We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned care”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oundle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oundle B&B and Inns
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old-fashioned care”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Caroline and her team looked after us brilliantly for a week, accommodating our vintage cars, recommending good places to eat, and serving up memorable breakfasts complete with home-made marmalade. This is a working farm yet the rooms are spacious, generous bathrooms, excellent large beds, and quiet. There's a courtyard with seating for friends, and it is top-drawer all round. Relaxed, helpful, cheerful staff. Well done!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, and quiet, at the end of a lane so no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
40
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lower Farm is definitively a wonderful option if you plan to stay in the area or just passing by and need to stop to take a rest. Marriott family did a great job, you'll really feel like at home (kudos to Caroline). Price/quality is very good, breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After a strenuous day's canoeing we enjoyed the comforts of Lower Farm even more. This was the overnight stop on our enjoyable two-day paddle from Thrapston to Fotheringhay organised by local company, Canoe2.

Seeing this unspoilt area from the River Nene is a real treat. Charming villages like Wadenhoe, Ashton and Fotheringhay are all worth exploring (each with an excellent pub), and Lower Farm is an ideal base for touring. With its little stream and numerous white footbridges, Barnwell itself is a delight - the undiscovered 'Venice of East Northamptonshire'.

As many other reviewers have written, the accommodation at Lower Farm, in a converted stable block, is superb, with well appointed motel-style rooms arranged around a courtyard. An excellent breakfast is served in an airy dining room opposite the accommodation.

Lower Farm is a little hard to find. Once in Barnwell, keep going south, and stick to the west side of the stream. If there's no one at reception when you arrive, the procedure is to call Caroline, the owner, using the landline phone on the desk. (Mobile phone coverage here is poor.)

An obvious choice for dinner locally is Barnwell's own pub, the Montagu Arms (The Monty), where Wednesday night is steak night, The nearby Chequered Skipper at Ashton and Kings Arms at Polebrook are even better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at the farm for a cricket final in near by oundle for two nights it was heaven. The rooms are beautiful and spotless. Great shower with fresh clean towels and toiletries. Beds were large and very comfy , slept like a baby really quite surrounding. Breakfast was excellent loads to choose from. Lovely courtyard to sit out in the evenings. Caroline the owner very helpful , lovely lady. Meals in local pub Montagu Arms was spot on too not over priced very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This B&B is probably the best accommodation I have ever stayed in. I stayed here for 2 nights initially (for a friends wedding in the village) and extended to 3 as I didn't want to leave!

Rooms are spacious, incredibly clean, lovely modern bathrooms and have a beautiful communal garden area. Towels, linen and coffee etc. are changed daily. Free wifi is excellent and Caroline (the owner) even offered the use of the B&B phone as reception can be tricky!

I was hairdressing for my friends wedding from very early in the morning. Caroline was extremely kind, bringing a supply of coffee and food to keep me going! Breakfast here is outstanding - again, the best I have had!!

I had a wonderful stay here and really cannot recommend this special place highly enough. Many thanks to Caroline and her team for such quality service.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Has to be the best B&B ever - wonderfully clean, friendly and relaxing. Stayed for 4 nights for a cricket festival at Oundlle. Had an interconnecting room for our 11 year old, felt he was very secure with the locked entrance hall between us - great design. Breakfast as good as any highly rated hotel. The thought and care that goes into catering for all your needs is boundless. Thank you Caroline and team for a very lovely stay.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms perfect with children. The hallway goes to both the rooms and is locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was attending my niece's wedding with extended family members.Accommodation was fantastic-beds rearranged to suit guests.Breakfasts to die for! The staff could not do enough for us.Up there with the best hotels.Will be back and will certainly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oundle
41.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,058 reviews
6.3 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,381 reviews
6.3 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
420 reviews
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
1.3 mi away
Brackley Oaks Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Main St, Barnwell | Northamptonshire, Oundle PE8 5PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Oundle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oundle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Farm Bed and Breakfast is situated in the attractive East Northamptonshire village of Barnwell,three miles from the historic town of Oundle.Accommodation is provided in 10 modern en-suite rooms recently converted from the farms old stables and milking parlour.We can provide you with a comfortable and relaxed country retreat tucked away from busy roads in a picturesque and traditional farm setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing