We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Alnwick!”
Review of Courtyard Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard Garden
Ranked #39 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have stayed with Maureen and Peter twice now and plan to return!
They make you feel like friends, and it is like staying in someone's luxury home. They think of everything, and the breakfast is just wonderful. We especially loved the rhubarb, such A treat for breakfast.
On our second visit we took some Canadian friends who were visiting the UK as we felt this was the most perfect example of an English bed and breakfast we could show them. It didnt disappoint.
They loved the place too, and being able to walk into the centre of Alnwick is a bonus.
Thanks for two lovely visits Peter and Maureen, and I promise I will send those photos to you soon!

Room Tip: Both are great since the bells from the Church have stopped, although we didn't find them intrus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5startraveller-Iwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We had booked the Church View room but as there were no other guests staying, Maureen allowed us time to look round both rooms and choose. Both were lovely, but we chose Courtyard View, as it is at the back of the house, so totally quiet and also the bed was bigger.

The room was immaculately clean and well-decorated, with quirky furniture items (and descriptions of their history provided in the information pack). The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was large and bright, with good quality toiletries, bath robes, a good-sized bath as well as a powerful shower. In both bedrooms, the en suite is accessed via a small flight of internal stairs with a handrail on one side, so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

We are vegetarian and Maureen and Peter were keen to ensure that we had a wide choice at breakfast, additionally asking if there was anything else we would like bought in. As well as a large cooked vegetarian breakfast, there were a range of cereals and fresh fruit (different combinations every day), and Christmas chocolates were left at the side of our plates, which was a nice touch.

Maureen and Peter offered advice regarding things to do, places to eat and public transport, and provided timetables and books. We had brought a bottle of fizz with us and they were happy to store this in their fridge and provided champagne glasses, in addition to the wine glasses in the room. They also accommodated an early check-in and organised us a taxi from the station.

Overall, this was a wonderfully cosy location for a winter stay and I can highy recommend it.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is at the back of the house, so very quiet and with a larger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This must be the friendliest and best place to stay in Alnwick. We were on the castles and beaches cycle tour and having a detour here to visit the castle. We were well looked after, the bikes safely stored and lovely, quiet room overlooking the courtyard. Beautifully appointed. A very good breakfast. The most amazing thing was the trouble the owners went to, to sort out and advise on my husband's sore backside ( we are not regular cyclists!). A shop was contacted and 30 mins later he was sorted and we were on our way. They also gave good advice on eating places etc. Highly recommend

Room Tip: for us the courtyard room would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

An immaculately kept b&b with Maureen a most friendly hostess and an excellent breakfast provided by Peter. All guests' needs are anticipated by the hosts whilst the town and Alnwick Gardens are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for precise directions before arrival as the access doorway is not easy to spot from your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suffolkbarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This B@B is the best my self an my husband have stayed in,spotless room ,very comfortable,lovely breakfast,and Maureen and Peter could not do enough for us,one instance was we promised our grandson a small book on castles, in Northumberland and Peter had let us use his while we were there,when we were unable to get one for ourselves he very kindly told us to take the book he had lent us,so kind!!Very informative,even wrote the scenic route for us from Alnwick to the M6 ,we will be booking again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Courtyard Garden for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at Alnwick Garden and visiting Northumberland. The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk from Alnwick centre and the Garden so an ideal location. Maureen and Peter are a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome indeed. We requested an early check-in as we had to change for a wedding and they allowed us kindly; as was also a packed lunch for our early departure on the second morning to catch the tide for Holy Island. Information on the local area, what to do, where to visit and where to eat was provided. We would definately stay here again and I would advise anyone visiting the local area to try Courtyard Garden. After speaking to other couples at the wedding it seemed as if we got a really good deal compared with their hotels and B&B's. We stayed in the Church View room which is at the front of the house and looks over the church believe it or not. The church bells did ring during the morning but this did not bother us and if anything awoke us in time for our lovely cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Church View may be a little louder as it is on a quiet road and the church bells do ring on a weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Spent a couple of nights here while visiting Alnwick. We received a very warm welcome from Maureen and Peter, who were friendly and helpful. When we mentioned we were planning to visit the castle, Maureen gave us a couple of vouchers and advised on best deals. Helpfully, she also phoned and booked us into a great tapas restaurant for the evening. Both Maureen and Peter were very knowledgeable about the local area and gave good advice throughout our stay.

The B&B is lovely - vintage decor, extremely clean, lovely and spacious, in a quiet residential area just minutes from the town centre. Free no-permit-required parking in the street outside the B&B was easy each day. Little details upped this B&B from the common stock, e.g. Selection of teas provided, bathrobes, slippersocks, heated towel rails, different sweet treats left in room each day, full wifi access, etc. The bathroom was really impressive - separate dressing table with a selection of nice toiletries.

Breakfast was grand, served in an elegant little dining room. The full English was nicely cooked and we appreciated the fact that real bread from the local baker was used for our morning toast.

Essentially, the 5-star rating is well-earned. You can't ask for more from a B&B. Recommended.


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darbyandjoanonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
0 mi away
Rock Moor House B&B
Rock Moor House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rock Moor
63 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#4 of 11 in Alnmouth
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,103 reviews
0 mi away
Tankerville Arms
Tankerville Arms
#1 of 2 in Eglingham
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Garden

Address: 10 Prudhoe Street, Alnwick NE66 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range: £98 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Courtyard Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Garden Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing