We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
71
39
18
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
39
18
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrisketcomfort foodsunday roastb bgreat selection of beersa late lunchclean tidyportion sizesbit datedcooked perfectlyhome madestayed here for one nightmashpleasant stayate herelovely mealevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night to attend a wedding in Alnwick, we found the Market tavern very comfortable and clean, the staff are a credit to the management, Chantelle deserves a special thank you for her impeccable manners and professional approach to her job she was very helpful from beginning to end, the breakfast was done perfectly and was very nice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly for service and value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy at night, but there again it is a pub in the town centre so it,s to be expected.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suton81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had 2 nights at this pub + B&B, situated in the centre of Alnwick. Was at first a bit miffed at lack of parking, but, simple solution provided by our Fab host, Camilla. Bring the car round at 6pm, park outside, obtain ticket, time states 10am next morning !!! Easy. The room was clean, bright and airy. Ample tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, all you need. The breakfast was unbelievable. The bacon and sausage was of exceptional quality, for a bed and breakfast. The building IS old [its an old tavern], they have made the best of it and the young staff have breathed new life into it. I wish them every success. Its a B&B in an old tavern, doesnt pretend to be a 5* hotel, so embrace this and give them a visit. You wont be disappointed. The staff looked after us very well, We will visit again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rasco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night here while visiting castles, Holy Island, etc in Northumberland. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were pretty well furnished. The room itself showed its age a bit, but it wasn't really a problem. The windows look out on the town market and it's a nice enough view. Breakfast was pretty good (full English). Nothing spectacular, but better than you get at some of the poorer greasy spoon cafes.

I was expecting the tavern part of it to have a little more charm. The decor feels very much like a pub, but the three cask ale taps were all sitting empty on a Saturday in August, which leads me to believe this pub does not plan to do cask ales anymore. A real shame. They seemed more concerned with cheap shooters, lagers, and mixed drinks.

It really felt like a bar aimed at the teen/early 20s crowd stuffed in pub decor. They had a couple of the cheap, tacky, and flashy pub fruity type games and drink specials pushing quantity over quality.

Overally, I was really looking forward to having a nice pint or two before heading up to bed, but the bar atmosphere totally turned my wife and I off to it. If you like shooters and crappy lager, the tavern portion might be for you, but it doesn't fit the B&B or pub/inn mold.

It was loud until 2am or so when I presume they closed. That didn't really bother us. We expected it, but we were really hoping for a better pub experience. We've stayed in other pubs and had a great time. We didn't get any of that cozy small-town pub feel here.

So in short, come for the reasonably priced and comfortable rooms, skip the bar downstairs (there are a couple of better pubs in town, anyway).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Spent 2 nights B&B here. Not a bad little place and very close to the market square. No parking for residents - and charges apply per hour with no return. Only place to park all day and free is outside working mens' club, also parking (charges apply) at Morrisons supermarket around the back.

The room was fine, all amenities - although didn't replenish buscuits next day and didn't re-make bed! As for the loo ..... well it made noises - a long burrrrr sound on a regular basis - day and night - and once stopped making this noise - there was what I can only put politely as an interesting aroma. The noise is very disconcerting particularly when using the loo.

The bath/shower had a step up with no grab rails - H&S would have a field day.

We had breadkfast - though passing the bar loo, there was that 'interesting aroma' .. not pleasant. Breakfast was OK. Staff were polite. We didn't eat there on an evening so cannot comment.

Despite the toilet noise, I would probably visit agian - but the aroma would have to go first!

Room Tip: this is a pub near the centre of the town. Not overly noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roar-Nfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here on 4th Aug 2012.

Credit to the staff at the Market Tavern, they were brill and just what we expected from our North East hosts , however the pub/hotel is a bit shabby. The beds were very comfy and the rooms clean but the bathroom was in need of a serious renovation. We found handles hanging off doors, drapes covering stained walls and awful pub toilets etc.

Breakfast was passable but not great. It would have been great to have some locally produced sausages but we were served cheap alternatives.

The location in the town centre was great and within walking distance of Alnwick Castle and Gardens.

Overall I wouldnt recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose the attic Room 4, my wife complained of the noisy cistern all night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews