We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsby
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Met a friend there for a week day lunch, we were surprised how busy it was, but plenty of room in the bar. Did feel it lacked a bit of atmosphere but every thing was nice and clean. Good menu and food at a reasonable price. Good coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daventrygirl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have visited this pub twice since my last review and have excellent food and service on both occasions. The food was extremely tasty and the service came with a smile which sometimes is a rare thing in other establishments. We have had to eat in the bar both times as we booked late so haven't actually sat in the restaurant which looks lovely but the same menu is available.It would be nice to have candles in the bar of an evening too(minor problem)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was recommended to us, though we've lived in the area for 20 years, have not heard of it before. Plenty of parking. We got a table for 2 easily on a Tuesday night and chose from the A La Carte menu - Wed and Thurs are special nights. Food was delicious, flavorsome and nicely fresh. We had cod coujons and creamed mushrooms for our starters. Then salmon fishcakes and rump of venison for mains. Cheeseboard for dessert (which was adequate but a bit unimaginative) Pint of beer, Glass or wine and soda water for £49. Service was very good and a lovely welcome on arrival. We'll be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharleyLaceyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

4 of us went for a Sunday roast (3 adults and 1 six year old). We each had a seperate meat: Beef, pork and lamb. We were all agreed that the food was cooked perfectly and best of all it came out hot. The child's menu and food wre also good. We will definitely go back and based on our eating experience, I would recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KatRich_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived late as the kitchen closes at 2 but the staff enquirer in the kitchen and we were offered to bar menu. Good section and we were not disappointed. I ordered the ham sandwich with chips. Absolutely delicious, proper ham, great salad garnish and amazing chips, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank teeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Dropped in for some food as the place we were going to had a 40 minute wait, really pleasantly surprised the food was excellent i had the vennison partner the saus and mash , wide menu choice the service friendly and warm although the girl seemed a bit tired possibly fed up with something. excellent beer on offer really glad we chose this pub good price too all round winner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

visited this pub for a night out with freinds,good service and the steaks are superb, good value with a taste card,all food cooked fresh to order,good real ales on tap.nice surroudings.good parking,a must if you want a good steak.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank guestyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsby
1.3 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Watford Gap
Days Inn Watford Gap
#1 of 1 in Watford
129 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
8.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 11-13 Watling Street, Kilsby CV23 8YE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Kilsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsby
Price Range: £39 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate restaurant and guesthouse nestled behind the A5 on Watling Street. A coaching inn has been on this site since the 1600s, so with four hundred years of history behind us, Mel and the team would like to welcome you for a bite to eat, a bed for the night or even a full blow party. Get in contact with us to discuss your needs, and we will endevour to make them a reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Kilsby, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing