive one and that you felt that our staff were unwelcoming. This is not acceptable and we will be taking measures to ensure that all staff receive further training in customer service. It is very unlikely to have been the owners that you encountered as we live some distance away and are rarely at the hotel.

It is true to say that we are in a very rural location. For us and many of our guests , this is the charm of the place as it is very peaceful and tranquil and set in some very beautiful countryside. We do not claim to have lots of amenities but rather see ourselves as a base for exploring the countryside as well as the many attractions that Northamptonshire has to offer. As you will see from our many excellent reviews, many of our guests love the peace and quiet of our rural location but we appreciate that this is not for everybody.

We apologise that you did not enjoy the food at The Granary. It is difficult to comment further on this without more details i.e. in what way was the food unhygienic? It is usually best to complain at the time so the problem can either be rectified or your money refunded.

The Granary at Fawsley is an independent family owned hotel and we work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best experience we can provide. This clearly did not happen on this occasion for which we are very sorry. We would urge you in future to speak out during your stay, particularly if you are so very unhappy with everything. It is very difficult for a hotelier to rectify problems if they are not brought to their attention.

Kind Regards
Donna Newman - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As a couple we stayed for 2 nights in November. On arrival it was very very VERY rural. If you are a nervous driver get there before the night sets in as there are some nervous moments if you aren't confident.

The accomodation was lovely. Converted barn like structure where the rooms appear to be joined in pairs with a small hall between the two. This worked out quite nicely as friends joined us the second night and were just over the hall.

The bathrooms were lovely. Very clean, lovely shower cubicle, nice and modern.
The beds were comfortable enough but the only complaint I would have is that I don't think the duvet was particularly clean. The duvet cover had worked it's way off a portion of the duvet on night 2 and while we were in bed in the morning, there was a less than fresh smell and it wasn't us!
Difficult to regulate the temperature in the room. One min too warm one min ridiculously cold but hey ho.
We also had a brief power cut which wasn't an issue and the staff tended to it after a phone call immediately.
The staff we met were friendly and particularly the gentleman (didn't get his name) was very pleasant and made a nice breakfast.

I would recommend for a brief stay, particularly with groups of friends/couples as it has quite an upmarket dormitory feel with the rooms being split into adjacent pairs.

Given 4 stars but the description Very Good is a bit overboard but 3 stars Average would be unfair! 3.5 for me.

Room Tip: Room 1 I can tell you has a double bed. Room 2 has a double and a single. Just in case that helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danstewartuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaryHotelFawsley, Owner at The Granary at Fawsley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive and constructive comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the Granary at Fawsley met your needs for the most part. We have taken on board your comment about the duvet and rectified the matter, we are sorry if this was unpleasant.
Again, many thanks for your review, we are extremely grateful for all feedback.

Kind Regards

Donna Newman - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Granary at Fawsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granary at Fawsley

Address: Fawsley Estate, Fawsley NN11 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Fawsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fawsley
Price Range: £67 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Granary at Fawsley 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granary at Fawsley is a contemporary rustic hotel set in the heart of the beautiful Fawsley Estate, Northamptonshire. With 10 individually styled bedrooms, The Granary offers guests a home from home experience in a stunning setting. Ideally located for many attractions including Silverstone, Stratford Upon Avon and Bicester designer outlet village. We are situated in a small valley in the midst of rolling countryside, perfect for walking enthusiasts and plodders alike! Afterwards, why not sample one of our afternoon teas, a Granary must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Granary at Fawsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Granary At Fawsley Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing