We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Break with Some Great Food”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thrapston
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Value Break with Some Great Food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed on a voucher which gave us 2 nights B&B plus dinner on the first night.

The hotel looks nice from the outside and was equally nice in the communal areas downstairs. Our room was a superior room and of a good size with a small sofa and a reasonably sized bathroom with a bath with shower. Everything was clean with nice towels and a few toiletries provided. The bed was very comfortable and a generous size. The décor was a little tired and damaged in places. The room felt very hot on the first evening and we had the window propped open wide. There is a fairly busy road which runs outside the hotel just across the car park which does give off some noise to front facing rooms. The walls were quite thin and we could hear the conversation in the next room.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, particularly on reception. We were checked in promptly and given our room key. They also quickly provided another hairdryer when the one in our room would not work.

We had our included meal on the first night and the main and dessert were both excellent. Three courses were included with a few of the choices attracting a supplement for dinner inclusive guests. We felt for the price we paid we had an excellent meal as the food was really cooked and presented very well. We ate there on the second night as well. Breakfast was cooked to order with a good choice available and the quality was also good. There was also fruit compote and yogurt, cereals, croissants and a fruit bowl. On weekdays breakfast finished at 9.15am and I believe weekends was 9.30am so not too much of a lie in available.

The hotel didn't have much information available on nearby attractions, however there are a number of country parks within a short drive, for which you can print maps online,if the weather is good and a few privately owned stately homes and other attractions as well. It would be good if the hotel had some information on what's nearby and local amenities as well. We had a pretty wet few days and would have liked some inspiration!

The hotel is close to the A14 and so would make a good stopover to break up a journey. Even without a voucher deal I have seen what I would now consider good value DB&B deals on the hotels own website.

We enjoyed our stay and would return, particularly if the weather is good, so that we can explore the nearby country parks more.

Room Tip: To avoid road noise you may wish to ask for a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rg00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    74
    50
    28
    39
See reviews for
63
135
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Got a really good deal from one of the discount sites. We stayed for 2 nights with dinner included on the first night and breakfast both mornings. Staff were very welcoming. Room was nice and clean, furniture a bit dated but ok. The windows were really noisy as it was windy during our stay. Also it was quite hot in the room and opening the window was very noisy.
Dinner was pretty good, first 2 courses were served in a timely fashion, waiting for the desert was so long I was about to give up! Breakfast was a buffet style, cereals and cooked breakfast. The only criticism was that the hot food was warm not hot. On our departure we were offered the same deal if we chose to return again before October, which I thougth was a nioce gesture.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic0la2oo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Shame about this hotel is that you walk in and get a nice feeling about the place.
This changes when you get to the rooms, while they at first glance look the part you soon realise they are out dated and in need of work in this modern world.
The walls are so thin you hear all conversations of the people next door, the floors creak so bad you there is no way to wake around the room at night without waking you other half up. If you stay at the front you can hear traffic, thankfully not a busy road at night.
The bathroom had electric shower which was a bit of a let down really in this day and age.
The staff where very friendly and helpfully but they where not very busy even on a bank holiday weekend.
All I can say shame such potential.

Room Tip: away from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

So we read previous reviews & thought some maybe a little harsh, but we were 50/50. The hotel is looking tired from the outside, and inside it's very dated. However the staff are very helpful & presentable. Our room wasn't great, again very tired and dated, only a single sheet over the mattress - which made me question cleanliness. Dead wasps on the windowsill, and the complementary water was an old bottle refilled, how long it had sat there who knows! But it was clean, and comfy. Not a great view over the car park. There was a wedding on, which of course will happen, but it would have been nice to be advised at time of booking, music blearing out at 12.30am not exactly relaxing! The evening meal however we can say was excellent, really we'll presented, fresh, hot and tasty. Breakfast was ok, again no veggie option on the full English, the tea was in those prefilled flasks so had sat a while and was not hot. Overall, it's a real shame that the rooms are tired as we have said before the staff and food were excellent, but we wouldn't stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

After seeing the location of the Hotel on Google Maps we were surprised when we walked into the hotel.
The staff were very welcoming & professional.
The Sunday carvery & breakfast were excellent.
Our bedroom was clean & comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saemjaolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a one night stay, groupon deal with evening meal and breakfast. Staff on reception and in the restaurant very friendly and helpful. The only suggestion I would make is to offer a vegetarian full english available ie with veggie sausages! Would definitly go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay, bed & breakfast with dinner on the first night, on a Groupon deal for £89. We had realistic expectations, especially having read some other reviews, but have to say that the hotel far exceeded those expectations. The hotel is an old building and, yes, the windows could do with a lick of paint, but inside the hotel was clean and welcoming. The restaurant and bar are quaint and quirky with exposed brickwork and beams, comfortable seats and newly decorated.

Our room (109) was at the back, overlooking the tyre fitting business so no great view, but the very great advantage to this was there was no traffic noise and at night the room was absolutely silent. The room was spotlessly clean, newly decorated in neutral tones, new carpet and curtains, period furniture, large flat screen TV, stylish bedside lamps, extremely comfortable bed and bedding, tea and coffee making facilities with lovely stem ginger biscuits on the first day. Some reviewers remarked on the uneven floor, and this is true - but this is an OLD building, so only to be expected.

The bathroom was large and looked newly tiled. The electric Mira shower was absolutely fine, and provided plenty of hot water - so long as you know how to maximise the flow and temperature (press and hold the red button in to allow the temperature dial to be moved beyond a pre-set limit). The only slightly disconcerting thing was the very large window along the side of the bath - but the tyre fitters will never recognise me through the frosted glass! The towels were changed after the first day, which isn't always the case nowadays. No shower gel provided, but we always take our own anyway.

Dinner on the first night was exceptional. Due to the price we had paid we weren't expecting it to be any good but it was absolutely superb. The food was very tasty, well cooked, nicely presented and hot. We had to pay extra for vegetables and coffee, although this was a minimal amount. Some of the dishes did carry a supplement but there were sufficient dishes to choose from without extra payment. At first glance the prices did look a little high, had our 3 course meal not been included in the price, but once we'd tasted the quality of the food we felt that the prices charged would be well worth it.

The waitress was brilliant - friendly, helpful and attentive. She also served us with breakfast on both mornings and deserves special mention for the service that she provided. Breakfast was also excellent, with self-service for juice, cereal, yoghurt and freshly baked croissants. The hot breakfast was cooked to order and delivered to the table, and the waitress coped admirably with the various breakfast permutations of full English breakfast being ordered. Again, the food was hot, plentiful and cooked to perfection. Even the basket of toast was hot and fresh. Admittedly the hotel was not very busy so the waitress and kitchen staff were not under a lot of pressure, but there was every attention to detail and we could not fault the food or service in any way.

All in all we had an excellent couple of days at this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back may not have a view (looking out over a tyre fitting business) but at night th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBridgeThrapston, Owner at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, they mean so much to us and the entire team. We are in the process of refurbishing the remaining 6 rooms. The food and service we provide, we are proud of and it is so encouraging to see it appreciated. We are aware that some areas do need freshening up, and we are gradually getting round to do them.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon.
Thank you
Tony Sachdev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrapston
6.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kettering Thrapston
4.8 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
215 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Kettering
Travelodge Kettering
#5 of 7 in Kettering
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Thrapston NN14 4JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Thrapston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thrapston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful ancient market town of Thrapston in the heart of Northamptonshire, The Bridge Hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome and a wealth of character and charm.Thrapston is a fantastic location near to Kettering, Corby and the market town of Wellingborough. Within just 1 mile of the main A14 and adjacent to the River Nene, The Bridge Hotel offers a convenient, quiet and relaxing stay to our business and leisure customers.Old oak beams, log fires and period furniture are sympathetically combined with the requirements of the modern day traveller. Flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary WIFI, free on site parking, ensuite bathrooms and tea & coffee making facilities are offered in our guest rooms as standard.Our informal cosy dining room hosts a wonderful atmosphere and as it’s one of the oldest parts of the hotel, it affords original oak beams. Although our superb cuisine varies from traditional British fayre to dishes influenced from around the world, we pride ourselves on using only the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced locally where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing