We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely comfortable”
Review of Aln House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aln House
Ranked #6 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely comfortable”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Aln House. Very comfortable spacious bedroom and bathroom ( room 3 ), spotlessly clean and lots of little extras including tea and cake on arrival, sherry in the room, sweets in room and bathrobes. Lovely breakfast including fresh strawberries every morning, breakfast kept us going until 3.00pm when only a cream scone was required.
Conveniently located, only 10 min walk into centre of Alnwick. All in all perfect stay including the weather.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuggie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
287
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Aln House is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Alnwick, a great location for visiting the castle and the various restaurants in the town centre. We were offered a friendly welcome and tea and cake on arrival. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and well appointed. There was an excellent choice at breakfast, fresh fruit, cereals, porridge and a "quality" cooked breakfast, the bacon being the best that we have had! Jean and Bill were friendly and very helpful with advice on the local area, they very kindly sent on the telephone charger that I left behind in the room free of charge. This a a great place for couples to stay, looking for a good quality bed and breakfast in Alnwick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheByards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just stayed at Aln House over this weekend, and it was excellent. Jean and Bill were so accommodating and helpful. As we were travelling up in the evening, prior to our arrival I spoke to Jean over the phone and she recommended a few places in Alnwick to eat, which we took up and were not disappointed at all. We stayed in room 3 which was beautifully decorated and furnished and we couldn't have asked for more from our stay, especially with all the extra treats in the room. The toiletries, fluffy towels and robes were all of a very good quality. We had a very comfortable night sleep. Breakfast was brilliant and had so much choice, from a full Northumbrian feast to fruit and porridge. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. We would definately recommend Aln House to anyone planning a visit to Northumberland and would stay again when we are next up in Alnwick. We will be recommending to our wedding guests when we plan to come up next year. Also in a great location just minutes away from Barter Books (so glad we had time to visit). Thanks again to Jean and Bill

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_and_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Aln House just before the Easter break.

Location wise it was excellent - a ten minute walk from the centre of Alnwick and also from Alnwick Castle. We visited the castle and the gardens which were great fun for families and couples alike. The castle is themed around Harry Potter and there are lots of activities for kids. It is also great for adults though because the staterooms and guided historical tours are excellent.
The Alnwick Gardens were great too, although quite expensive to get into. The cherry blossom was out when we were there. There are lots of interesting fountains to see there and most families seemed to take picnics with them.

The B&B was very well decorated - we stayed on the first floor in a newly refurbished room.
There was a bath which was great for me as I am pregnant and it helps me relax. My husband didn't like the shower though as he said it wasn't very powerful, but just an attachment above the bath. Other than that though we loved the room. Nice touches included sweets everyday and also having a DVD player and small library of films to choose from.
There was a good selection of beverages and biscuits daily. Also the bath robes and fluffy bath sheets were of a very good quality. The bed was very comfy too.
Despite being near a main busy road, we didn't get disturbed and we did sleep with the windows open too.

The breakfast is the best thing about this place - very high quality of food used and a good selection of berries and fruit for starters, followed by cooked breakfast with everything from traditional English to smoked salmon.

Jean the owner is also extremely friendly and always on hand to offer tips about where to eat out or what attractions to see.

We ate at the Art House in town, which was good, although massive portions. We also ate at the Tirreno bistro which was italian and really cheap but a good quality of pasta and pizza.

We had a lovely 3 night stay in Alnwick and will definitely return here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Aln House for two nights en route to Scotland to visit our daughter and her family It was our first visit to Northumberland. Bill and Jean were such friendly people. The room we booked (room 3) was beautifully decorated and really spacious. Jean gave us a run down on places to eat in the town as well as places of interest to visit. We have stayed in quite a few guest houses/hotels in England and Wales but this definitely comes top of our list. If we ever visit the area again we will definitely book well in advance to stay at Aln House. Our breakfast also was second to none. I can definitely say there were no negatives at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was large and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just returned from a 4-day visit to Alnwick. We stayed at Aln House B&B, on the approach road into Alnwick and - once again - were treated royally. From the welcome cuppa in the lovely sitting room on arrival, to the personal farewell at the door when we left, we could not have been better looked after. The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and include robes, hair dryer, flashlight. Tea and coffee-making facilities, of course, with biscuits and small 'treats'. Bathrooms well appointed with loads of good toiletries (none of your "bolt-ons" here) and good fluffy towels. It also included face cloths, most unusually for the UK as we have found. Breakfasts were amazing, with lots of choice. The sitting room has large TV with plenty of DVDs, there are games and puzzles, many books and the inevitable little treats in dishes scattered around. There is even a decanter of sherry for those who would wish to indulge in a small pre- or post-prandial libation! The location of the house is excellent: right on the edge of town so only a 15-minute walk to the far end of Alnwick, and a pub opposite if you don't want to walk far (although the walk into any of the hostelries in town means that you can walk off some of the calories on the way back!). All in all, Bill and Jean well deserve their 4-star rating and gold diplomas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A group of us stayed at Aln House while attending a wedding at Newton Hall, Northumberland. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with a great selection of refreshments and toiletries to hand. Jean and Bill are excellent hosts, they are friendly and accommodating, Bill even made myself and another bridesmaid bacon butties at an absurd hour on the Saturday morning before we had to go and get ready with the bride to ensure we had something to eat. Faultless service and every need catered for - there are even complimentary tipples in the rooms - ours had sherry :0)

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms and every one was lovely. I personally stayed in Room 3 (the largest) which was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanie1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,025 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 67 in Alnwick
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#5 of 67 in Alnwick
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aln House

Property: Aln House
Address: Aln House South Road, Alnwick NE66 2NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aln House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aln House Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing