We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
560
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
560
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail town centre first class biscuits dressing gowns fresh fruit warm welcome friendly hosts perfect hosts b and b barter books a wonderful stay two nights cooked breakfast excellent breakfast home from home room was spotless
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2019

This was far and away the best B & B I have ever stayed in. Sharon and Joe have set the bar very high for any place I stay in the future. I spent two nights, sharing a room with my daughter, at the end of September and beginning of October. We were travelling north by train from York en route for Edinburgh, and wanted to see Alnwick Castle. Because of the train schedule, we arrived too early for check-in, and expected to be on the doorstep for a while, but our hosts made us welcome immediately, seated us in the lounge and brought us tea while we completed the formalities. They also gave us discount coupons for entry to the castle and gardens. No detail of comfort in our room was too small to be attended to, including a well-stocked tea tray, with fresh milk available in a fridge just outside the door, and the cooked breakfasts were delicious and served piping hot. All in all a great experience of Northumbrian hospitality!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlnHouse18, Owner at Aln House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Hi Catherine,
It was lovely to welcome you both to Aln House and we re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Alnwick has much to see and do and yet only an hour way from Edinburgh so it's ideally situated to have a day out in bonny Scotland. Hope you had a great time in the UK and some lasting memories.

Best Wishes

Joe & Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2019

This is an outstanding Bed and Breakfast. The booking process was easy and efficient. We booked direct and were given a discount for doing so. We never use hotel booking sites, you can almost always get the best deal by going direct. When we arrived at the start of our two-night stay, we were much too early for check-in but had read that we could use the car park. Having pulled in, Sharon came out and welcomed us. Inviting us in, she provided us with information and vouchers for attractions in Alnwick, and also let us borrow a parking disc (for Alnwick car parks.and some street parking, you need one.) Later in the afternoon we checked-in formally. Sharon and Joe invited us to take a seat in the attractive lounge, sat with us to do the formal registration and to provide information about our stay. They then showed us to our room on the first floor and Joe insisted on carrying our bags. The room was immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean. It had everything you might possibly need. Just outside the room was a fridge containing, chilled water and fresh milk. There was also a decanter of complementary sherry!

An excellent breakfast was provided in a beautifully decorated breakfast room. In addition to a help-yourself buffet of cereals, fresh fruit, nuts, yoghurt and fruit juice, a full menu of hot dishes are cooked to order by Joe. These are ordered the evening before for the time desired between 8 and 9 am. Sharon serves the breakfasts including the usual hot drinks (My decaf coffee served in a cafetière was excellent with plenty for more than two cups). There was also a choice of breads available for toast.

All in all, our two night stay could not be faulted. I can usually think of something that could be improved, but in this case every detail had been considered. It’s is hard to imagine a better B&B.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlnHouse18, Owner at Aln House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Hello and thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate your feedback and comments as it's always useful for future guests to hear what we provide for everyone staying with us. None of that UHT milk here !!

Kind Regards

Sharon & Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Aln House towards the end of September. On our arrival we were greeted and given coffee/ tea in the Guests' Lounge by Sharon and Joe. They were so friendly simply could not have been more helpful. Our room was large, airy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our milk was kept fresh in the fridge outside our room. There was even sherry available on the table next to the fridge! Our breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious. There was also a wide choice of fresh fruit and cereals. We have no hesitation in recommending Aln House very highly.Thank you very much Sharon and Joe for our memorable stay with you.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dosthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlnHouse18, Owner at Aln House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review, it is rewarding to hear that we were are able to provide an enjoyable stay for you.

Regards

Sharon & Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Sharon and Joe were the perfect hosts, very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Me and my husband stayed in one room and my daughter and her husband were in another. The rooms were beautiful, with everything we needed, and we had a great nights sleep, lovely and quiet. Breakfast was delicious, lots of choice and plenty of it. Sharon and Joe were very attentive, checking if we wanted more tea/coffee/toast. There was plenty of parking space in the front garden of the guest house. I couldn’t fault anything and I would highly recommend this as the perfect place to stay for B&B.

Room tip: We were in room 5 which was a king size with en suite shower, lovely quiet spacious room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank franceswestray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlnHouse18, Owner at Aln House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2019

Hi Frances,
It's great to hear from you and so glad the family could get together for the wedding. Hope you enjoyed Alnwick and it would be great to welcome you back again to see more of the Northumberland area.

Sharon & Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

We spent 4 nights at Aln House guest house from 23rd September. After a friendly greeting from Sharron, we were offered refreshments and lots of helpful information about places to visit and eat in the area. Our room was delightful, spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities in our room included fresh milk, biscuits and traditional sweets! The breakfast menu was varied with the food being wholesome and plentiful. We partook in the full English breakfast, the eggs benedict and the organic porridge. All extremely well cooked and very tasty. Altogether a lovely stay and we would definitely recommend Aln House as a base for anyone wanting to visit the Northumberland area.

Room tip: Our room was on the top floor but was quiet.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elbarrett2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlnHouse18, Owner at Aln House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2019

Hi Thankyou so much for writing a review on our B & B, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our hospitality and its lovely to receive such positive feed back.

Best Regards
Sharon & Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews