We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of West Acre House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Acre House
Ranked #1 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our 9th happy visit with Bruce and Jeanette, we stayed 7 nights as there is plenty to see and do in the area. This is a lovely house set in an extensive garden with ample private parking and has everything you will need for a relaxing stay. The Oriental Room has plenty of room and storage with a walk in wardrobe, very comfortable bed, fine linen, towels etc everything has been carefully considered to give you a great experience. Breakfast is a pleasure with freshly prepared food and plenty of choice. We particularly like the fresh fruit salad with yoghurt, locally sourced bacon lovely toasted breads and some new home made jams. Bruce and Jeanette are great hosts who make everyone welcome and provide great ideas and advice on what to do and where to go to make the most of your stay. The centre of Alnwick is about 15 to 20 minutes walk and there is a good range of retaurants and cafes where you can eat. Alternatively you can drive there and make use of the free parking. We are very much looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
476
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had an excellent and luxurious stay at West Acre House for 3 nights. On arrival Bruce greeted us and our friends with a very warm welcome and offered tea and cake which we had in the Guest Lounge. We stayed in the Edwardian Room which was beautifully decorated, furnished and spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. Bruce and Jeanette were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Alnwick is a good location for visiting the Northumberland coastline and National Trust properties.

Room Tip: Light spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Whatton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we recently stayed in the Georgian Room and it was very comfortable. Every effort was made to ensure our stay was memorable for all the right reasons. The room was warm, bright, spotlessly clean and luxuriously appointed. The breakfast was wholesome and delicious, setting us up for the day. Bruce and Jeanette were excellent hosts and went out of their way to look after us. The location was quiet but easily accessible by foot into Alnwick centre. We would have no hesitation in recommending West Acre House and look forward to our next stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEGFJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great experience for Cristina and me. Bruce welcomed us with a cup of tea and a cupcake, and since then everything was great. The room was ample and clean and with nice views to the garden; good breakfast too. Special reference to the personal attention by Bruce and Jeanette. Good situation regarding the local attractions (Barter Books, Alnwick Castle and Gardens). Looking forward to come back.

Room Tip: The Edwardian room has a nice view to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 631Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good location for Alnwick. Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this very special B&B.
The house, our room and the service provided by Bruce and Jeanette were top notch in all respects and they very much enhanced our short break in this area. We hope to be back next year and will be recommending this excellent B & B to our family and friends.

Peter and Linda

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in this beautiful guest house just on the edge of Alnwick about ten minutes walk from the town centre. Nothing was too much trouble for Bruce and Jeanette and we were made to feel very welcome. On our arrival we were given tea and cakes.

The Georgian room was very beautiful and had recently been refurbished to a very high standard, with lots of little extras.

The breakfast had a good choice of food including, cereals, porridge, yogurt, fresh fruit, a full English breakfast, toast etc, I even tried Bruce's whiskey marmalade, setting you up for the day.

Our hosts were very informative and knew the area very well, giving us directions to various places of interest and suggestions of places to visit.

We would recommend this beautiful guest house to anyone wanting to stay in Northumberland, as it is a perfect base for exploring the area.

The only downside was the weather, as it rained most of the week. To enjoy this area at its best, you need the sunshine. However, it did not stop us from seeing lots of interesting places in this part of the country.

If we are in the area again, we would have no hesitation in staying at West Acre House again. Thank you for making our stay into very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: The new Georgian Room, it is beautifully decorated with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyandtony13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

West Acre House is a first class B&B providing very comfortable and luxurious accommodation. We stayed in room 3, The Oriental Room, which was spotlessly clean, spacious and lovingly presented and maintained. The whole house has an aura of quality, class and comfort. Add to this the genial hospitality of the owners, Jeannette & Bruce, and you have one very special B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_E_Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
7.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,024 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#22 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Acre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Acre House

Property: West Acre House
Address: West Acres, Alnwick NE66 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — West Acre House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really beautiful Arts and Crafts influenced Edwardian Villa offering luxury 5 Star accommodation. The house is quietly situated in a leafy suburb on the edge of the lovely town of Alnwick. West Acre House is beautifully maintained and decorated in keeping with the style and ambience of the property. A warm welcome is assured to all of our guests. Our rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Tea and coffee tray is provided. We have the benefit of free off road parking for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Acre House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Acre House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing