We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but needs !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon
Reviewed 31 July 2014

the room was of a very high standard very clean breakfast very good evening meals nice but !!!
the menu was getting smaller as the week went on monday no steak on specials board tuesday less wednesday went to the indian next door
this is not up to the great standard we have had in the pass the pub side needed a good clean and someone to empty the bins
the bin next to the front door not emptied in 4 days

Room Tip: hoe this was a one off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank strawlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The outside of the hotel looks very attractive with colourful hanging baskets. Inside the bar/restaurant and beer garden are very pleasant. The remainder of the hotel is rather shabby and definetely needs some TLC and maintenance --- however the country is only just emerging from a recession and money is tight for businesses as well as the rest of us. We did have an issue with the toilet in our shower room, but I don't propose to go into details as the duty managers dealt with the problem promptly, professionally and to our complete satisfaction.
We only used the restaurant on our first evening. The menu was was very "run of the mill" food, but the "two for price of one on main courses" made what would have been expensive, down to realistic pricing.
The cooked breakfasts were very good and my husband said the scrambled eggs were some of the best he'd ever had in a hotel.
Daniel and the other duty manager (a blonde haired lady) were very helpful, friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11quantum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mrs HJ and I stayed here after a long weekend trudging around middle England. Weedon's claim to fame is that it has a post marking the dead centre of England - hence the name of the Hotel.

This is not really a hotel, it is an eatery pub - with reasonable food.

The staff I must say were fabulous, even though on a Sunday night as residents we came down for a nightcap at 10:55 and the bar was closed and the till gone - disappointing.

I'm not sure I'd agree this is a particularly good place to stay on business, however, if piling on the miles in the car is your business - a bed is a bed.

We were given a room on the first floor - but it had no bath, so we were offered one on the second floor - which was OK, but 5 flights of stairs.

The bathrooms are very basic - but clean and there was plenty of hot water - probably because there were just 2 other rooms taken the evening we stayed.

A small investment in improving the general decor would make a big difference.

For the price we paid which included a cooked breakfast - which again was a 3 out of 5 - it was solid but nothing memorable.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bath - make sure you ask when booking - some are just showers only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A_Huntley_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here as a last resort because of the close proximity to Silverstone. On entering the pub there was a sign pointing to reception, but where was reception? We asked one of the guys behind the bar and he pointed to the end of the bar! We waited ages for someone to appear to check us in and the room card we were given was a slip of paper actually torn from a bigger piece of paper! We had to walk through the pub to access the stairs to the rooms and there was a distinct smell of drains all the way up the stairs which was very off putting. The room had no view it looked out onto the pitched roof, the bathroom was old fashioned and there was black mould in the shower, hence we didn't use it, even the loo roll was the very cheapest of the cheap. The carpet was old and stained. As it was included, we ate breakfast on one morning but declined it the second morning. There was a full English or a full English, no fruit, no choice etc and we left most of it as it was so greasy and the sausages had no meat in them, the bacon was all fat. Everything stuck to the tables in the restaurant, they had obviously not be wiped down and there was food still evident on the floor that had been dropped from the night before. We ate out in the evening as there are some lovely country pubs in the area. Would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for one night on Saturday 28th June. My wife has mobility problems and we had asked for a disabled/ground floor room. We were allocated room 11 which is accessed from the side of the hotel along with room10. The room was of good size with tea/coffee making facilities and a large bathoom both furnished well. We decided to eat in the restaurant that evening and our order was promptly taken and our meals arrived in about 15 minutes which is acceptable in any restaurant. In the morning a pleasant lady served breakfast which was of good quality and coffee refills not a problem. Overall the hotel could do with a lick of paint and a little more cleaning (the door to the hallway of rooms 10/11 could do with a scrub) but this should not stop people staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofrex789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stay for two nights in different rooms , first night above main bar area , nice large room , next night outer area of hotel in smaller adjoined rooms , kept awake most of night by other guests partying . Food average , late booking so stay was cheap that was only bonus

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m4rkowils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Comfortable enough room if a little cramped. Breakfast really good and cooked to order.Only one complaint and that was the towels were not changed over the three nights. Did not try the evening meals as rather expensive for pub grub.

Room Tip: No idea as I only stayed in one room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weedon
0.2 mi away
Cross Roads Hotel Northampton
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
4.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 27 in Northampton
514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#20 of 27 in Northampton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns

Address: High Street, Weedon NN7 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Weedon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weedon
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heart of England is a converted 18th Century Farmhouse which now operates as a Pub/ Restaurant and 13 bedroom hotel. The rooms have been fully refurbished to a high standard under the Marston’s Inns brand in Spring 2008 and offer guests free wi-fi, luxurious bedding, flatscreen digital TVs and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer all our guests a complimentary breakfast from our continental buffet and range of cooked option.The hotel is ideally located just a couple of miles from the M1 and 6 miles from Northampton. It also offers easy access to Milton Keynes and Coventry, being situated between the two and can easily reach the A5, A45 and M40. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of England Hotel Weedon By Marston's Inns Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing