We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Bed and Breakfast set in stunning grounds”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Bed and Breakfast set in stunning grounds”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a perfect place to unwind and leave the business world behind. Our hosts, Bruce and Jeanette greeted us with tea and coffee and cake, which we enjoyed in a beautiful sun room with views of the manicured lawn and gardens. Our room was large and bright and equipped with very thoughtful toiletries. Great breakfasts and our 3 night stay was not long enough. Excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassybutKlassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
476
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

if your looking for luxury and tranquility this is the place for you at a reasonable affordable price when jeannete and bruce the hosts advertise as been a 5 star stay thats exactly what you are getting absolutely spottless and excellant warm friendly people who bring you into there home keep up the good work all our love charly / dawn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay with Jeanette and Bruce. West Acre is truly an excellent 5 star B&B; the house is outstanding and the hospitality second to none. It is an establishment to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Run by Bruce and Jeanette this is a first class place to stay. Friendly and helpful hosts. Luxury accomodation kept to a very high standard. A warm welcome with delicious cake aand coffee. Expertly prepared breakfast. An amazing collection of DVDs to watch. Free wi-fi very useful. We have stayed several times and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardandEve1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just returned from a three night stay and we have to agree with all the reviews
A true gem of Northumberland hospitality
Excellent house and gardens, very tranquil, within ten minutes walk of Alnwick centre
Bruce and Jeanette are first class hosts nothing is to much trouble to make your stay enjoyable
We had the Edwardian Room which overlooks the lovely garden
The whole house is decorated to a very high standard and immaculately presented
With an excellently prepared breakfast to set up your day we cannot recommend
this true B&B high enough

Room Tip: All excellent we had the Edwardian room with lovely view over the immaculate gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Richard s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Without doubt a truly outstanding B&B! Our fourth stay at West Acres lived up to all our expectations. We really liked the newly decorated Parisian room. Jeanette and Bruce are to be praised for running such a fantastic establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Truly a five star B&B. Our first visit to Alnwick and to this B&B. On arrival, we was offered light refreshments in the garden room to relax. Tea, coffee and cakes. The rooms are large, yet cosy. Clean and warm. I cannot fault this place, location is great for local amenities and the hosts are very knowledgeable. A large selection for breakfast too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnpaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#22 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing