We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thrapston
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a lovely change to find a hotel which has all the basics right.

The young lady on reception, Daria, is a role model of what a hotel receptionist should be. Pleasant greeting, a smile, excellent English, very efficient and able to give me all the hotel information without sounding like a robot.

Really nice room, I did book a superior but I imagine the standard ones would be fine. Very clean and comfortable, a couple more power points would be useful but hardly an issue. Good bathroom. Good fast, free, wi fi!

Dinner was excellent as was the service which came with it, and reasonably priced. Good wine list, again reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast, again with good service. Good efficient check out with another very friendly lady.

The place itself has a nice comfortable feel to it, not some modern plastic creation. Oh it could use a lick of paint in a few places but hardly an issue. Just one small gripe - management please note - breakfast starting at 7-15 is a little bit too late for business travellers, made it all a bit rushed. This needs to come forward to 7. Otherwise, no complaints at all.

I'll definitely be staying here again whenever I'm in the area

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deukhalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Enjoyed our Groupon stay here. Our room was clean and comfortable. No problem with the " tired" decor, the oak panelling seemed cosy to me , would be lovely in winter with fires lit. If you want cold , minimal and clinical , stay in a hospital canteen!
The meal was good especially the risotto , the only disappointment was the cheese board with no Cheddar , but that was attended to. We were made welcome ,as was our dog, which is always a plus for us. The carpark in front of the hotel is quite large and we didn't notice traffic noise. Nor did we object to the view of the Ford dealership, that's hardly the hotels fault!
Would return and go to Stanwick lakes again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Enjoyed afternoon tea at this hotel today excellent value for money made to feel welcome by Stephanie who went the extra mile to make the experience special.
The Hotel is old and quirky which added to the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roy847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We always look at tripadviser before we visit a hotel, but it never influences our expectations of that hotel.
We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We were very satisfied. It's not "The Hilton" but we didn't pay 5 star prices.
We feel that this hotel offers exceptionally good value.
In particular the staff were very well trained and most helpful at all times without being obtrusive,
Overall we say 10 out of 10; go to the top of the class with a Gold Star.

Room Tip: Our Room 109 was very comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harveysden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a Groupon deal and after having read some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive. The decor is dated and the room is basic and needed some TLC however we had everything that we needed.
The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The Food and Beverage Manager was excellent and very helpful. Thank you.
We had a three course meal included in the price and the food was amazing. The breakfast was the best we have had so far.
Overall we would most definitely come back.
Thank you all for making our stay a lovely one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn0wy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed on a Groupon offer, and found this to be great value. All the things that are important to me were excellent. The staff were busy but all helpful, polite and friendly at all times. They were also smartly dressed and seemed to be making an effort to create an atmosphere befitting the standard of the very good food. The evening meal was relaxed, no rushing through the meal, the wine reasonably priced for a hotel.

It is rare that we use a hotel bar, but found this one, with several small rooms and comfy sofas, inviting, so sat and relaxed for a while on a wonderfully worn leather sofa after dinner.

We had a refurbished room, very pleasant, warm, and clean with plenty of power sockets. We only had a shower but it was powerful with plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable. My only gripe would be the pretty but thin curtains, allowing too much light to stream in.

Breakfast was good, with quality ingredients and fresh tea and coffee served.


We stayed on a Monday, so no wedding and not busy. It is a pity about the views, a road or industrial buildings, but I didn't find it too noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel! The restaurant made the trip and the waitor John was fantasic really attentive would come here again and the zoo a few miles away is definitely worth a visit! The rooms are average but still nice

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sophie1234556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrapston
6.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kettering Thrapston
10.6 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
355 reviews
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
16.0 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#27 of 27 in Northampton
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Thrapston NN14 4JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Thrapston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thrapston
Price Range: £44 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful ancient market town of Thrapston in the heart of Northamptonshire, The Bridge Hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome and a wealth of character and charm.Thrapston is a fantastic location near to Kettering, Corby and the market town of Wellingborough. Within just 1 mile of the main A14 and adjacent to the River Nene, The Bridge Hotel offers a convenient, quiet and relaxing stay to our business and leisure customers.Old oak beams, log fires and period furniture are sympathetically combined with the requirements of the modern day traveller. Flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary WIFI, free on site parking, ensuite bathrooms and tea & coffee making facilities are offered in our guest rooms as standard.Our informal cosy dining room hosts a wonderful atmosphere and as it’s one of the oldest parts of the hotel, it affords original oak beams. Although our superb cuisine varies from traditional British fayre to dishes influenced from around the world, we pride ourselves on using only the finest seasonal ingredients, sourced locally where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing