We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is that good”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It really is that good”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed at West Acre House twice when visiting family in Alnwick and our aim is to stay in every one of the 4 rooms! Bruce and Jeanette are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the extra touches are what makes this B&B so special. The breakfast is fantastic (eggs are always cooked to perfection!), the house and gardens are beautiful and clean and Alnwick is a wonderful place to visit. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyk7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
469
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were greeted at the door by Bruce who provided us with tea/coffee and cake on arrival. The house is immaculately clean and very comfortable. There are only 4 rooms for guests and each room is decorated in a particular style; ours was the Edwardian Room which looks out over the rear garden. Along with all the usual things one expects to find in one's room, at West Acre you will also find a small decanter of sherry. Breakfast is both fresh and cooked. I would strongly recommend West Acre House to anyone visiting Alnwick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnewman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, Bury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

West Acre is a superb place to stay. A warm welcome with tea and cake, a fantastic room with special little touches (fruit, chocolates, sherry, crisps) and a fantastic breakfast - everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Bruce and Jeanette are fantastic hosts, always willing to help and interesting to talk to. We stayed with friends we holiday regularly with and we all agreed thst it is one of the best places we've ever stayed at, great value for money and a place we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Workbreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This B&B deserves to win every accolade available. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed & made to feel at home. The house is beautiful, furnished to the highest standard, in an excellent location for exploring Northumberland & full of little touches to make your stay memorable. We stayed in the Spice Room which was lovely. The decanter of sherry, chocolates, biscuits, crisps, lovely toiletries & big fluffy towels (changed daily) made the stay feel luxurious. The breakfasts are memorable - with a huge choice of freshly prepared food & personal preferences catered for. Our hosts were so friendly & at times I forgot I was a paying guest. West Acre House is an exceptional place to stay - but don't take my word for it...check it out for yourself. You won't be disappointed. Sheer luxury - bliss.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautifully furnished - but look at the pictures on the website & choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A beautiful house set in attractive gardens, Delightful hosts - very welcoming (tea and cake on arrival), helpful (booked our evening meal locally) and informative. Our room was excellent (the Oriental) and provided everything one could need. Breakfast was very good. Highly recommended; would certainly visit again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PatStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

By far and away the best B & B we have stayed at. As good if not better than any top class hotel.
Warm welcome on our arrival with tea, biscuits and cake before being shown our room, we chose the Oriental room which was excellent. Our hosts Bruce and Jeanette could not have been any more helpful. Breakfast was also excellent and we would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend West Acre House to our friends.
Michael & Janet

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was arguably the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in from the welcoming offer of tea on arrival to the wonderful room with all its comforts and facilities. Our hosts were helpful, friendly and offered good advice about the local area and its restaurants. The house itself and its surroundings are beautiful. It's difficult to imagine how anything could have been better. First class.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
9.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres House West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing