We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of Greycroft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greycroft
Ranked #3 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the 'Yellow Room' for 2 nights. The room was beautifully appointed, very comfortable bed and a sitting area which overlooked the walled garden. Large breakfast was very nice in the Atrium which also overlooked the garden. The owner, Audrey, made us feel right at home and had good recommendations for pubs and restaurants and the local sights in Alnwick. Everything within walking distance, including the castle. Can absolutely recommend, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. (Their website photos are a true reflection of the rooms).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StLP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Greycroft
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked this B&B for three nights while exploring the Northumberland region during a 17 day trip to England. We booked the twin bed room and it was lovely. The breakfast was delicious and had everything we needed for a good starting meal of the day. This B&B is in a great location for exploring Alnwick and the local area. Thank you Audrey for such a great stay at Greycroft B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DestinDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first - but not our last - visit to Northumberland and we couldn't have been made more at home than we were at Greycroft. A bright welcome from Audrey (Tom was sadly unwell) on arrival and as a previous reviewer commented, the most in depth and comprehensive briefing we've ever received which really made us feel that we had made a good choice (all in addition to receiving a confirmation e-mail with loads of information and website links when we booked). The rooms are very spacious, well appointed, warm - even though the weather was unseasonably good - and we slept like logs! Breakfast in the conservatory was excellent and very well cooked and presented. Audrey has a great sense of humour and we very much enjoyed regular banter, as well as her tips on when and where to visit. Good recommendations on where to eat too - the treehouse in Alnwick Garden was especially good. We hope to revisit the area and when we do, we know where we'll be staying! Congratulations, Tom and Audrey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room - very well appointed with a good view over the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coarseangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

As the previous reviewer noted how can you not repeat what others have said. It is unusual not to be able to think of a single improvement but I'm struggling - even the weather was perfect. The welcome is comprehensive but not OTT, rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. Breakfast options almost unlimited and all excellent. Sitting in the conservatory for breakfast was a lovely experience watching the birds and mice. There is a lovely garden available to guests as well as a guest lounge with complimentary drinks.
Simply can't be beaten. Why didn't we come here before? We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I am not sure that there is anything I can add to the wonderful reviews of Greycroft that are already posted, but I will use the words that I said to my husband as we pulled away after our 4 night stay, which was "they run Greycroft flawlessly". Another thing I will add is that during our stay, Audrey and Tom had a personal emergency, and despite that, things ticked over seamlessly. We would have completely understood had they not, but they honestly did not miss a beat. They are terrific hosts, there when you need them and full of excellent advice. We would never have planned the amazing walk from Craster to Dunstanburgh Castle had Audrey not suggested it, and in the end that lovely walk on a gorgeous and sunny fall day was one of the highlights of our trip. The breakfasts were wonderful, and served in a beautiful sunny conservatory. If you are staying in Alnwick, stay here.

Room Tip: If you need a bit of extra space, the Yellow Room has it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Red Room for two nights during our first visit to Alnwick. From the moment we arrived, Tom and Audrey were the perfect hosts. It is the first and only time we have received such a comprehensive briefing on arrival - we were made comfortable on the sofa and plied with tea and biscuits while Tom and Audrey told us about the house and gave us fabulous suggestions on places to visit in and around Alnwick. For first time visitors like us it was incredibly valuable as it not only gave us a little background on local history but also the best possible way to spend our short stay. We stayed in a lovely room in a beautiful house where every attention is paid to guest comfort - down to the sweeties in the room and fruit on the landing for guests. Breakfast in the morning was a revelation, enjoying local produce in a bright and comfortable breakfast room. And Tom and Audrey are both such warm people - full credit to them for making Greycroft such a wonderful and welcoming place to stay. I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WA_LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My inlaws, my husband and I spent 5 nights with Tom and Audrey as part of the celebration for the in laws 55th wedding anniversary and it was a simply lovely holiday. The house itself is beautiful; its 5 minutes walk to the centre of town but its tucked away and very quiet. The rooms are gorgeous; the bed linen was proper crisp, clean, white cotton. None of your poly cotton malarkey here. The shower cubicle was spacious with lashings of hot water and made more invigorating with the changeable spray arrangement. After a long drive, it was just what the doc ordered. Breakfast was tasty, plentiful and beautifully cooked (thank you Audrey) and the coffee was flavourful and strong but never bitter. MIchelle was kind enough, when we were the only ones remaining in the dining room and the main brew had dwindled, to make us an extra cafetiere. The sofas in the lounge area are just too comfortable - dad nearly fell asleep several times - and that was without the complimentary sherry! There are thoughtful extras too - like the chocolates on the coffee tray and the fridge upstairs with fresh milk and bottles of chilled water. We were very spoiled and had a thoroughly lovely stay.

My only observation - and hubby felt the same - is that the pillows were a bit .... flat. I realise pillows are a very personal thing - I've gone through lots before finding what is a good combination but these seemed to be microfibre and although they were adequate, they just quite didn't match the superb quality of everything else.

That aside, we had a fabulous stay and heartily recommend it as a lovely base from which to tour the area.

Room Tip: The yellow room has a sofa as well as a bed and slightly more space to spread out.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank realwit1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.0 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,062 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#1 of 69 in Alnwick
598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 69 in Alnwick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greycroft

Address: Greycroft Croft Place, Alnwick NE66 1XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £60 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greycroft 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Greycroft you are guaranteed a warm and friendly welcome from Tom and Audrey. Greycroft is a delightful six-bedroom Victorian guest house in the Conservation Area of Alnwick, the heart of Northumberland. There are 1 Single, 1 Twin and 4 Double rooms, all en-suite. Located away from the noise and bustle of the High Street, but only a two-minute walk from Alnwick town centre and local amenities and a further short stroll to Alnwick Castle and Garden. Situated in Croft Place, a private road offering car parking adjacent to to the house, Greycroft enjoys a South-facing high walled garden that has been described as 'An Oasis in the centre of town'. The garden is there for guests to enjoy. We take pride in using the finest local ingredients to produce our award-winning breakfasts. We offer a varied and interesting breakfast menu and can cater for most food allergies and intolerances. We are certain that, if you come to stay with us, you will not leave disappointed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greycroft Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing