We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a 5 star Hotel !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Kettering B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than a 5 star Hotel !”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Returned once again.... our third visit. All as before, tastefully decorated and super clean private hotel in a nice quiet area close to the A14. Jenny and Steve as always going the extra mile. Lots of parking and nice views from any of the rooms.... Will be returning again later in the year.
This hotel deserves 10 Stars !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east canuck
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Visiting from Canada - can't say enough about this hotel and Steve & Jen went the 'extra mile' to make our recent stay a wonderful experience. Location and room was outstanding and the breakfast was as good as you can get anywhere. So helpful. First class all the way.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to overlook the countryside-very quiet & rural.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beadle gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My son and I stayed there for the first time as it was close to the Silverstone Circuit for the Formula 1 Grand Prix.
Arriving at the premises we found the forecourt spacious with parking for about 8 vehicles. On entering into the lobby it immediately gave the impression that this was an excellent little hotel - very clean and immaculately decorated is the only way to describe it.
We occupied a ground floor room with access to the back garden which is well kept and there are two tables with chairs to be used when the weather is favourable.
The bedroom was just as impressive as the entrance lobby, being very clean, well decorated and well appointed with just about everything you could really need.
Breakfast was substantial with cereals, yoghurts and any combination of hot items that make a Full English breakfast plus of course toast and teas/coffee for the asking.
Jenny and Steve as the owners are extremely likeable and also very helpful in suggesting local places to eat at in the evening. In fact the local pub within 0.3 of a mile served some very good meals and the short walk meant that there was no need to consider the Drink Drive factor - it was a nice little stroll.
We would highly recommend this hotel in its rural setting, so much so that we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I needed a hotel near Kettering Conference Centre, but didn't want a faceless chain hotel. It took me ages searching for somewhere nearby that was up to my fussy standards without a luxury price. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, as I wasn't particularly inspired by the photos (sorry Steve and Jenny!), but thought the area would be nice. The hotel is decorated to a high standard and is spotlessly clean. The hosts are welcoming and friendly, and my room was lovely - plenty of space, bright and airy with an en-suite and a patio area in their garden. The breakfasts were very nice too. I didn't stay for an evening meal, as I wanted to try the local country pub (there aren't many where I live). A very pleasant stay - I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is where you should stay if you are up around Kettering area, Steve & Jenny are the most helpful people and are so good to you and no matter what, they will do their utmost to make it happen!
My room at the front No. 4 looked out over the fields and beyond to Kettering, was beautifully decorated ( as all the rooms are) in all shades of Grey & White, lovely comfy bed, shower room, tea and coffee making facilities, we stayed 2 nights and wish it was for a fortnight! so peaceful and relaxing.
The rest of my family were downstairs in double rooms and again decorated to a very high standard, theirs lead out onto the patio with table and chairs and looking out over the fields!
Breakfast was great, and very filling to start the day off, we had dinner on the second night which was again great! a short wait for it to be cooked but that was no problem as we sat in the lounge, ( again beautifully decorated) and listened to music and chatted to Steve, who has some great paintings on the wall, and actually painted by him! a very talented man.
This is a very small village, and just a very short distance to get to Kettering and surrounding areas. Peaceful and great for a getaway we cant wait to go back and walk the walks around the area.... thanks Steve & Jenny for a lovely weekend and those chats about coincedence's, very interesting indeed.

Room Tip: Single Room 4 at the front upstairs, great view! Double rooms 2 & 3 at the rear on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for just one night after a long day at a swimming event in Corby. Great room lovely view clean and a very comfy bed. Ordered evening meal Lamb shank in rosemary gravy with potatoes and veg it was really nice and plenty of it. I had a great nights sleep and after a huge breakfast said my good byes I will be going back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You couldn't find more caring, hospitable owners anywhere. Nothing was too much trouble. They even happily taxi'd us to our evening celebrations and picked us up again.
The rooms were well thought out and really relaxing. Fresh milk for our tea ..... not those horrible little cartons in the room! Breakfast was good too.
Lovely views.
If you are in the area... stay there !!!!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a balcony overlooking the very quiet road and then over fields. Room 3 had doors to a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude59595959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kettering
3.2 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
3.7 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Kettering
Travelodge Kettering
#5 of 7 in Kettering
99 reviews
14.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country House Hotel

Property: The Country House Hotel
Address: 63 Loddington Road | Great Cransley, Kettering NN14 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing