We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Kettering B&B and Inns
Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I spent three days here whilst at a conference in Kettering. The hotel is beautifully clean and comfortable and I slept so well. The food was wonderful - simple but so well cooked and it was a real pleasure to read and relax here. Steve's maps were so much better than Google and I would recommend it to anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed here during November, whilst visiting my daughter and grandson. I was delighted to find this lovely hotel in the delightful village of Great Cransley, very well situated for getting into Kettering. I was welcomed by Steve on my arrival, which was fairly late, and immediately was made to feel at home and that nothing was too much trouble. My room over looked the pretty garden and was beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. Steve and Jenny are super hosts, offering excellent value and a very high standard of accomodation. I travel a great deal and this was one of the nicest places that I have stayed in, huge thanks to Steve and Jenny, I will be back again, when I next visit my daughter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I was looking for a place in or near Kettering for a one night stay and used a website. The site said it was 'Exceptional 9.7' and it was absolutely correct! Steve and Jenny are fabulous hosts, very warm and welcoming. The hotel is spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. My room was exactly the same with the small touches, sewing kit, razor, hair dryer, toiletries etc well thought out and just right. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for many a while and the view from the room tranquil. Breakfast was wonderful and the service and standards superb. The hotel knocks spots off any of the chains, please try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My partner daughter and I stayed here,and had a fantastic time.The rooms perfectly clean and tidy. Steve and Jenny could not have been kinder. We have stayed in some more expensive hotels,and been very unhappy. Breakfast,wow, all and more than you could ask for. We look forward to staying here again and again. Highly recommended.
Thank you so much Paul ,Becca and Mia-Grace

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tapski
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Small, friendly hotel with fantastic decor. Felt like I was staying in a luxury retreat. Tasty breakfast and great facilities.

Ideal location for the conference centre/motorway.

Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

As previously written Steve and Jenny are the perfect hosts, We welcomed and liked the room with its patio doors opening out to the garden. It was great to sit out on a summers evening and have the choice to stay in or visit the local pub, the three cranes. Breakfast and service was excellent and we were impressed by the flexibility. The hotel is superbly decorated and well equipped. If I were to be asked for one improvement it would be to have real milk and not UHT in the room ?

Room Tip: Choose a garden room a real bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

As our car arrived, Steve came out to meet us, and helped with our luggage. Our room was extremely well appointed, with every comfort you could ask for. As I have limited mobility I had requested a downstairs bedroom, which had the added bonus of patio doors leading outside to a lovely garden. Breakfast was served with a smile and willingness to attend to our every need. We were going to a family wedding, and they even offered us the use of one of their umbrellas! (Unfortunately we needed it). All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this small and homely hotel to anyone. Steve and Jenny are simply the best.......better than all the rest!

Room Tip: Because this hotel is small, the owners have time to talk to you and make you feel welcome. My tip i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
3.2 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
3.5 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country House Hotel

Property: The Country House Hotel
Address: 63 Loddington Road | Great Cransley, Kettering NN14 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing