We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot”
Review of The Old Forge

The Old Forge
Ranked #9 of 212 Restaurants in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Forge Tea Room serves breakfast , lunch, cream teas and homemade cakes. Indoor seating for 30. Outdoor seating for 30.6 Days a week (plus sundays mid may to mid oct)
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really like this little cafe. Used to come in after a music group with my daughter, and given they were bombarded by a bunch of 2 year olds they couldn't have been more accommodating. Keep meaning to return child free or at least with a slightly more sane 3 year old. Definitely will stop next time im passing.

Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldForge, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to add a positive review for the old forge. We still receive 'mini' invasions on a Monday morning, with our lovely team at the forge we can handle it. Look forward to your visit minus the kids...I mean that in a nice way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I happened upon The Old Forge in March 2014 and have visited several times since. Today was a breakfast visit and it was superb. I write this at 7pm and I am still thinking of The Formidable Forge Fry Up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim-Chorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldForge, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for giving the thumbs up to our breakfast and repeat visits.
Sounds as though you like the Old forge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Old Forge is a little gem in the lovely village of Cranford.
Rob Walker and all the girls who work for him are so friendly and nothing is too much bother. The food is great, prepared on the premises and always fresh. This little cafe is well worth a visit after a walk round the village.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldForge, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

The Old Forge management and staff appreciate your kind words Jenny P.
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My daughter and I often come here when my wife has a workshop on at the weekends,We sit have a full english, read the papers chat with the other fellow customers and have a great couple of hours.
You are made to feel very welcome, the food is tasty and the service is how you wish it to be.

So to get away from it, indulge in good food and see a smiley face, give it a go, you wont be dissapointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldForge, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Lordy lord sorry for the late response. We will certainly keep on smiling with reviews like this and your friendly custom !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the only negative point would be that they only took cash no card machine, but I think they were doing some extension work , so maybe now they have gone in the 21st century and realised that a lot of people to not carry cash and would prefer to pay by card, good place for catch up and you can sit outside, the food is all very fresh and cooked to order.

Thank morgieNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Forge also viewed

Burton Latimer, Kettering
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing