We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aln House
Ranked #5 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hotel Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of days. Our room was beautiful as was the rest of the hotel. Very clean and tastefully decorated. Hospitality great. Bill and Jean were very friendly and helpful. Every detail was thought of including a glass of sherry in our room. Excellent breakfast with choices to suit everyone. Lovely lounge with scented candles and yet more sherry - perfect for relaxation after a long day sightseeing. Looking forward to a repeat visit next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
277
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just return from a wonderful 3 night stay at Aln House. Jean & Bill are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our bedroom was beautiful and spotlessly clean, I can only echo everyone else's comments on here. I can't say anything other than stay here if you're going to Alnwick!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alimary61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We visited Aln House for 4 nights in half term week. Jean and Bill were ideal hosts - friendly, helpful and relaxed. Our room was well furnished and had lots of things that you wouldn't necessarily expect from a B&B, e.g. bathrobes, a torch. There was a wide variety of drinks on the hospitality tray, quality toiletries, a very comfortable bed (too many hotels and B&Bs think that a hard bed = a good bed; it's not true!) and two easy chairs. When booking, Jean recommended several restaurants, all of which we tried and found very good. Jean warned us that our bathroom (room 5) was small, with a separate loo. Nevertheless, the bathroom had a good shower and everything you could have wished for.
There is a very comfy lounge, with plenty of tourist information. The breakfast was gorgeous. We didn't have cooked breakfast, but the selection of cereal and fruit was excellent. We like weak black Earl Grey tea and we were supplied with accompanying lemon - a first in any B&B. We shall ceratinly recommend this B&B to friends and hope to reurn ourselves. An added bonus was the proximity to Alnwick town centre - 10 minutes walk, so we could access buses to enable us to do linear coastal walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea4967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

A really welcoming place! Jean and Bill were lovely hosts; courteous, generous and helpful. Great advice for places to visit and eat. The house had a homely, relaxed feel yet it was immaculate. Our room and bathroom were sumptuous, beautifully decorated and with quality furnishings.
Breakfast was really delicious; quality produce and beautifully presented. Well located for an easy stroll into Alnwick centre. It was a short stay but we came away totally relaxed and rejuvenated. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3, with gorgeous bathroom and beautiful decor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vfrfcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Bill and Jean have clearly deserved the praise and awards they have received from the industry and guests alike for their B&B. Sadly, we only stayed for one night but it was very evident that they had invested their time, in getting the little things right. The room we stayed in was wonderfully decorated and obvious to us that much thought and care had been applied. There is no reason to think that the other rooms were of a lesser standard.
The attention to detail and desire to offer a complete and personable service continued throughout our stay.
And finally breakfast - The varied choices, the way in which the table was laid out, and the actual presentation of the food itself, made the breakfast experience probably our best yet.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassoues39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay with Bill & Jean at Aln House and must say they were perfect hosts who made the 4 of us very welcome. We got lots of information about where to eat and what was good to see in the local area. The service was excellent - both rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfast was wonderful with all our needs catered for. Would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone who is looking to stay in Alnwick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Thank you for our recent stay at Aln House, we very much enjoyed it, and would have liked to have stayed longer. The rooms were of a good size, with everything we could have wanted. Bathrooms were also a good size, although perhaps the showers were a little cramped. However, the public spaces were beautifully appointed, and it was the little touches that made it so comfortable. The breakfasts were tasty and beautifully presented, with a great selection of fruit - where on earth do you get your strawberries in October?!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
7.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Property: Aln House
Address: Aln House South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing