We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

West Acre House is a first class B&B providing very comfortable and luxurious accommodation. We stayed in room 3, The Oriental Room, which was spotlessly clean, spacious and lovingly presented and maintained. The whole house has an aura of quality, class and comfort. Add to this the genial hospitality of the owners, Jeannette & Bruce, and you have one very special B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_E_Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had received a number of recommendations to visit in the past, but were unable to book on the previous occasion we tried. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly and our stay was everything we had been led to expect. We even managed, at last, to find a good day to visit the Farne Islands, which added icing to the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful guest house.The location is just a 10 mins walk to the centre of Alnwick.Our room was spacious,elegant and decorated to a high standard.The cooked breakfasts are delicious..Bruce and Jeannette are the perfect hosts and have provided lots of special extras which add to a memorable stay.It was a pleasure to stay at West Acre House,Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longstockins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay with Bruce & Jeanette at their gorgeous house in Alnwick.
As we arrived by train Bruce kindly came to pick us up from the station & then we had tea
& cake while we chatted about where we would be visiting & he gave us lots of information
on the area. Our room was beautiful with views over the lovely garden with every facility
that you could need. Breakfast was delicious & they had a comfortable garden room where
you could relax after a day or evening out. It was our first time in Northumberland & we were
very impressed. We could walk into Alnwick with it's castle & gardens & interesting shops &
eateries. Barter Books a must to visit. All in all a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: We loved room 2 which isn't the largest but had garden view. All the rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy_dutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The house is immaculate and beautifully decorated. Bruce and Jeanette are very helpful and friendly, the food is great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
There is plenty of parking space off road and you can select from several times to have your breakfast so it suits an early start or a leisurely lie in.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank marycl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our second visit in 7 months. Our twin room had been refurbished and as usual was done so to a very high standard. This is an outstanding place to stay. We haven't found a place that compares and, yes, it is the place where standards are extremely hard to match, let alone improve upon. Bruce and Jeanette are truly professionals in their field. Extremely friendly, courteous and welcoming to their home. They are both very helpful and couldn't be more so in advising or recommending choices of venue, routes, places of interest etc.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All four are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at West Acre and can see why it has come top in the region. We simply could not find fault with this B & B, everything was perfect. The location within walking distance of the town centre, the large comfortable en-suite bedrooms with everything you could possibly want. Brilliant breakfasts and the very genial hosts.
Thank you Bruce and Jeanette for making our stay one to remember, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
543 reviews
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,106 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 68 in Alnwick
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £105 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing