We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment, perfect location”
other traveller has booked this property
Main entrance to Alnwick Castle, directly opposite the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance to Alnwick Castle, directly opposite the property
Front view Lounge with wood fire effect electric stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Main entrance to Alnwick Castle, directly opposite the property
Front view
Lounge with wood fire effect electric stove
View of Alnwick Castle from lounge window
Lounge
Lounge with wood effect electric stove
Dining area
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from bedroom
View from lounge
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
northern...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful apartment, perfect location”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

Not long arrived back from a delightful stay at Castle Retreat in Alnwick. We visit Alnwick a lot and I'm so pleased to have found these fantastic apartments. It looks just as good, if not better, than it does on the photographs. Right opposite Alnwick Castle and yet still very quiet, and no disturbances at night. Everything you could want is provided, and the welcome back came in very handy for our first day! One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in too - slept like a log. Will definitely be back, and thanks to the owners who made sure we had everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamgreen...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay in Alnwick”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in February 2018

We had a very relaxing weekend at Castle Retreat in February 2018. A very luxurious and cozy apartment, in an amazing setting. We really appreciated the personalised welcome package. The bedroom was beautiful with one of the comfiest beds in the world! After arriving at the apartment we went for a G&T at the Cookie Jar, which is a great place just around the corner from Castle Retreat.

Definitely looking forward to another visit in the near future.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Dear Adam,

Thank you very much for you lovely review of Castle Retreat.
The setting directly opposite the Castle is arguably the best view in Alnwick!
I am delighted that you found the bed so comfortable. The luxury cool memory foam mattress really does make a difference for a great nights sleep!
The Cookie Jar is one of our favourite places for lunch in Alnwick. There is a gorgeous garden at the back, just perfect for drinks and cocktails!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Retreat.
Best wishes
Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eviemoffe...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Beautiful Apartment”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed at Castle Retreat in early February and it was perfect.
The apartment itself is decorated beautifully, and we especially loved the welcome package with lots of goodies in! Not only that, all the amenities that we could have thought of were included.
The apartment's location was fantastic, with amazing views of the castle and lovely restaurants/bars on the door step.
We couldn't recommend Castle Retreat highly enough, definitely the perfect destination for a weekend away.
Can't wait to visit again soon.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Dear Evie, thank you very much for your lovely review of Castle Retreat. We are so pleased you loved the views and location as much as we do, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Lynn (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fabulous stay at Castle Retreat”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We spent a wonderful weekend at Castle Retreat, a luxury and beautifully decorated apartment overlooking the entrance to Alnwick Castle. It is perfectly situated for exploring Alnwick and the county of Northumberland, with it’s beautiful beaches and historic towns and villages. The location of the apartment couldn’t be better, with views out of the front windows to the Barbican and castle grounds beyond, which feature in the infamous Harry Potter movies.
Located on the top floor of a Grade 2 listed townhouse, the apartment has retained all the beautiful period features and has been very tastefully decorated with all the luxuries you would expect in gold award winning accommodation. It’s full of thoughtful touches which you don’t always get in self catering accommodation, including a welcome hamper with fresh bread, milk, wine and nibbles and luxury toiletries. The apartment has 1 double bedroom and is ideal for a couple looking for a relaxing retreat. We stayed with our 1 year old daughter and it was perfect, with a travel cot and stair gate available upon request. The kitchen is very well-equipped. The numerous cupboards contain everything you could possibly need to cook up a feast. The bathroom is modern and has a lovely, large walk in shower. We spent our evenings curled up on the sofa in the lounge which has an electric wood burning stove, a large TV and a good selection of books and DVDs to choose from. It also has a small dining table where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. The bedroom is spacious and has a very comfortable king size bed, TV, dressing table and wardrobe. There’s also a wonderful view out of the bedroom window to the castle entrance, with a quaint window seat where you can watch the world go by.
The towns amenities are on your doorstep, literally a minutes walk from the apartment and you will find shops, cafes and restaurants. There’s a good variety of places to eat, including the very stylish Cookie Jar which is just around the corner and well worth a visit for a drink or afternoon tea.
We spent a day exploring the Northumberland coastline, travelling across the causeway to Holy Island where we visited Lindisfarne Castle and tried the traditional local mead made on the island. All the lovely fresh sea air had given us an appetite and we took a recommendation from the guest book to stop off at The Joiners Arms in High Newton. We weren’t disappointed, the pub had a great atmosphere and the food was delicious! A mile down the road is a wonderful beach at Newton-by-the-Sea - considered to be one of the most attractive villages on the Northumberland coast. It is almost completely owned by the National Trust and has an open ended square of beautiful cottages looking out onto the sandy beach. The area guide in the apartment is very comprehensive and full of ideas - there’s so much to see and do in the area, it was difficult to choose where to go!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt very at home in Castle Retreat. We would highly recommend it for a wonderful short break.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for for your lovely review of Castle Retreat.
We agree that the views from the lounge and bedroom windows of the castle are simply stunning.
Castle Retreat is a super place from which to explore all the delights of beautiful Northumberland, particularly the breathtaking coastline.
We are so pleased you had such a great trip and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;