We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B perfect hosts”
Review of Aln House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aln House
Ranked #6 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay with Bill & Jean at Aln House and must say they were perfect hosts who made the 4 of us very welcome. We got lots of information about where to eat and what was good to see in the local area. The service was excellent - both rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfast was wonderful with all our needs catered for. Would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone who is looking to stay in Alnwick.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thank you for our recent stay at Aln House, we very much enjoyed it, and would have liked to have stayed longer. The rooms were of a good size, with everything we could have wanted. Bathrooms were also a good size, although perhaps the showers were a little cramped. However, the public spaces were beautifully appointed, and it was the little touches that made it so comfortable. The breakfasts were tasty and beautifully presented, with a great selection of fruit - where on earth do you get your strawberries in October?!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A warm welcome again from Jean & Bill. Excellent room, beautifully decorated with everything you might need for a comfortable stay. A wide choice for breakfast. We had the full Northumbrian, cooked to perfection by Bill. Nothing was too much trouble. We shall certainly return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JRMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It is some time since we stayed at Aln House but it was even better than we remembered. Warm, friendly welcome, superbly appointed and tasteful rooms, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Bill and Jean are terrific hosts - nothing is too much trouble and always giving good advice about things to do in the area. The breakfasts are to die for! All in all a wonderful stay and we cannot rate it highly enough.

Tony & Anne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

So relaxing, comfortable, spotlessly clean and extra little touches that make this place a very special find. Big thank you to Bill and Jean for allowing us to feel that your home was our home for 2 days. Amazing choice of breakfast all beautifully cooked and presented. Loved our room and the lounge and breakfast room. Great to talk to both Bill and Jean who made our stay very memorable and helped us make the most of our visit to this jewel of a place. Can't wait to return! Go to visit Aln house and Alnwick - you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Triplarry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

4 of us stayed here for three nights and all the reviews we had read were correct. Very stylishly decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms. Good breakfast menu including Craster kippers (delicious). Jean and Bill were the perfect hosts, giving helpful advice on what to see in the area and where to eat in the evenings. This was our first stop on the way to Scotland and a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegenealogists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a great stay at Aln House. The room we had was bright and relaxing. Great after a tiring day out in the surrounding area. The breakfasts we had were very good and my wife would especially recommend the French toast with maple syrup. Bill and Jean were excellent hosts and gave us good advice on things to do in the area and places to eat. Jean even booked one of the restaurants for us.
We would definitely recommend Aln House and will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 3 at the front and it was nice and quiet even though it faced the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essoextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 68 in Alnwick
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 68 in Alnwick
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Ravenslaw House
Ravenslaw House
#7 of 68 in Alnwick
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Address: Aln House South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £84 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aln House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing