We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food friendly pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Allenheads Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Allenheads Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food friendly pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at a cottage in the village visited the allenheads inn most evenings ate twice
Would recommend the steak pie locals and hosts very friendly and helpful Georgie the dog we had with us enjoyed her dog treats given to her by the kind land lady would call and say hello next time we were in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeandmick1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    34
    19
    8
    16
See reviews for
12
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here during our C2C journey. We got a personable and interested welcome, instant chat with some locals, great beer (it’s in the Good Beer guide, the Jarrow’s Rivet Catcher was superb), mountainous and tasty food, and a good night’s sleep. In our experience old, rural pubs as places to stay usually polarise as ‘great’ or ‘oh dear’, but this is in the former camp and the owners obviously make an effort. It was busy when we arrived in late afternoon, and it certainly has character - you can tell there are hundreds of years of occupation behind it with paraphernalia all over the place. We liked the way the ‘grand staircase’ up to the bedrooms had rather charmingly been built to emulate a sort of grand hunting lodge feel. Our bedroom was comfortable and warm. It’s clearly still a bedroom in an 18th C building so it was a bit creaky and we could hear a bit of kitchen activity about 8 in the morning but it wasn’t loud. The bathroom (ours was en-suite, just a shower) was spacious and we had no problems with temperature or pressure – there was a prominent note in our room about how the water supply comes from the fells which can affect supply if everyone has a shower at once. Breakfast was fine – nothing more, but nothing less and we did feel refreshed in the morning from a place that’s provided the same function for centuries. If you like interesting locations and hospitality from real people who want to see you right, we found it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hendricksrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeAllenheads, Owner at The Allenheads Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
So nice that you appreciate how hard we are trying in such an old building. It was built as a hunting lodge for the Beaumont family in 1770. Hopefully it will be a good old fashioned village Inn for many more years. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan. england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

ate here last weekend, proper old fashioned pub, beer was very good, host's were very welcoming.
As there were 7 of us we were give the menus and a sheet to write down our choices and when the food was ready we were taken to our table, system worked ok. it was good pub food, never going to win a Michelin star but we all went away well satisfied. wouldn't hesitate to eat there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilerman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've seen some of the previous reviews of Allenheads Inn and I can understand most of this. Taking this into account I had to think more about this review.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by friendly barstaff who sorted out the secure area for our bikes. We had a well deserved pint (Black Sheep Ale) then checked in and were shown to our rooms. We had 2 singles and one twin. My room was a good size, clean but very basic. A good sized bed, tea/coffee facilities, bath/shower and a toilet in the en-suite, there was no t.v. which to be honest, I didn't mind. We were warned that just a while before we arrived a larger group of guests had checked in and there were hot water shortages. I gave it 20 minutes then got the shower going and I had hot water. One of our party didn't though in the other single which didn't go down well. We managed though and they came into one of our rooms and had a hot shower, we were a team after all! Apparently the water shortage is because they have no mains supply in Allenheads, they rely on water from the hills to fill their tanks which then have to be heated up. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere.

The food, yes we had to order 30 minutes before eating but it was excellent hearty spirit-warming stuff in abundance. The Landlord, Landlady and staff were friendly and engaged us all in conversations during our stop over.

That nights sleep was probably the best I had on this trip. Everything was so dark and so quiet.

Next morning we were up for breakfast about 8 am. Again, the food was delicious, a full english with black pudding. Tea/coffee/fruit juice, a choice of cereals, all you'd need to get you started.

This place is not your usual run of the mill travelodge/premier inn, it's in the middle of nowhere and on a great cycle route. For these reasons, I liked it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We sayed for 1 night as part of a C2C challenge (as I suspect would most people who choose to stay here)
This I can only class as "lower-than-basic" when referencing the overall package.
The room we were given (Room 6) was aweful, it was small, it was in a state of disrepair and the bathroom a disgrace.
When you have cycled 40 miles and have arrived at you're accommodation all you want... is to know that your bike is secure, then get to your room and have a shower: Many in our party had to shower in cold water, Given that this was the "most costly" of the 3 chosen stops it is a disgrace.
When you have cycled 40 miles and have arrived at your accommodation all you want....is something to eat: When asking for a table for our party (12) to be told that they were fully booked and the only option would be to eat beforehand at 6.30pm ok you can accept but then to be told that they required our choices committed on a "form" no later than 30 minutes ahead of time (or no food) was when the fun began - bearing in mind we are now at 5.30pm (and yet to have than delicious showering experience!)
"Mein Host - less than mein" -"You're in the wrong job pet!"
To be fair our food was good basic fayre but by that time it had already been spoilt
As a place to relax and drink - well, I will not be returning (even if doing the same C2C route again and I know for certain I can speak "x 12" )- its dirty, its filthy, its cramped, its dire, its cold
"If it wasn't for the company..I was with"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeAllenheads, Owner at The Allenheads Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Shame the party this guest arrived with "sneaked" 4 extra people in to our B&B who then all had showers. "Sneaked" extra people in to the bedrooms who slept over night without us knowing.
On refusing a discount due to the lack of water due to the "smeaked" in guests using all the water and leaving none for the paying guest I was told I would be receiving a bad review.
Bribery, theft and down right rudeness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in the Allenhead Inn during my C2C. the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. the Pub downstairs serves excellent food in an excellent atmosphere. good place to meet other cyclists and hunters during the season. very friendly staff, well organized with secure bicycle parking and a local "Saddle Soar" beer label.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here during a cycle ride 10/8/2013 (16 of us ) some of the rooms are more spacious than others but they are all clean and comfortable, which is really all you need. The food served in the evening was very good and lots of it. The staff were friendly enough. A nice little place to stay. As alot of the people who stay here are doing the C2C or another cycle ride the atmosphere is good. Good beer and ok prices. I would stay again as would the rest of our group.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a good size with a nice window over looking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie005_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allenheads
11.1 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
6.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allenheads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allenheads Inn

Property: The Allenheads Inn
Address: The Village Square, Allenheads NE47 9HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century village inn, with letting rooms, is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and right on the C2C cycle route. Fine ales and big helpings of tasty food washed down with some of the best real ales on offer. Camra and good pub guide. Accommodating cyclist, walkers, loaders and in the winter skiers who visit the local ski club. Offering b&b accommodation all year round. Dogs very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Allenheads Hotel Allenheads
The Allenheads Inn Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing