We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rothwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Firstly, the car parking on site is totally inadequate, around 7 spaces for 20 rooms. When I arrived it was completely jammed with vans but fortunately there was ample free public parking around 100 yards away, far from ideal but it could have been worse.
The wi fi was pathetically slow and I completely gave up on it.
The room was actually OK being clean but the en suite bathroom............ I don't normally measure rooms I stay in but this was exactly 2 feet wide, 60 cms. A shower at one end, a toilet at the other and a sink the size of a small birdbath in the middle. No-where to hang or put anything.

I had planned eat there but when I overheard another guest complaining that her meal was the worst she had ever had I, naturally, went elsewhere.

I also noticed on the guest information card in the room that anyone arriving after 10-00 pm without notifying them would be fined £5. A delightful customer friendly touch not mentioned on their website.

I know this is a small hotel but to have a sign on the reception desk that staff are only around after 10-00 is a bit of a joke. What time do they think people normally check out? I eventually found someone in the kitchen who went and found someone else.

Even at £55 for the night this is poor value and I will certainly be staying elsewhere next time around.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deukhalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sowgate, Owner at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Firstly the car park as 11 spaces and if everybody parks within the lines we have room for 2 more at the front side, yes we have vans every day as most hotels do the money they pay is as good as yours.
We say on arrival and on our booking sites that the town squire is free parking and its 100 yards away. The hotel building is very old and was not built as a hotel it was a rectory and had hose and cart in them days so we have to live with it.As parking is free in the squire and only 100 yards away i myself would not mind.
As for your measurements its like your counting of car spaces, a very bad guess.
We have the amount of staff on for the guests we have and our staff start at 6.30 in the morning and they have to get on with other things so yes maybe a short wait but we always ask on arrival if you would like to pay so you can leave at your own speed .Many thanks Hotels director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

i had a room on the third level right at the top. the staircase steps weren't even level! sloping! as i opened the bedroom door i could not believe how little and dirty it was! there was a bluebottle fly hovering at the round window! there were tea/coffee stains that had not been cleaned up! one foot away from the left side of the end of the bed was like a small tiny opening where the toilet was. there was not even a door. You could literally lay in bed and see the toilet! in front of the toilet was a tiny shower cubicle..it was disgusting! i could not believe that hotels like this existed in England! i had paid for the room but i did not even bother to stop the night in it! it was a nightmare! it is no wonder that there are no pictures of any of the rooms. its a disgusting place! i am sure Health and Safety would have a field day there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhavna_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sowgate, Owner at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

The building goes back to 1842 and has its own features.
On all our web sits we have pictures of most of the rooms and yes the room you had is also on and yes it is small as the discription says and the price reflects.
Flies well we do get them from time to time and we are very sorry but we cannot check each room per hour.
I have checked the room and yes there are 2 tea or coffee stains and we are sorry for that when the manager comes back from her days off i will ask her if you stayed or went.
The bathroom floor, shower and toilet are only 3 weeks old as the bathroom gutted the flooring is a new gray mottled vinyl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was a dirty room and clearly hasn't been cleaned in a long time. The white paintwork around window was black and chipped. The bathroom floor had dust in the corner and very tatty cushion floor which was torn under the sink, there was a layer of dust on top of the bath panel. The room hadn't been vacuumed or dusted, although the sheets were clean the pillow smelled sweaty, no pillow protectors! We should have complained or left but were visiting friends and didn't want to start looking for somewhere else to stay, as the location was perfect. We stayed in room 2. The corridors and stairs hadn't been vac'd either x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bollingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sowgate, General Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

hello
i think you are out of order the room you booked was not what you turned up for. if you book a room its our responsibility to give you that room for the booking but if you change your mind and not tell any body well thats your fault .
then complain about the hotel and staff we service our guest to the booking not to a dream and we also had a wet bed was this us or you.
no sorry we dont discount on your the way you conduct yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

start off mix up with prices on booking then on arrival we had the disabled annex great we thought parked right outside looked around the car park well thought it was a scrap yard.went inti
o room very basic shower curtain was filthy and green on the bottom evening meal nearly thrown at you and not that good tasted of stale grease cooked breakfast next morning not much better

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sowgate, General Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

hello
i think you are out of order the room you booked was not what you turned up for. if you book a room its our responsibility to give you that room for the booking but if you change your mind and not tell any body well thats your fault .
then complain about the hotel and staff we service our guest to the booking not to a dream and we also had a wet bed was this us or you.
no sorry we dont discount on your the way you conduct yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hi its Lee & Sarah,I was very upset to find that Sheryl had gone from the Hotel,we planned to Marry on the 26th October 2013 our plans were for a Reg.Office Marriage followed by a Church Blessing with approx 240 guests but these plans were ruined (if you know us you know by who)however we had to settle for the Reg.Office then a meal with 16 friends & supporters,two weeks before the event good friends kept asking if they would be able to have a drink with us on the evening of the 26th,so at the last minuet we met Sheryl & told her our story Sheryl moved Heaven & Earth to give us an evening never to forget.Sheryl organised a Buffet & Champagne for 40 guests,the room was perfect with flowers(thanks Linda)a wonderful spread of food & a special feeling of Love provided by Sheryl.The evening was one never to forget 80 supporters came the night never ended,we will never forget what you did Sheryl & you will always be part of our day.We will miss you & so will Rothwell.Love Lee & Sarah x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

In terms of value for money, we paid an excellent price for a family weekend stay with this hotel in an apartment that could have slept 6. The service was friendly and helpful even though we didnt arrive until the middle of the evening. There was no stingyness on the heating in our rooms, radiators were on all night, although the hallways were freezing. There was plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits in the rooms & the kitchenette had cloths, washing up liquid etc. Good wifi signal even though our room was in the top corner.
The cleanliness let it down- the sheets and towels were clean, but that was about all in the rooms - the bathroom was quite grotty and there were pills on the floor of the room for my 4 year old. It certainly hadnt been hoovered in a long time. The sofa was torn and the door to one of the rooms had clearly been smashed in on previous occasion. It was a very strange layout to the beds, with the main (beautiful) double bed being in the middle of the kitchen area.
Breakfast was exceptionally good value, huge portions of full English breakfast with friendly waiting staff and they looked after my little one really well. As other people have said, the toilets do let down the quite smart restaurant.
Overall, if we were confident of a thorough clean of the room prior to arrival I would happily spend a full holiday here, for the price and service. But I highly recommend reconsidering cleanliness policies and perhaps repairing/renewing a few things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeymeandmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12chaz, Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

hi
thank you for taking the time to go on tripadvisor we enjoyed your company.
i have had a look for your little girls crown she lost but i have not managed to find it to date
i will look in to the cleaning of room 5 but this was not brought to my attention on departure but i will certainly look into it
the tollets down staires have been painted since the last coments on here and the toilets are normaly cleaned first thing in the morning i myself normal check them
the set up in the appartment is so that you have a seeting area so you can watch tv
i will look into all your coment and see i can make changes to your points made
thank you once again i do hope you return soon
sheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We often come here for Sunday lunch and find it to be of excellent quality and very good value for money huge Yorkshire puddings , choice of meats usually Lamb Beef and Turkey cauliflower cheese and lots of other choice of fresh veg. The staff are lovely polite and attentive. We have not stayed in a room at the hotel but make a trip specially for the Sunday lunches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelmadNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12chaz, Manager at Rothwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi
thank you so much for your comments
its always a pleasure to see you on a sunday and we do hope it continues
sheryl
the manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothwell
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothwell
78 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
11.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thrapston
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
226 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothwell House Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Rothwell NN14 6JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Rothwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rothwell
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Rothwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothwell House Hotel Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing