We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub meal”
Review of The Three Cranes

The Three Cranes
Ranked #17 of 206 Restaurants in Kettering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Three Cranes serves good quality beers, wines & freshly cooked dishes
Norfolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub meal”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very good atmosphere and friendly welcome. For a Saturday lunch the food was excellent, Took an elderly relative who said it was the best food around the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trebbimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheThreeCranes, Owner at The Three Cranes, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
trebbimi,

Thanks for visiting us on a Saturday lunchtime. We’re glad to hear your guest has good taste :)

We look forward to you visiting again,

Kind regards,

The Three Cranes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    51
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent pub food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a Saturday evening and it was lucky we booked a table as it was full. It's not a big pub so best to call ahead if it's going to be peak time. The food was lovely and good sized portions, a decent specials board and plenty of puddings to choose from. Good value for money and the atmosphere was relaxed throughout all in just what a good food orientated pub should be. Will be going back

Helpful?
Thank skindog981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheThreeCranes, Owner at The Three Cranes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
skindog981,

Thanks for dropping by The Three Cranes on a busy Saturday evening.

We’re pleased to hear that you liked the size of the portions and the choice on offer and glad you’ll be coming back!

Kind regards,
The Three Cranes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing pie! ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Found this pub through reviews on trip advisor, I'm so pleased we believed them and visited. It is a very unassuming pub in a little village. The decor could do with updating but I guess it gives you the real country pub feel. It is clean and has a decent menu on offer.

The steak and mushroom pie was to die for. The meat was so tender and the homemade pastry was lovely. The staff were very helpful as we asked for mashed potatoes and extra gravy and they made us feel like it was no problem.

As this was a middle meeting point between me and my friend we stayed for a couple of hours and were made feel welcome the whole time. We had a main meal, dessert and 3 or 4 drinks each and it was less than £20 each so more than well priced.

If I am in the area again I will definitely be visiting for the pie again.

Thanks for a lovely evening.

Helpful?
Thank nattybg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheThreeCranes, Owner at The Three Cranes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
nattybg,

Thanks for visiting The Three Cranes. It shows people do read the reviews on TripAdvisor!

We’re very pleased to hear you found us reasonably priced and that you liked our traditional steak and mushroom pie, I hope you’ll agree that it fits in well with the décor.

We look forward to seeing you again if you’re ever in the area.

Kind regards,
The Three Cranes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned country pub”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Cosy, friendly, great food. Felt like the heart of a small community - they provided chips and orange juice for the local guide group in the beer garden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helsibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheThreeCranes, Owner at The Three Cranes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Helsibel,

Thanks for bringing along your girl guides after a long walk to the pub. Glad they enjoyed the chips and juice we provided.

You (and the girls) are welcome back any time :)

Kind regards,
The Three Cranes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A meal at the Three Cranes is so much better than your average pub grub. Host and his team are very friendly and attentive.A good selection of meals are available and reasonably priced. This has become a regular place for my wife and I to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheThreeCranes, Owner at The Three Cranes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Roger B,

Thanks for visiting the pub and your 5/5 review on TripAdvisor.

We’re pleased that you find us better than average. We’ll take your word for that!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
The Three Cranes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Cranes also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Burton Latimer, Kettering
 

Been to The Three Cranes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing