We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out”
Review of Wicksteed Park

Wicksteed Park
Ranked #2 of 112 things to do in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wicksteed Park is based in Kettering, Northamptonshire and the large 147 acre ground is a wonderful mix of rides, attractions and beautiful countryside and wildlife. Wicksteed also boasts two private function rooms, ideal for weddings, private functions and corporate hire in the Northamptonshire and Midlands region. The is also a family camp site which boasts a modern loo and shower block, and beautiful views over the lake. It's the perfect way to make the most of Wicksteed Park. You wake up just seconds away from our rides, cafés and playgrounds, and get special second-day discounts on our wristbands. 2017 opening dates will be updated shortly.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our very first visit to Wicksteed park with our children age 10 & 8, they both LOVED it.

We went on Sunday 4th May 2014, the park was easy to find with plenty of car park attendants to take your £5 parking fee and direct you where to park.

Once we walked into the park we weren't really sure where to go to purchase tickets and had to ask and be shown where the ticket booth was. We purchased 2 children's wrist bands for £17 each. We then asked for a map but was given an information leaflet which had very little detail about the rides on it.

The first part of the park had bumper cars, pirate ship, carousel, 2p arcade and the Astroglide (slide) and a huge free playground.

As it was our 1st visit we could not work out how to find the other rides so had to ask a member of staff, who told us to walk across a large field to reach it.

The second part of the park had a rollercoaster, log flume, paratrooper, racing cars plus several other rides.

Our children went on everything, the longest queue was no more than 3-4 minutes, they went on the large rollercoaster 7 times, log flume twice, pirate ship twice and the lighthouse 3 times.

There is construction work going on so the train and rowing boats were not in operation.

We spent an enjoyable 5 hours there, we bought a picnic so did not purchase any food, but we bought drinks which were a good price and not a rip off like you find at larger theme parks in the UK.

I personally think the park could do with better signs/directions to help 1st time visitors find their way around, a map would of been handy as the park is huge and i'm sure we missed out on lots of nice things to do.

Some parts and rides look tired and in need of a fresh coat of paint. I noticed that the window of the operators booth on the pirate ship was held open by a bit of wood. But having said that we found all the staff friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return as our children thoroughly enjoyed themselves, they are both at the age when they can go onto rides without needing an adult to accompany them (with the exception of the Racing cars) so there was no need for my husband and I to purchase a wrist band.

Park was clean and tiny, as were the toilets (which is always nice to see)

All in all it was a great family day out :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    361
    170
    65
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Was ok.”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Kettering to visit some friends, and there is not much to do, although is a nice little town and is great to be away from a big city full of car sirens! Wickstead park is free to visit, plenty of green fields and gardens. Some parts are in construction so i guess it will be great later on, specially around the lake. For families is a great way to spend together as there are many rides and things to do for all ages. Is fun to ride some of the attractions. The karts was so much fun, but too short, only 2 laps! It should be at least 3!

Helpful?
Thank nanitako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's like going back 50 years”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I took my grandchildren to the park over the easter holidays. It really is like going back in time. The rides are very poor and even my grandchildren (6&7) did not want to go on them. The galleon has been there for the last thirty years and whilst they are trying to update the acxtivities this amounts to kicking a ball through a hole in a board in order to win a cuddly toy. The on-line blurp advertises a roller-coaster for this you need to pick up a matt walk up some steps and slide down (this is their roller-coaster).They have a wire ride under construction which they see as cutting edge technology this enables you to swing from one side of the park to the other (excuse me but this is a boring and expensive piece of equipment that offers nothing to the majority of customers). The price of parking is extortinate and when combined with the vastly overpriced and poor quality of the food it is a wonder the park is still in business. My deep regret is that I wasted a day at what is wrongly termed a 'holiday park'. Try calling it a 'waste of hard earned money park'.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank norwegian1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Family day out”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived at opening time on Easter Tuesday and there must have been no more than 20 cars in the carpark, We spent £58 on wristbands for 2 adults and 2 children and paid £5 for parking.

We went on every ride at least 3 times and the longest we had to wait was for the ride to stop from the previous turn.

There is some construction work going on in the lake area but this only stopped the train and maybe some boats being in operation. Until1pm I think there were more staff on duty than visitors which I felt was a shame as this is a great place for under 10's. There is a large free playground before you have to think about buying tickets or a wristband. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

The park is well spaced out with lots of grassy areas for a picnic or ball games and you can easily get to and from the car if you need to. We ate at the park and got lunch for 4 of us for £16.

I hope they get more visitors later this year as they deserve success.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not too bad for kids”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went to the theme park on Easter weekend 2014, rides are good but operated by youngsters (maybe students). which is not the best, As my 4 year old son was hit on the head on one of the rides as they forgot to secure him in the ride and left him standing on the platform and started to ride.ruined my day and had to go home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank patsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicksteedpark, General Manager at Wicksteed Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, which we value greatly as we work to improve the visitor experience at the Park. Please be assured that we are conducting a full review of this incident and will take all the appropriate action. Our initial findings are that your child was not hit by the ride, however you raise very valid safety concerns which we will address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicksteed Park also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Castle Ashby, Northampton
 

Been to Wicksteed Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing