We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Blackmore's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Chicken was tough and the fish batter was inedible. We had previously been here 2 years ago and found it good, but standards have gone very much down hill since then.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    7
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great British Food”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

There were six of us and all of our meals were wonderful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KEBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Visited with friends early on a Saturday evening. The bistro was very busy so ate in the restaurant. Three of us had the crab starter which were fresh and delicious; the fourth declared his glib mushrooms superb! For main course there were two Thai curry tiger prawns; fantastic prawns in a flavoursome sauce. One friend had whale(cod) and chips with crunchy batter and our fourth member loved his sirloin steak. A bottle of house red completed the meal as we had no room for desserts.
Thank you so much.....worth every penny!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Patricks Mum and I booked a table for Saturday, 24th March, 7.15pm.
We arrived, the restaurant was totally empty (but hey, it was early) except for four young waitresses chattering. As soon as we were seated, they disappeared, and we never saw more than 2 of them in the restaurant at any one time afterwards.
The meal was OK to a point - celeriac soup & pate for our starters; bass & pork + parma ham for mains. Dessert was odd - we were told the mars bar cheesecake was actually lemon & lime cheesecake!! - which we opted for, but regretted (it was like something really cheap and poor quality that you'd buy from a downmarket supermarket). Also had to remind a waitress twice before we were served with a jug of tapwater to go with the drinks we'd already been served.
We finished up at about 9pm - still only 4 tables occupied in the restaurant - maybe the locals knew more about how bad the place is than we did!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricks_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quality hotel friendly restaurant/bar”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Lovely surroundings good ood friendly staff.
V near town centre perfect

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackmore's also viewed

 
Shilbottle, Alnwick
Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing