We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Cottage & Welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

New Houses is a traditional cottage, halfway up the hill in Allenheads.
I have stayed here a number of times and would recommend for visitors.
The welcome is very friendly and the breakfasts definitely hearty.
Our usual stopping point on the C2C.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

We ran the C2C and stopped here after day 3. A warm welcome, and a warm house. Open coal fires and a great breakfast. I can't praise the accommodation and the owners enough, who obviously take great pride in their business and service.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudirebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived rather wet and tired, as many cyclists no doubt do on the C2C, to find not only a warm welcome by Pat, but a roaring fire to dry us and our clothes. The bedrooms were spotless and very comfortable.

Pat had also gone the extra mile to make a gluten free loaf of bread for my husband - such a lovely touch. Thank you Pat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Arrived in Allenheads on my bike (exhausted from C2C!) on a cold Nov evening to find the pub accomodation closed for refurb. I was directed to Newhouses - so grateful for a warm welcome, great fire and top notch breakfast. Great hospitality, a human touch and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Couldn't have stayed at a better B&B, with great touches like the open fire and clothes horses to dry our stuff. The breakfast was 1st class, including the home made jams. The owners were friendly and professional. Close to pub.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belfy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great stay!
Excellent company came here after coast to coast this year!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: Newhouses, Allenheads NE47 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blacketts Retreat at Newhouses is a warm comfortable cottage, a short walk from the village centre, with fantastic views over the fells, providing excellent accommodation for visitors throughout the year. We offer six beds, comprising 1 super king / twin en suite, 1 twin and 1 double room with shared bathroom facilities. Guests have their own lounge and dining room facilities. Our accommodation is particularly popular with coast to coast cyclists completing the 'original' sea to sea route as well as star gazing enthusiasts. Blacketts Retreat offers a comprehensive range of Complimentary and Beauty Therapies for guests to enjoy during their stay with us. The brand new North Pennines Observatory is our next door neighbour and its only a five minute walk away. For the less energetic there are plenty of lovely walks for all ability levels around the North Pennines, as well as lots of lovely cafe's for those who wish to relax and simply take time out from busy life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacketts Retreat Bed And Breakfast Allenheads, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing