We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Ranked #28 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had 2 nights at this pub + B&B, situated in the centre of Alnwick. Was at first a bit miffed at lack of parking, but, simple solution provided by our Fab host, Camilla. Bring the car round at 6pm, park outside, obtain ticket, time states 10am next morning !!! Easy. The room was clean, bright and airy. Ample tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, all you need. The breakfast was unbelievable. The bacon and sausage was of exceptional quality, for a bed and breakfast. The building IS old [its an old tavern], they have made the best of it and the young staff have breathed new life into it. I wish them every success. Its a B&B in an old tavern, doesnt pretend to be a 5* hotel, so embrace this and give them a visit. You wont be disappointed. The staff looked after us very well, We will visit again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night here while visiting castles, Holy Island, etc in Northumberland. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were pretty well furnished. The room itself showed its age a bit, but it wasn't really a problem. The windows look out on the town market and it's a nice enough view. Breakfast was pretty good (full English). Nothing spectacular, but better than you get at some of the poorer greasy spoon cafes.

I was expecting the tavern part of it to have a little more charm. The decor feels very much like a pub, but the three cask ale taps were all sitting empty on a Saturday in August, which leads me to believe this pub does not plan to do cask ales anymore. A real shame. They seemed more concerned with cheap shooters, lagers, and mixed drinks.

It really felt like a bar aimed at the teen/early 20s crowd stuffed in pub decor. They had a couple of the cheap, tacky, and flashy pub fruity type games and drink specials pushing quantity over quality.

Overally, I was really looking forward to having a nice pint or two before heading up to bed, but the bar atmosphere totally turned my wife and I off to it. If you like shooters and crappy lager, the tavern portion might be for you, but it doesn't fit the B&B or pub/inn mold.

It was loud until 2am or so when I presume they closed. That didn't really bother us. We expected it, but we were really hoping for a better pub experience. We've stayed in other pubs and had a great time. We didn't get any of that cozy small-town pub feel here.

So in short, come for the reasonably priced and comfortable rooms, skip the bar downstairs (there are a couple of better pubs in town, anyway).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Spent 2 nights B&B here. Not a bad little place and very close to the market square. No parking for residents - and charges apply per hour with no return. Only place to park all day and free is outside working mens' club, also parking (charges apply) at Morrisons supermarket around the back.

The room was fine, all amenities - although didn't replenish buscuits next day and didn't re-make bed! As for the loo ..... well it made noises - a long burrrrr sound on a regular basis - day and night - and once stopped making this noise - there was what I can only put politely as an interesting aroma. The noise is very disconcerting particularly when using the loo.

The bath/shower had a step up with no grab rails - H&S would have a field day.

We had breadkfast - though passing the bar loo, there was that 'interesting aroma' .. not pleasant. Breakfast was OK. Staff were polite. We didn't eat there on an evening so cannot comment.

Despite the toilet noise, I would probably visit agian - but the aroma would have to go first!

Room Tip: this is a pub near the centre of the town. Not overly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roar-Nfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here on 4th Aug 2012.

Credit to the staff at the Market Tavern, they were brill and just what we expected from our North East hosts , however the pub/hotel is a bit shabby. The beds were very comfy and the rooms clean but the bathroom was in need of a serious renovation. We found handles hanging off doors, drapes covering stained walls and awful pub toilets etc.

Breakfast was passable but not great. It would have been great to have some locally produced sausages but we were served cheap alternatives.

The location in the town centre was great and within walking distance of Alnwick Castle and Gardens.

Overall I wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose the attic Room 4, my wife complained of the noisy cistern all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at Market Tavern when attending wedding party at Alnwick Gardens. Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Friendly staff, very quiet and lovely breakfast. Parking is easy £1.60 outside the hotel. Spot on location for Alnwick garden. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Della7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I've stayed here three times now and the recent refurbishment of the rooms has only added to the friendly welcome from Julie and Camilla. The locals in the bar are great as well - a really friendly, small market town inn, ideal if you're just passing through or staying for a couple of nights whilst touring this wonderful part of the country.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1Epworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Market Tavern is ideally situated near to the market place in Alnwick. It does not have parking space but I found a street only a 2 minutes walk away with no restrictions. The proprietors, Camilla and Julie made me most welcome during my stay. There is a good value lunchtime menu. My room was a double which was on the first floor at the front of the pub. It was a good size, clean and with clean fresh bedding. The room had been recently decorated and had a flat screen televison and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also clean and had good quality towels and toiletries. I had a good nights sleep in the comfortable bed and was served a hot, tasty breakfast with the usual trimmings the following morning. All in all I would say this accommodation represents good value for money as a stopover whilst on business or as a base for exploring the neighbouring countryside.
The previous review seems to relate to a visit last year and should be disregarded.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burt0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
2 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#27 of 68 in Alnwick
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#43 of 68 in Alnwick
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tate House
Tate House
#23 of 68 in Alnwick
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Lodge
Holly Lodge
#8 of 68 in Alnwick
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Tavern and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Tavern and Lodge

Address: 7 Fenkle Street, Alnwick NE66 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Market Tavern and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Tavern was taken over, refurbished and reopened in March 2016. A family friendly run pub restaurant and lodge with a smart, fun atmosphere serving a wide variety of lagers, real ales, spirits and soft drinks. A tremendous wine list accompanies the eclectic food offering. Great food in the bar and Steakhouse. Live bands play some Friday evenings, and it's very popular with the locals and visitors to the area. We are located in the centre of town and a two minute walk to the castle and gardens. The Steakhouse has opened to rave reviews, serving amazing Northumbrian steaks, and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Market Tavern and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Tavern And Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing