We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In its own little World”
Review of The Allenheads Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Allenheads Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Ok first of all this is not a terrible place just out of sync with the standards everyone else is providing. As like most of the guests we used Allenheads as a C2C stopover. Arriving very wet the man behind the bar acted like it was an inconvenience to lock our bikes up and show us to our room. He did not tell us about the drying room, and the heating had only just been put on. The room itself was tired no TV or radio, its one of those places where the owners feel the need to have laminated cards saying what you can or cannot do and the beds and furniture are very tired. Retiring to the bar the place picked up and the food was hearty and beers good. Generally I got the impression that this is a local place for local people and although the C2C provides much of the business the owners really don’t understand cyclists. The biggest disappointment was the price £79 for a twin room I wouldn’t have paid £45 for. If you can manage one more hill there is better accommodation in Rookhope.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reg_lard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeAllenheads, Owner at The Allenheads Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Just to let you know what a bargain you had as you did not pay £39.00 per person for your "room". (£78.00 for two guests)
You paid £6.50 to the VAT man, £6.30 to the laundry company for lovely crisp white sheets and towels, £5.00 for your full English breakfast, as much as you could eat, £3.25 towards the breakfast staffs wages which leaves a grand total of £17.95 toward the mortgage, rates, insurance etc so x by 2 = £35.90 for the two of you in a "room". Ten pound less then what you would have been happy to pay. As I said "Bargain"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for The Allenheads Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at a cottage in the village visited the allenheads inn most evenings ate twice
Would recommend the steak pie locals and hosts very friendly and helpful Georgie the dog we had with us enjoyed her dog treats given to her by the kind land lady would call and say hello next time we were in the area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Janeandmick1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here during our C2C journey. We got a personable and interested welcome, instant chat with some locals, great beer (it’s in the Good Beer guide, the Jarrow’s Rivet Catcher was superb), mountainous and tasty food, and a good night’s sleep. In our experience old, rural pubs as places to stay usually polarise as ‘great’ or ‘oh dear’, but this is in the former camp and the owners obviously make an effort. It was busy when we arrived in late afternoon, and it certainly has character - you can tell there are hundreds of years of occupation behind it with paraphernalia all over the place. We liked the way the ‘grand staircase’ up to the bedrooms had rather charmingly been built to emulate a sort of grand hunting lodge feel. Our bedroom was comfortable and warm. It’s clearly still a bedroom in an 18th C building so it was a bit creaky and we could hear a bit of kitchen activity about 8 in the morning but it wasn’t loud. The bathroom (ours was en-suite, just a shower) was spacious and we had no problems with temperature or pressure – there was a prominent note in our room about how the water supply comes from the fells which can affect supply if everyone has a shower at once. Breakfast was fine – nothing more, but nothing less and we did feel refreshed in the morning from a place that’s provided the same function for centuries. If you like interesting locations and hospitality from real people who want to see you right, we found it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendricksrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeAllenheads, Owner at The Allenheads Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

So nice that you appreciate how hard we are trying in such an old building. It was built as a hunting lodge for the Beaumont family in 1770. Hopefully it will be a good old fashioned village Inn for many more years. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

ate here last weekend, proper old fashioned pub, beer was very good, host's were very welcoming.
As there were 7 of us we were give the menus and a sheet to write down our choices and when the food was ready we were taken to our table, system worked ok. it was good pub food, never going to win a Michelin star but we all went away well satisfied. wouldn't hesitate to eat there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilerman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I've seen some of the previous reviews of Allenheads Inn and I can understand most of this. Taking this into account I had to think more about this review.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by friendly barstaff who sorted out the secure area for our bikes. We had a well deserved pint (Black Sheep Ale) then checked in and were shown to our rooms. We had 2 singles and one twin. My room was a good size, clean but very basic. A good sized bed, tea/coffee facilities, bath/shower and a toilet in the en-suite, there was no t.v. which to be honest, I didn't mind. We were warned that just a while before we arrived a larger group of guests had checked in and there were hot water shortages. I gave it 20 minutes then got the shower going and I had hot water. One of our party didn't though in the other single which didn't go down well. We managed though and they came into one of our rooms and had a hot shower, we were a team after all! Apparently the water shortage is because they have no mains supply in Allenheads, they rely on water from the hills to fill their tanks which then have to be heated up. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere.

The food, yes we had to order 30 minutes before eating but it was excellent hearty spirit-warming stuff in abundance. The Landlord, Landlady and staff were friendly and engaged us all in conversations during our stop over.

That nights sleep was probably the best I had on this trip. Everything was so dark and so quiet.

Next morning we were up for breakfast about 8 am. Again, the food was delicious, a full english with black pudding. Tea/coffee/fruit juice, a choice of cereals, all you'd need to get you started.

This place is not your usual run of the mill travelodge/premier inn, it's in the middle of nowhere and on a great cycle route. For these reasons, I liked it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We sayed for 1 night as part of a C2C challenge (as I suspect would most people who choose to stay here)
This I can only class as "lower-than-basic" when referencing the overall package.
The room we were given (Room 6) was aweful, it was small, it was in a state of disrepair and the bathroom a disgrace.
When you have cycled 40 miles and have arrived at you're accommodation all you want... is to know that your bike is secure, then get to your room and have a shower: Many in our party had to shower in cold water, Given that this was the "most costly" of the 3 chosen stops it is a disgrace.
When you have cycled 40 miles and have arrived at your accommodation all you want....is something to eat: When asking for a table for our party (12) to be told that they were fully booked and the only option would be to eat beforehand at 6.30pm ok you can accept but then to be told that they required our choices committed on a "form" no later than 30 minutes ahead of time (or no food) was when the fun began - bearing in mind we are now at 5.30pm (and yet to have than delicious showering experience!)
"Mein Host - less than mein" -"You're in the wrong job pet!"
To be fair our food was good basic fayre but by that time it had already been spoilt
As a place to relax and drink - well, I will not be returning (even if doing the same C2C route again and I know for certain I can speak "x 12" )- its dirty, its filthy, its cramped, its dire, its cold
"If it wasn't for the company..I was with"

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeAllenheads, Owner at The Allenheads Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Shame the party this guest arrived with "sneaked" 4 extra people in to our B&B who then all had showers. "Sneaked" extra people in to the bedrooms who slept over night without us knowing.
On refusing a discount due to the lack of water due to the "smeaked" in guests using all the water and leaving none for the paying guest I was told I would be receiving a bad review.
Bribery, theft and down right rudeness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in the Allenhead Inn during my C2C. the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. the Pub downstairs serves excellent food in an excellent atmosphere. good place to meet other cyclists and hunters during the season. very friendly staff, well organized with secure bicycle parking and a local "Saddle Soar" beer label.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allenheads
6.3 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
10.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,146 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#16 of 65 in Penrith
106 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Kings Head - Allendale
The Kings Head - Allendale
#4 of 6 in Allendale
30 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allenheads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allenheads Inn

Address: The Village Square, Allenheads NE47 9HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century village inn, with letting rooms, is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and right on the C2C cycle route. Fine ales and big helpings of tasty food washed down with some of the best real ales on offer. Camra and good pub guide. Accommodating cyclist, walkers, loaders and in the winter skiers who visit the local ski club. Offering b&b accommodation all year round. Dogs very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Allenheads Hotel Allenheads
The Allenheads Inn Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing