We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Courtyard Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtyard Garden
Ranked #38 of 66 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This must be the friendliest and best place to stay in Alnwick. We were on the castles and beaches cycle tour and having a detour here to visit the castle. We were well looked after, the bikes safely stored and lovely, quiet room overlooking the courtyard. Beautifully appointed. A very good breakfast. The most amazing thing was the trouble the owners went to, to sort out and advise on my husband's sore backside ( we are not regular cyclists!). A shop was contacted and 30 mins later he was sorted and we were on our way. They also gave good advice on eating places etc. Highly recommend

Room Tip: for us the courtyard room would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

An immaculately kept b&b with Maureen a most friendly hostess and an excellent breakfast provided by Peter. All guests' needs are anticipated by the hosts whilst the town and Alnwick Gardens are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for precise directions before arrival as the access doorway is not easy to spot from your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkbarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This B@B is the best my self an my husband have stayed in,spotless room ,very comfortable,lovely breakfast,and Maureen and Peter could not do enough for us,one instance was we promised our grandson a small book on castles, in Northumberland and Peter had let us use his while we were there,when we were unable to get one for ourselves he very kindly told us to take the book he had lent us,so kind!!Very informative,even wrote the scenic route for us from Alnwick to the M6 ,we will be booking again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Courtyard Garden for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at Alnwick Garden and visiting Northumberland. The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk from Alnwick centre and the Garden so an ideal location. Maureen and Peter are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome indeed. We requested an early check-in as we had to change for a wedding and they allowed us kindly; as was also a packed lunch for our early departure on the second morning to catch the tide for Holy Island. Information on the local area, what to do, where to visit and where to eat was provided. We would definately stay here again and I would advise anyone visiting the local area to try Courtyard Garden. After speaking to other couples at the wedding it seemed as if we got a really good deal compared with their hotels and B&B's. We stayed in the Church View room which is at the front of the house and looks over the church believe it or not. The church bells did ring during the morning but this did not bother us and if anything awoke us in time for our lovely cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Church View may be a little louder as it is on a quiet road and the church bells do ring on a weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Spent a couple of nights here while visiting Alnwick. We received a very warm welcome from Maureen and Peter, who were friendly and helpful. When we mentioned we were planning to visit the castle, Maureen gave us a couple of vouchers and advised on best deals. Helpfully, she also phoned and booked us into a great tapas restaurant for the evening. Both Maureen and Peter were very knowledgeable about the local area and gave good advice throughout our stay.

The B&B is lovely - vintage decor, extremely clean, lovely and spacious, in a quiet residential area just minutes from the town centre. Free no-permit-required parking in the street outside the B&B was easy each day. Little details upped this B&B from the common stock, e.g. Selection of teas provided, bathrobes, slippersocks, heated towel rails, different sweet treats left in room each day, full wifi access, etc. The bathroom was really impressive - separate dressing table with a selection of nice toiletries.

Breakfast was grand, served in an elegant little dining room. The full English was nicely cooked and we appreciated the fact that real bread from the local baker was used for our morning toast.

Essentially, the 5-star rating is well-earned. You can't ask for more from a B&B. Recommended.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darbyandjoanonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 night break at the Courtyard Garden. Maureen & Peter are lovely hosts, very knowledgeable about the area and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Before we visited we asked for recommendations of where to eat and Maureen kindly booked us into the Tapas, Louis Steakhouse and the Treehouse and all of the meals were excellent. We will definately revisit this beautifully decorated B&B and will be recommending it to all of our friends. Pete and Debs xx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete n Debs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our family selected this lovely B & B as a birthday treat for my husband.It was a perfect location from which to enjoy Alnwick, the surrounding coastline and countryside.
Maureen and Peter are perfect hosts - they made us feel very welcome and attended to every detail of our stay, from offering interesting guide books, planning coastal walks and providing local information to preparing tea on arrival and delicious breakfasts to set us up for the day.
We will return!

Room Tip: The hourly church clock chimes close by - the courtyard room is slightly quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge
Holly Lodge
#8 of 66 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Percy Terrace Bed & Breakfast Alnwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#7 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#34 of 66 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravensmede Cottage B & B
Ravensmede Cottage B & B
#43 of 66 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Garden

Property: Courtyard Garden
Address: 10 Prudhoe Street, Alnwick NE66 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Courtyard Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Courtyard Garden Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing