We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravensmede Cottage B & B
Ranked #43 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent a night here while driving up to Scotland and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stop over. The B&B is in a quiet suburb just outside the centre of Alnwick, but you can easily walk into town in 10-15 minutes. This means that you get the best of both worlds: a quiet night's sleep (which would be hard to guarantee closer to the centre) and easy access to shops, restaurants and other amenities in Alnwick. Our room was beautifully decorated, if a little on the small side, but came with tea/coffee-making facilities, bottled water and free wi-fi access. But we were also quite taken with the bathroom, which was unsually light and spacious, filled with lovely toiletries, and immaculately clean! Breakfast was tasty and our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. A great place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here with girlfriend for a Saturday night getaway and was very pleased with the choice of B and B we made.

The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We were given a key and there was a real sense of freedom to come and go as pleased.

The double room was large, equipped with a wall mounted tv, tea and coffee facilities, a writing desk and 2 chairs with a small coffee table. The ensuite bathroom was modern and clean too.

Breakfast was full English, together with a selection of cereals, fruit juice and tea. Good quality ingredients in the full English.

The house is 10 to 15 minute stroll into Alnwick centre, hence the lower price compared to other b and b in the area. Fantastic value!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33jordan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We arrived to a very friendly welcome, the room was very nice with all the usual mod cons . the cottage was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was was lovely.
I would highly reccoment this cottage! There were also great bus links very near by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed for a week at this excellent bed and breakfast. I can't think of anything that you need that wasn't provided and I am sure if I could have thought of anything it would have been provided for us!

Very helpful and pleasant owners, a warm atmosphere and lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laburnum and it was lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 190729Monica_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
406 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a one night stop over here on the way to Scotland. The property is about 1 Mile and a 15 min walk from Alnwick center. The room was lovely and nicely decorated with a good amount of space. The breakfast was great with cereal, full english and toast a really good start to the day. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, the bed was a little firm for me but that is just personal preference.
Check in is after 4.30pm and breakfast between 8-9am.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Checked into the Sycamore room at Ravensmede today after several nights at a much more expensive place in Edinburgh that felt like a hostel.
So far we are very impressed. The room is lovely and very nicely designed (no chintz!). We have windows at both ends of the room with trees at one side and a garden with very perky bunnies at the other!
The owners have thought of everything from a selection of DVDs to dressing gowns, slippers, fresh flowers and little chocolates by the pillows. The breakfast menu is very good and local produce is used.
A really impressive little B&B which we will definitely recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearlesshyeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We only stayed for one night only at this B&B. It was not signposted, but the directions on our printed confirmation was ok, even if the house itself is a little hidden.

We were four persons travelling together and all of us got a really good impression, the rooms had a really modern look, the beds were comfortable and there was a TV with a dvd-player in the room. There were also films to borrow in the chest-of-drawers. There were fresh flowers in a vase when we arrived, which made us feel very welcome, a nice touch. They also had free Wi-fi, but we never had the time to test it.

The rooms were like rooms in a hotel, but you felt that you were in somebody's home when you ate breakfast in the livingroom. Breakfast was regular English breakfast, sometimes they serve their own homemade bread.

The hosts were helpful and nice, but yet kept their distance so you could have your privacy as a guest.

We all liked our stay in Ravensmede Cottage and wouldn't hesitate to book it again if we ever were to return to Alnwick.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lothloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#26 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
4t4 Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 17 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
East Cawledge Farm B&B
East Cawledge Farm B&B
#35 of 69 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Chestnut Tree House
Chestnut Tree House
#2 of 2 in Longhoughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#47 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Percy Terrace Bed & Breakfast Alnwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensmede Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensmede Cottage B & B

Property: Ravensmede Cottage B & B
Address: 6 Ravensmede | Alnmouth Road, Alnwick NE66 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensmede Cottage B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax & Rejuvenate for the next day in the historical Town of Alnwick. Come & stay in a Victorian Cottage which dates back to 1870. Originally built as stables & outbuildings to Ravensmede house. All rooms have wireless internet connection, TV, DVD Clock/radio, ironing facilities & well stocked hospitality trays. We have one room on the ground floor which is disable friendly with a en-suite wet room. ONLY A TEN MIN WALK INTO TOWN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravensmede Cottage B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensmede Cottage B & B Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing