We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Our motto is simple! Keep it real! We are not looking to be a pretentious eatery or charge extortionate prices! We are proud to be in Silverstone and work hard to ensure Silverstone can be proud of us! It’s a real village pub with real village values! It's a place where those who love good, hearty food, real ales and excellent wines can go to properly enjoy them! It’s a local pub, using fresh ingredients from the surrounding area and drinks from local suppliers! It’s the hub of the local community where locals and visitors alike are guaranteed a warm welcome and great service! It’s a simple, honest pub, with a cosy interior and friendly staff who know their stuff! It’s everything that we think a pub should be! It's The White Horse, Silverstone!
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have drank in the horse for many years ,but since les departed it's not been the same . The pub has lost its way,no one seems to be in charge . It a real shame.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94kinggsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevshencko, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Sorry to hear you're not happy with how the pub is currently being ran. We are doing everything we can to make it work and we'll continue doing so until it is back to winning ways.

The White Horse is a lovely pub with great supporters and a fantastic team. It has everything it needs to be a successful village pub. Please bare with us and we'll get there with your continued help. We really do value your support.

Watch this space.

Kind Regards
Chris Peverell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    59
    28
    23
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meal out using Groupon Coupon!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first visit to the White Horse at Silverstone, its in a lovely village location and a very attractive building but with limited parking. We were using a Groupon coupon I had been given for my birthday.

We were welcomed to the pub by the friendly staff and shown to our table, we have to say the waitress was really nice and made us laugh!

Unfortunately very dissappointed with the food, it is as other people have said basic pub grub and it could be better, they could attract more people if they just changed a few things. On the plus side I ordered a sirloin steak and that was cooked to perfection and was really tasty, my husband had fish and chips but the fish was not cooked properly (fat not hot enough?) and we all disliked the chips and didnt eat them, they were obviously frozen chunky chips that were not cooked properly (soggy and unappertising!). The chef needs to visit other country pubs to see how they cook theirs and what type to sell - try the Rose and Crown at Charlton, The Fox at Farthinghoe and the Muddy Duck at Hethe which all get it right. Chips are a basic commodity and to serve cheap, soggy frozen ones these days will not attract anyone to return. The starters were basic and ok (Camambert and redcurrant sauce), we did ask for the beetroot, walnut and blue cheese salad but they had run out of beetroot.

I hope the management will not get too upset by my review, we do eat out at lots of country pubs and return to the good ones - your staff are lovely, you have a great location in a pretty village but you could do better with your food and boost your income by improving a few basic things, the pub is a little tired and in need of a re-decoration too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Decent pub grub, nice location and welcolming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

food was decent (we had jalepeno popper and bread and oils to start) with dad having cod and chips for main and myself gammon and chips.

All were cooked well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly village pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Tonight we have had a lovely meal at the White Horse pub in the middle of Silverstone village. The lady who greeted us was very welcoming and the staff all very friendly. They have a new menu, the portions are very generous and the food was very tasty and well presented. We had the pate and fishcakes and for main course the ham egg & chips and the chicken and bacon stack. We could not manage a sweet and we have healthy appetites, it was all lovely. It is nice to see a busy village pub as these days too many of them are disappearing. Keep doing what you are doing please and we look forward to returning for another meal one evening. Thank you

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Village pub...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice little pub in the middle of Silverstone village. Having spent Friday watching the Grand Prix qualifier we visited the pub as always. Friendly staff, good service, lager priced ok....not far at all from the race circuit, or Hamilton Fields camp site. Didnt have any food but it looked nice from what I could see, and as we were leaving at lot more staff were coming on shift, so I would think there would be no problem getting served.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Whittlebury, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing