We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oundle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oundle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Lower Farm is situated in a village that couldn't be more typically English with church, former priory, castle, pub, shop, almshouse and thatched houses all in warm stone. The B&B complements this scene perfectly. Caroline Marriott offers a warm welcome and the standard of the accommodation is first class - wonderfully clean, spacious hot shower and big fluffy towels. Breakfast too, freshly cooked, is superb with great choice of fresh fruit, cereals and a selection of hot dishes. It would be great to come back here and explore more of this quiet and undiscovered but absolutely beautiful area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 202Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here with wife and 3 kids and two other families on a canoeing trip. Top accommodation, superb finish but loved the extras (drinks and cakes on arrival, booking us a provisional table at the local pub etc). She's got it right!

Room Tip: We had a really good adjoining room with a corridor in between and a front door we could lock.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gnaismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I can sum up in one word - perfection! Best B & B we have ever stayed in! We stayed with our two kids during our canoe2 break. Caroline just puts so much thought and effort into your stay. Squash and selection of cakes for kids when we arrived. Immaculate comfy rooms. Caroline even offered to tumble dry the clothes as we managed to capsize! Fantastic breakfast. All provided in a beautiful setting. Nice village pub 10 min walk to eat!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this B&B last weekend for a friends wedding, and therefore rushed in half an hour before the wedding to change, after a hasty check in. The lovely owner knew who we were and accomodated our very rushed procedure, even going to the efforts of writing directions to the Church whilst we got ready, as there were awful roadworks and we were so late!
The breakfast was so good, absoultely above and beyond most hotels. Huge choice and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were lovely.
The rooms are functional but lovely, with windows all around to give the real country feel. It was great to wake up to the sun and helped us get over the slight wedding hangover!
Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Myself,my brother and his wife spent three nights at Lower Farm while visiting family in Oundle and Kingscliffe.
Caroline made us very welcome, all our rooms were excellent and a breakfast second to none. This Bed and Breakfast is a must to try if visiting this area. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just returned from two nights stay at this wonderful accommodation. Lovely quiet location with great hosts. Rooms are very tastefully decorated and very clean. Enjoyed the layout of the accommodation with the rooms around a peaceful courtyard with breakfast in the dining area across the yard. The breakfast was first class with lots of choice. We will definitely be back and would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraandDavid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family. Caroline was so helpful with the booking arrangements and with special needs of elderly relatives. Rooms and service are excellent. As for the breakfast well it's one of the best ever. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending Lower Farm. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waipuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
41.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,098 reviews
6.3 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,460 reviews
6.3 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Buckingham
Travelodge Buckingham
#2 of 4 in Buckingham
114 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
438 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main St, Barnwell | Northamptonshire, Oundle PE8 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oundle
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated in the attractive East Northamptonshire village of Barnwell,three miles from the historic town of Oundle.Accommodation is provided in 10 modern en-suite rooms recently converted from the farms old stables and milking parlour.We can provide you with a comfortable and relaxed country retreat tucked away from busy roads in a picturesque and traditional farm setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing