We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Pub, B&B, People & Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Ranked #26 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Absolutely love this place full stop!

Landlady Camilla & all staff could not be more welcoming,!

Breakfasts were superb, beds comfy, all in all an absolutely fabulous find, Most definitely recommended & am more than sure we'll be back again, thank you everyone you really finished off the weekend (& us) nicely, toot toot =) Deborah & Paul

Room Tip: All staff a real pleasure to deal with, cannot praise enough
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for The Market Tavern and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed one night. Room was clean if a little in need of tlc. The toilet flushing made a big noise. Staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast was one of the best full English that I have had .Nice sausage and not at all greasy.

Room Tip: Rooms over bar noisy on Sat. night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend, the staff were very friendly on our arrival our room was spacious, warm and very clean. We went down to the bar for lunch we had steak and ale pie and lasagne it was home made like the menu said even with home made chips too which you dont see very often nowadays, it was delicious. The room has saniflow which we knew before we arrived so it was no surprise but didnt bother us as its an old building. Breakfast in the morning was freshly made and the staff were friendly throughout. Would definatly reccommend it. Thankyou

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The room would have been just about acceptable at £50 but £90 for one night was too much. The room was dated, poorly decorated, stuffy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was cramped and bolted onto the corner of the room. The toilet flush was useless, the shower unreliable and the "room" itself cold. There was a noisy water pipe in the bathroom. The wifi just did not work, tv remote control had no back. The breakfast was ok but the pub was not overly friendly.

Shop around and find something better for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Freezing cold, unwelcoming and very overpriced. A terrible racket came from the bathroom at regular intervals. Just not a nice place to stay - there are plenty of nicer B&Bs in Alnwick that are much better value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location and staff were excellent. Very friendly and competent. Rooms were very clean and food was fabulous. The location was great for all the tourist attractions, Hogwarts, Barnburgh Castle and Holy Island. We had a fabulous time here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 257IanW257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for one night with my elderly mum who has walking difficulties. I had previously seen the web site, which clearly stated they had no disabled facilities and no lift, but when booking, I asked for one twin en suite and a single room for my mother. I also emailed them to make sure that they provided first floor access for my mother as she had walking difficulties.
On arrival we were shown to our room and then informed that all single room accommodation was located on the second floor. Whilst she can manage some stairs, two flights are too much and when I pointed this out, the young woman who greeted us reiterated that single accommodation was on the second floor, which is when I referred to my email, to which I had received no response.
My mum felt she had no alternative but to offer to pay more for a double room as she knew she couldn't make the stairs and the young woman told us she would speak to the manager. On her return she offered to relocate us to the second floor in a twin room and place my mum in the first floor room, which we accepted.
The pub is a lively popular town centre place frequented by mixed age groups and it offers a good variety of bar drinks.We checked in too late to take advantage of the daytime food. Parking is by meter at the front of the pub and staff informed us that by obtaining a ticket after 6pm on Sunday evening, we would be covered until 10am the following Monday morning, which proved to be correct! In any event, you could temporarily double park to unload luggage and then park up on the main Castle car parks around the corner, also reasonably priced.
Both rooms appeared to be newly decorated and were clean and well presented. Both overlooked the main street. However, the building is an old traditional pub and despite their best efforts, some damp was apparent in the rooms. On arrival, our rooms were extremely cold and when I asked for the heating to be put on, this was done promptly but only in our second floor twin room. My mum's on the first floor remained without heating.
Previous comments about a noisy saniflow system are correct but how else does an old building provide modern facilities on higher levels? Providing the bathroom door is kept closed it doesn't really present a noise problem. The windows are double glazed and neither my mum nor us heard a thing after going to bed at about 10pm..........the pub was still open and busy as was the whole town on the Sunday evening preceding the bank holiday Monday.
At the time of booking there was conflicting information on the website and whilst the home page clearly stated no evening meals, the food and drink section made reference to a separate evening menu. On questioning the staff they said that evening meals were served during high season, but, as the website states, there are plenty of alternative restaurants and cafes very close by and all with reasonable price tags.
The full English breakfast was lovely;really fresh tasty bacon. The service was excellent and done with a smile. The final pleasant surprise was that we were excused extra payment for my mum's double room, demonstrating that the owners are quite prepared to respond in a reasonable manner to customer concerns.

Room Tip: Beware singles! Two steep staircases to climb. Both twins overlook the main street
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altnaharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#24 of 69 in Alnwick
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#49 of 69 in Alnwick
59 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chestnut Tree House
Chestnut Tree House
#2 of 2 in Longhoughton
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Lodge
Holly Lodge
#7 of 69 in Alnwick
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Market Tavern and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Tavern and Lodge

Address: 7 Fenkle Street, Alnwick NE66 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Market Tavern and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Market Tavern was taken over, refurbished and reopened in March 2016. A family friendly run pub restaurant and lodge with a smart, fun atmosphere serving a wide variety of lagers, real ales, spirits and soft drinks. A tremendous wine list accompanies the eclectic food offering. Great food in the bar and Steakhouse. Live bands play some Friday evenings, and it's very popular with the locals and visitors to the area. We are located in the centre of town and a two minute walk to the castle and gardens. The Steakhouse has opened to rave reviews, serving amazing Northumbrian steaks, and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Market Tavern and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Market Tavern And Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing