We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on Coast 2Coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful host! Lovely welcome and quick to help some very tired, wet ladies. Host dried all our wet clothes too which was so important to our comfort the next day as other cyclists had no such luck at their overnight accommodation locally. Rooms were large and views were wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic. Local pub excellent for dinner but you need to book.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived here after day 2 of our C2C trip having experienced everything the Pennines could throw at us. We were very wet and very very cold! Our host greeted us with a roaring fire (it was the end of May but hey that's the Pennines for you!) where she had several clothes dryers lined up to dry our clothes and took what could be tumbled dried for us. She stuffed our shoes with newspapers and laid out by the fire. Whilst we were in the pub regaining our strength for the following day our host moved our clothes around so they were all dry and folded for us. To soak up the booze and carb load for the next day we devastated the well stocked biscuit tin before turning in. Breakfast was lovely, The rooms are beautiful no TVs in them but a lounge with TV downstairs

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirelass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Beautiful setting, clean spacious bedroom, large lounge and tea, coffee, biscuits etc and very good breakfast. MTB friendly and very popular with roadies completing C2C and its easy to see why. Allenheads Inn 5min walk away which is a proper pub full of characters and banter. I can't really add anything to the previous reviews other than to agree and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

stopped here while doing the c2c only 5mins walk from the inn. Really comfortable and homely great host's and a lovely breakfast to start us of for the day on the c2c will be going back one weekend with the wife

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sutton02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After day 2 of a 3 day coast to coast cycle we stopped off here. What you need to know:
- very friendly welcome with free run of living room, kitchen, tea, coffee, biscuits (all much needed)
- lovely and warm
- comfortable, clean rooms
- great breakfast- and we all had different, from porridge to veggie breakfast to full neglish with homemade bread, jam and marmalade
- great views
- great pub down the road for dinner and a pint of saddle sore!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

So glad we stayed here on our Coast 2 Coast cycling trip. it's just a couple of minutes' walk from the pub but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere, with stunning views, absolute peace and quiet, and plenty of room for bike maintenance!

We had an ensuite twin room, plus bathroom (v. glad to have a bath after a day's cycling), relaxing lounge, and kitchen. It was more like staying in a self-catering cottage - except with someone to do the catering in the morning!

Breakfast was the best we had on the trip, shame we were too full to enjoy the homemade bread. Would go back to this charming cottage in a shot!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A very quiet, comfortable night. Although we didn't see much of our host my mum and I (3rd of 4th night on the C2C) enjoyed our stay here. The beds were comfortable, the shower hot (albeit noisy) and the views out of the room were amazing - especially the sunset over Allenheads. Although there was no TV or drinks facilities in the room there was a comfortable lounge downstairs where both could be found. There was also a safe storage shed for the bikes.

We have only 2 very minor criticisms - one is that the sign for the B&B on the road is small and difficult to see and secondly the cattle grid at the entrance to the property is a bit difficult to cross in cycling shoes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacketts Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Address: Newhouses, Allenheads NE47 9HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blacketts Retreat at Newhouses is a warm comfortable traditional cottage, a short walk from the village centre, with fantastic views over the fells, providing excellent accommodation for visitors throughout the year. We offer six beds, comprising 1 super king / twin en suite, 1 twin and 1 double room with shared bathroom facilities. We live onsite but guests have their own lounge and dining room facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacketts Retreat Bed And Breakfast Allenheads, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing