We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse in a beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guesthouse in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

So glad we stayed here on our Coast 2 Coast cycling trip. it's just a couple of minutes' walk from the pub but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere, with stunning views, absolute peace and quiet, and plenty of room for bike maintenance!

We had an ensuite twin room, plus bathroom (v. glad to have a bath after a day's cycling), relaxing lounge, and kitchen. It was more like staying in a self-catering cottage - except with someone to do the catering in the morning!

Breakfast was the best we had on the trip, shame we were too full to enjoy the homemade bread. Would go back to this charming cottage in a shot!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A very quiet, comfortable night. Although we didn't see much of our host my mum and I (3rd of 4th night on the C2C) enjoyed our stay here. The beds were comfortable, the shower hot (albeit noisy) and the views out of the room were amazing - especially the sunset over Allenheads. Although there was no TV or drinks facilities in the room there was a comfortable lounge downstairs where both could be found. There was also a safe storage shed for the bikes.

We have only 2 very minor criticisms - one is that the sign for the B&B on the road is small and difficult to see and secondly the cattle grid at the entrance to the property is a bit difficult to cross in cycling shoes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stopped over during a Coast to Coast cycle trip with friends. Accomodation and welcome was fantastic. Ideal for the end of a very long day cycling. Accomodation was very spacious and we relaxed by having a few beers and watching 'Match of the Day' after a great meal in Allenheads Inn (also excellent). Rooms were great and shower good. Breakfast cooked for us next morning and was excellent.

Thoroughly recommend at any time but especially for relaxing after a very tough day on C2C cycle route.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyjhg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cold and tired, we pushed our bikes up the hill to Newhouses not knowing what to expect. We arrived to a warm stove, a caring hello and a sense of serenity. The cottages are beautiful- homely, cosy and spacious. Like staying with a favourite relative. We were sorry to have to head back in to the hills. First rate! Thanks so much Newhouses. Tim and Anna

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twopedals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We cycled the C2C and stayed here after reading the reviews on this site. They were not wrong, we were cold and wet, the traditional coal fire was in the grate. Biscuit barrel full of goodies ideal after a days cycling. The cottage was very clean, beds comfortable, breakfast cooked by our own personal chef was good and hearty. We were not pushed out and left to our own devices. We cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

New Houses is a traditional cottage, halfway up the hill in Allenheads.
I have stayed here a number of times and would recommend for visitors.
The welcome is very friendly and the breakfasts definitely hearty.
Our usual stopping point on the C2C.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We ran the C2C and stopped here after day 3. A warm welcome, and a warm house. Open coal fires and a great breakfast. I can't praise the accommodation and the owners enough, who obviously take great pride in their business and service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudirebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Address: Newhouses, Allenheads NE47 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blacketts Retreat at Newhouses is a warm comfortable traditional cottage, a short walk from the village centre, with fantastic views over the fells, providing excellent accommodation for visitors throughout the year. We offer six beds, comprising 1 super king / twin en suite, 1 twin and 1 double room with shared bathroom facilities. We live onsite but guests have their own lounge and dining room facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacketts Retreat Bed And Breakfast Allenheads, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing