We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble.”
Review of The Shepherds Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shepherds Rest
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on a B+B basis.

Bob the owner was a real character with a story for every situation.

From our arrival onward, nothing was too much trouble for him. We had ordered an evening meal on the day of our arrival and it was really tasty and home cooked. There was no over the top showy frills, but just honest to goodness food.

We were asked in the evening each day as to what we would like for Breakfast. I had the full English each day and my wife changed every day – no problem.

On the Sunday we had the Carvery meal. Well cooked and plenty for all. There were 4 types of meat and a good selection of home cooked vegetables.

Although there was a varied selection of sweets included in the price, I had to decline as the first course was more than ample.

There were a number of friendly local regulars who said they came just about every week for the Sunday Carvery. They said it was the best meal and value around. One of the local couples said “Bob always makes everyone feel special, he’s a man with no edge”.

We know what they mean.

The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. The shower was nice and hot. Our room faced onto the main road but we were not aware of undue noise at night. The traffic is very light and was no problem at all.

Situated about half a mile from Alnwick, this is within easy walking distance of the town.
It is mostly surrounded by Countryside views which are breathtaking.

I would say that if you want a good honest welcome, with good honest food , and “what you see is what you get”, then give this a try.

I don’t think Bob knows how to do pretence, he says it how it is.

Thanks for a great stay Bob.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davidr19510101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a great time in around Alnwick - possibly the friendliest British town we have ever visited, enhanced by a modest but lovely campsite run by one of the best and most full of character landlord/owners we have had the pleasure to meet . (cheers for the bush too Bob)

The town and Castle are a 10 to 15 min walk , some really good places to eat and drink inc the Shepherds. Would stay there again ...Always a good supply of loo rolls.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank russell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My brother & I both enjoyed our stay here. Cosy room, an excellent & generous cooked breakfast with special sausages in a dinging room with great character. Bob could not have been more welcoming. Great views of the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife Tina and I are travelling full time around the country in our motorhome, We just left The Shepherds Rest this morning after a fabulous weekend in Alnwick. We stayed on the camping and caravanning certified site at the back of the pub and were very impressed - nice clean toilet, clean well appointed shower with endless hot water and a great pitch with hook up. Waste disposal, chemical toilet disposal and fresh water available too. The pub itself is great with bags of atmosphere and a warm friendly welcome from the Landlord Bob - what a great bloke, he couldnt do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble. We had the carvery on the sunday afternoon and the quality and portion sizes were excellent. I would recommend this site to anyone. Thanks Bob and hope to return one day.
Eddie & Tina.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have just returned from camping at the shepherd's rest. This was my second visit and already planning another. The camping area and facilities were great with showers and toilets. Just situated behind the pub which offers b&b, lovely food and drinks, fantastic service in a very friendly environment. I had the cavery today for Sunday lunch, huge portions, delicious, great selection, desert included and excellent value for money. Bob is very friendly to all and very helpful. The location is ideal and it is a 5 minute stroll into Alnwick. For anyone who wants to visit Alnwick I would recommend staying here and I shall be going back. Laugh a minute. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loui5e1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Been a while since we visited Bob for Sunday lunch, and it was nice to be back for his home cooking and pleasant company. As usual the food was excellent, choice of the usual roasts and a special mince and dumplings! All hot, delicious and plenty of it. All four of us cleared our plates and then after a respite and a chat with Bob enjoyed the deserts. Again plenty of choice.
Always a nice atmosphere, lots of banter with the locals , unpretentious , what you get is a warm friendly bar, comfortable service at a very good price. We have had the pleasure of Bobs Sunday carvery over the years and it's nice to be back!. cheers. S&M

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuartwalton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This must be the prettiest camp site we have visited. Well kept and tidy and with lovely ducks! However only a cold tap in the campsite toilet. Would have expected hot water for 20 pounds a night. Great location. Landlord Bob is a lovely friendly chap but the food was nothing special. Although it was pleasant we would not visit again simply because of the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverleyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#31 of 68 in Alnwick
296 reviews
7.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.1 mi away
Rock Moor House B&B
Rock Moor House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rock Moor
63 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hope & Anchor
The Hope & Anchor
#4 of 11 in Alnmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherds Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherds Rest

Address: Alnwick Moor, Alnwick NE66 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Alnwick
Price Range: £73 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherds Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly pub ,Open fire place, great little bar ,Games room, (pool table, wii karaoke, Restrant , Caravan Site also ten tents, 1double and 1twin room breakfast and evening meals available both rooms un-suite , All staff very friendly call in see for your self 10 minutes away from Alnwick castle, Alnwick Gardens, Alnmouth beach 4 miles down the road very nice coast line from Alnmouth to Seahouse's 11Mile from Rothbury great views and country side ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Shepherds Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shepherds Rest Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing