We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting bathroom aroma, and noises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Ranked #32 of 67 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cottingham, East Yorks
2 reviews
“Interesting bathroom aroma, and noises”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Spent 2 nights B&B here. Not a bad little place and very close to the market square. No parking for residents - and charges apply per hour with no return. Only place to park all day and free is outside working mens' club, also parking (charges apply) at Morrisons supermarket around the back.

The room was fine, all amenities - although didn't replenish buscuits next day and didn't re-make bed! As for the loo ..... well it made noises - a long burrrrr sound on a regular basis - day and night - and once stopped making this noise - there was what I can only put politely as an interesting aroma. The noise is very disconcerting particularly when using the loo.

The bath/shower had a step up with no grab rails - H&S would have a field day.

We had breadkfast - though passing the bar loo, there was that 'interesting aroma' .. not pleasant. Breakfast was OK. Staff were polite. We didn't eat there on an evening so cannot comment.

Despite the toilet noise, I would probably visit agian - but the aroma would have to go first!

Room Tip: this is a pub near the centre of the town. Not overly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roar-Nfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    34
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
21
63
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here on 4th Aug 2012.

Credit to the staff at the Market Tavern, they were brill and just what we expected from our North East hosts , however the pub/hotel is a bit shabby. The beds were very comfy and the rooms clean but the bathroom was in need of a serious renovation. We found handles hanging off doors, drapes covering stained walls and awful pub toilets etc.

Breakfast was passable but not great. It would have been great to have some locally produced sausages but we were served cheap alternatives.

The location in the town centre was great and within walking distance of Alnwick Castle and Gardens.

Overall I wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose the attic Room 4, my wife complained of the noisy cistern all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at Market Tavern when attending wedding party at Alnwick Gardens. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Friendly staff, very quiet and lovely breakfast. Parking is easy £1.60 outside the hotel. Spot on location for Alnwick garden. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I've stayed here three times now and the recent refurbishment of the rooms has only added to the friendly welcome from Julie and Camilla. The locals in the bar are great as well - a really friendly, small market town inn, ideal if you're just passing through or staying for a couple of nights whilst touring this wonderful part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1Epworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Market Tavern is ideally situated near to the market place in Alnwick. It does not have parking space but I found a street only a 2 minutes walk away with no restrictions. The proprietors, Camilla and Julie made me most welcome during my stay. There is a good value lunchtime menu. My room was a double which was on the first floor at the front of the pub. It was a good size, clean and with clean fresh bedding. The room had been recently decorated and had a flat screen televison and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also clean and had good quality towels and toiletries. I had a good nights sleep in the comfortable bed and was served a hot, tasty breakfast with the usual trimmings the following morning. All in all I would say this accommodation represents good value for money as a stopover whilst on business or as a base for exploring the neighbouring countryside.
The previous review seems to relate to a visit last year and should be disregarded.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burt0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here in September 2010. Room dirty. Situated in town centre, which was ideal for our needs... however property has single glazing so you can hear EVERYTHING going on outside all through the night, particularly the town clock which chimed every 15 minutes so just as we were about to drop off to sleep, the clock woke us up again. Got up and left early without bothering with breakfast as we were so fed up.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaOnHerTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed in the 'Market Tavern' with my family during a recent trip to a family wedding..I must say I found the hosts Julie & Camilla so warm & welcoming & needless to say helpful & patient..
The accommodation is reasonably priced, clean, newly refurbished & situated in the centre of Alnwick. The Bar is very comfortable & well run...The ladies served us with a wonderful breakfast..I will definately recommend this place & hopefully return one day !! Thanks again Julie & Camilla..
Enjoy continued success in your new venture..Eileen & Family..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,005 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#63 of 67 in Alnwick
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#26 of 67 in Alnwick
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#47 of 67 in Alnwick
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 67 in Alnwick
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#25 of 67 in Alnwick
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Tavern and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Tavern and Lodge

Property: The Market Tavern and Lodge
Address: 7 Fenkle Street, Alnwick NE66 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Market Tavern and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Tavern was taken over, refurbished and reopened in March 2016. A family friendly run pub restaurant and lodge with a smart, fun atmosphere serving a wide variety of lagers, real ales, spirits and soft drinks. A tremendous wine list accompanies the eclectic food offering. Great food in the bar and Steakhouse. Live bands play some Friday evenings, and it's very popular with the locals and visitors to the area. We are located in the centre of town and a two minute walk to the castle and gardens. The Steakhouse has opened to rave reviews, serving amazing Northumbrian steaks, and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Market Tavern and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Tavern And Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing