We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B and superb hosts”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B and superb hosts”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay here on 12 April. After a long drive the coffee and cakes we were greeted with by Jeannette were just what we needed. The Parisian room was excellent with comfortable chairs and a very comfortable bed (you need to let you know where you bought it Bruce!). The decanter of Sherry and cheesy biscuits in the room added to the sense luxury. Bruce and Jeannette were great hosts and a fount of all local knowledge. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear JBH it was lovely to meet you both in April and we are pleased we met with your expectations. We really appreciate the review and look forward to your next visit. Re the bed, we have found a new hotel bed supplier and buy their top range of beds, if you drop m a line I could let you have their details.
Kind Regards

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
465
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from our fantastic three night stay at West Acre - first time for us in a B & B, only stayed in 4 star hotels before. From the moment we arrived and sat down with the welcome tea and cakes to the time of our departure with advice on where to park in Durham, Bruce and Jeannette constantly delivered a friendly 5 star service. Our room was lovely, overlooking the garden, really comfy bed ensured a good nights sleep and all the little extras were appreciated. Great selection for breakfast - the kippers were great and the chocolate eggs on Easter Day were appreciated. Easy walking distance to Alnwick and a great base to explore the coast. Enjoyed our visit to Cragside so much we are hoping to return soon. Thank you both for making our stay so enjoyable, hope to see you again - Linda and John

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but other guests seemed very happy. Don't think there is such a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michealjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Linda & John,
thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased you found the beds comfortable and enjoyed a quality sleep. Cragside is wonderful isn't it, our favourite National Trust property. If you are coming back this year early June is a good time to see the azaleas and the rhododendrons in full flower. Sorry we didn't have space for June ;-(
If you need a recommendation just ask and we'll recommend somewhere (almost) as good ha ha!
Kind Regards
Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This b&b is a little gem! Home from home. My husband & myself only stopped the one night due to us travelling around - it was by far the best b&b! We were greeted with tea & cake in the beautiful conservatory and Jeanette & Bruce are the perfect hosts. During our conversation we asked if they could recommend a traditional pub for our evening meal, Jeanette describe one near by & after asking a few questions by myself ( because I am a plain fussy eater) got on the telephone & made us a reservation - sorted.
We stayed in the Edwardian room, it was beautiful. It had everything in you needed even down to a sewing kit. If you had forgotten anything it was there ready for you which is fab. We looked out onto the perfect back garden. The gardens were lovely to walk around.
The whole house was spotless & decorated/furnished to a high standard but still very homely, welcoming & cosy.
The breakfast table had your names on which we found to be a personal touch - FAB.
You had a hearty breakfast which defiantly set you up for the day. Fantastic choice, caters for everyone's needs.
Bruce & Jeanette are the perfect hosts - thank you, already looking forward to our next visit with my parents.

Room Tip: Any room is an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyacinth137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Hyacinth! Love the pseudonym makes me think of a well know TV character, but that's not like you (is it?)
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated :-)
Even though you were only here for a single night we enjoyed your company and look forward to your visit in August with your parents.
Best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

After a string of hotels, we looked forward to a four night stay in a B&B. Finding the house was easy as was the parking. Then came the big difference as Bruce greeted us with Tea, coffee & cakes in the conservatory. We stayed in room number 4 which was a good size and a has a big cupboard with rails to hang up coats etc. The room also has loads of little touches such as fresh fruit, sherry, snacks, cotton buds and a sewing kit but no tissues. On the landing there is an extensive DVD library which you can help yourself to view on the DVD player in your room. We found the bed to be very comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning is very easy as each evening you complete a tick-box list with choices of breakfast, drinks and times. The four tables are set up with your name on the table which stops the rush to get a spot in the morning. Make sure you try the home made jams, marmalades along with cereal, Muesli and fresh fruit. We got to meet Jeanette at breakfast as she works in tandem with Bruce bringing out the cooked breakfasts and hot drinks. The breakfast every morning was both well cooked and filling as we tried different combinations. The town of Alnwick is about a fifteen minute walk to a variety of restaurants, we only tried three but all were of a good standard. You can also visit Alnwick castle by foot which was a pleasant walk but we also drove to Holy Island, Craster and several castles which is brilliant if you are either a National Trust or English Heritage Member. The other guests we met were friendly especially the four ladies on a girlie trip from Yorkshire. After the four nights it was hard saying goodbye to Jeanette & Bruce as the stay had been most enjoyable and we would definitely go back again if visiting that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya-Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Tanya & Glen,
thank you for your excellent and comprehensive review it really is much appreciated, I think you have covered just about every topic which is really useful for other travellers to use. Hope we do see you both the next time you visit Northumberland.

Best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After staying here 13-17 April on a girlie trip I can honestly say it was absolute perfection I tried to find a fault with West Acres but it was impossible. Our hosts Jeanette and Bruce were wonderful they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were beautiful,food fabulous,and the setting wonderful. We will certainly be returning
5* plus accomadation.
Thanks again Bruce and Jeanette

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ternlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Ternlover!!!! Ha ha love the username! Pleased you didn't need to use your umbrella on your visit to the Farne Islands. We enjoyed your visit very much and hope that you all can make back to us next year. Perhaps we can open that bottle of Italian wine.

Best wishes

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

On our arrival Jeanette and Bruce gave us a very warm welcome as usual with coffee and cake. This was our 5th year visiting this special guest house. We have sampled every room - this time we stayed in the newly refurbished Georgian Room which Jeanette and Bruce have finished to a very high standard. The 2 small double beds were extremely comfortable giving us a very restful sleep. The 2 armchairs were also comfortable as we sipped our complimentary sherry before we went out for dinner.
The house was always warm with plenty of hot water on tap in the very roomy bathroom.
The breakfasts are beautifully cooked by Bruce using the best of ingredients. The whole house and bedrooms are kept spotless by Jeanette.
Gone home feeling relaxed. Hope to be back next year.
Ian & Helen

Room Tip: As West Acre is in a very quiet location all the rooms are restful. Our favourite is the Georgian Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Helen and Ian,
Thank you for your lovely review it really is much appreciated, it's always a pleasure to welcome you and Ian to West a Acre House, we are pleased you had a good break with us and trust that all was well when you returned home. We do hope you can make it back with us next year and look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

From A to Z this was perfect. From the pristine bed linen to the sheer bending over backwards of the hosts Westacres House was perfect in every way. Sublime breakfasts to the meaningful extra touches like sherry, choc and cheese nibbles in the rooms this place is a hidden gem. Jeanette and Bruce can not do enough for their guests. We will be back for more!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkyRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westacres, Owner at West Acre House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear YorkyRoma,
what can I say!? We usually have wonderful guests, but once in a while we are just smitten and form a special bond which I think happened when you and the girls stayed with us, we really enjoyed your company and you know I think we can see a trip across to Rome soon ;-)
See you all next year hopefully

All our best

Bruce & Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres House West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing