We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, homely hotel with great hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Kettering B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I needed a hotel near Kettering Conference Centre, but didn't want a faceless chain hotel. It took me ages searching for somewhere nearby that was up to my fussy standards without a luxury price. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, as I wasn't particularly inspired by the photos (sorry Steve and Jenny!), but thought the area would be nice. The hotel is decorated to a high standard and is spotlessly clean. The hosts are welcoming and friendly, and my room was lovely - plenty of space, bright and airy with an en-suite and a patio area in their garden. The breakfasts were very nice too. I didn't stay for an evening meal, as I wanted to try the local country pub (there aren't many where I live). A very pleasant stay - I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is where you should stay if you are up around Kettering area, Steve & Jenny are the most helpful people and are so good to you and no matter what, they will do their utmost to make it happen!
My room at the front No. 4 looked out over the fields and beyond to Kettering, was beautifully decorated ( as all the rooms are) in all shades of Grey & White, lovely comfy bed, shower room, tea and coffee making facilities, we stayed 2 nights and wish it was for a fortnight! so peaceful and relaxing.
The rest of my family were downstairs in double rooms and again decorated to a very high standard, theirs lead out onto the patio with table and chairs and looking out over the fields!
Breakfast was great, and very filling to start the day off, we had dinner on the second night which was again great! a short wait for it to be cooked but that was no problem as we sat in the lounge, ( again beautifully decorated) and listened to music and chatted to Steve, who has some great paintings on the wall, and actually painted by him! a very talented man.
This is a very small village, and just a very short distance to get to Kettering and surrounding areas. Peaceful and great for a getaway we cant wait to go back and walk the walks around the area.... thanks Steve & Jenny for a lovely weekend and those chats about coincedence's, very interesting indeed.

Room Tip: Single Room 4 at the front upstairs, great view! Double rooms 2 & 3 at the rear on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for just one night after a long day at a swimming event in Corby. Great room lovely view clean and a very comfy bed. Ordered evening meal Lamb shank in rosemary gravy with potatoes and veg it was really nice and plenty of it. I had a great nights sleep and after a huge breakfast said my good byes I will be going back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You couldn't find more caring, hospitable owners anywhere. Nothing was too much trouble. They even happily taxi'd us to our evening celebrations and picked us up again.
The rooms were well thought out and really relaxing. Fresh milk for our tea ..... not those horrible little cartons in the room! Breakfast was good too.
Lovely views.
If you are in the area... stay there !!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a balcony overlooking the very quiet road and then over fields. Room 3 had doors to a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jude59595959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed with Jenny & Steve for just the one night but wish it could have been more. The room was lovely, the bed super comfy, the breakfast divine and what a lovely couple they are who clearly LOVE what they do! The hotel is in a really quiet road in a lovely village and our sleep was totally undisturbed (how are is that when staying in away from home)We will definitely recommend and will be back ourselves for sure if we are ever anywhere near again in the future (maybe even this time next year). A REAL home from home!

Room Tip: I believe all of the rooms are equally lovely and all offer guest access to the bar, lounge and pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Staying at the country house hotel great cransley,this might sound like someone trying to advertise this accomadation because the description about it seems a little too good.....your wrong,we stay at lots of hotels all around this country,and can honestly say,they have got it right....from the location to the warm welcome,from the food to the little choc,s beside the bed....it's great. Very dog friendly,even got a lift to the pub.....(even though they sell beer and food here....)comfy beds,nice garden,great breakfast....I couldn't find a thing wrong with this place....well done you two.....give yourselves a holiday......you deserve it...and buy a schnauzer ,you won't regret it....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Easy to find with the satnav with plenty of car parking at the front of the house. Well located house and great views over the fields from my room at the back of the house. Warm welcome from the owners both on arrival (accommodated my late arrival) and also at Breakfast time. Room was well appointed with everything you would expect. Very clean and well maintained. Only minor issue was the size of the TV in the corner of the room - wider flat screen would have been nicer however this is only me being picky.

Excellent breakfast in the morning and I would definitely return with my next client booking in the area - very soon I would hope!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kettering hotels
3.8 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
240 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.1 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
2.9 mi away
Brooklyn House
Brooklyn House
#1 of 10 in Kettering
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country House Hotel

Address: 63 Loddington Road | Great Cransley, Kettering NN14 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing