We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kettering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawthorn House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our one night stay at Hawthorn House was a delight. From the moment we arrived Mrs. McQuade, the proprietor, was kind and helpful. She made every effort to ensure we had a pleasant stay and did everything possible to make us comfortable. The breakfast was of the original Scottish full breakfast style. Tasty and substantial. We would recommend anyone staying in Kettering to give this lovely private hotel a try. We would not think of staying anywhere else when we come to visit relatives in this area again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66maddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Appreciated the warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and victorian charm of the hotel.The much mentioned breakfast fulfilled all expectations. This low budget hotel is never the less good full of character and a really nice alternative for those looking for an alternative to the modern built budget hotels.

Room Tip: The blue room has a classic carved wood victorian bed but with an up to date and very comfortable ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us, it was lovely to have met you all and I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and were comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Such a warm welcome and comfortable accomodation could not believe the breakfast, spent two nights and was asked what we would like on both days, Was suprised how close town was, 10 mins walk and 20 mins walk to Wicksteed Park where we were going to Classic Car rally.
Found Cafe Culture in town, good food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: stayed in Coach House room great if you want to stay out late and parking right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1milly2, Owner at Hawthorn House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us, it was a pleasure to have met you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have in the past stayed at the holiday inn, not now! A real breakfast and comfortable accomodation, and the golden finish to the victorian woodwork just had to be felt {Iam an old woodworker} we found it very handy for our visit to family. we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeep10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Hawthorn House. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. Food lovely and rooms comfortable. Location central within ten minutes of town centre. ##################################<####

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

we stayed for 2 nights in September to attend a family 'do'. Mrs McQuade made us very welcome. The accomodation was very clean and comfortable and breakfast lovely. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank travellingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Mrs McQuade's and I wish it could have been longer. I got horribly lost on the way from Birmingham & showed up 2 hours late, but Mrs McQuade was still waiting up for me. The room was clean & cozy with every amenity you could ask for. Breakfast both mornings was wonderful. If I ever come back to Kettering, I know where I'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kizzarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kettering hotels
1.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
229 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travel Plaza Market Harborough Hotel
1.4 mi away
Brooklyn House
Brooklyn House
#1 of 9 in Kettering
32 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George
The George
#1 of 2 in Desborough
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House Hotel

Address: 2 Hawthorn Road, Kettering NN15 7HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kettering
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn House (private) Hotel is a beautiful Victorian town house situated close to the center of Kettering. Established in 1975, the resident owners, the McQuade family have welcomed guests from all over the world. Free off road car park. Prices - Single £45.00 per night, Double/Twin £70.00 per night. Breakfast is free of charge to overnight guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing