We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shepherds Rest
Nearby Hotels
US$226
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$164
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
65
22
4
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
22
4
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchthe pubfabulous weekendfull english breakfastcooked to perfectionalnwick gardensfirst classcarveryfacilitiessuzycampervanlandlady
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We would thoroughly recommend The Shepherds Rest of Alnwick if you need a quality,real value for money place to stay when visiting the area. The facilities are first class and the food is fabulous. The staff are friendly and obviously work hard to make their visitors time there the best it can be. We love the Northumberland area and still have many places to visit. We won't look any further for a base next time we come.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ASHDERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We travelled here with our young children ( aged 8 and twins at 4) for an overnight stay. Bob is fantastic, we paid our non refundable deposit ( really reasonable at £20) and then the balance in cash ( Bob doesn't do plastic ) we had dinner and we all had fish and chips.... the children voted them the best ever so now there's no hope for mum ! Breakfast was excellent with loads to choose from - as campers we had a look round the new site that has been made, and its safe to say that we will be making a return journey in the very near future. Thank you for a fab weekend !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Carol and I stayed here Mon to Fri 12-16 July. I'd got it off the internet and we didn't know what to expect although my conversation with Bob on the phone sounded encour
aging.We thought we were booking B&B but we were astounded to find it included a very substantial evening meal in with the price. The food was fantastic,wholesome and plenty of it. Bob is very helpful and flexible with times etc. He introduced me to McEwans Export beer which we dont get much in Yorkshire.He keeps it well and it is very moresome. The room was very homely and comfortable complete with ensuite.The inn is very central for most things in Northumbria.We are Nationial Trust members and we visited Cragside(an amazing experience),Wallington Hall and Dunstanbergh Castle.We also visited the small seaside villages of Craster,Beadnell,Sea Houses and Banborough. Next time we want to visit Holy Island and the Farne Islands.Monday night was a good night in the bar,Quiz Night.We got third prize.The other nights were quiet like most pubs today. We would definitely like to return. Craig and Carol,Dewsbury.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigcar0lpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We spent four very cold days in Alnwick stayng at The Sheperds Rest. Bob was a brilliant host, making sure there was a real fire alight and he put the heating back on for us again. We paid £70 per night (for 2 people) and for that we got a massive cooked breakfast (you told him what you wanted the night before so we didn't have to wait long when we came down. This came with cereal and fresh fruit, unlimited tea, toast and Bob's jokes!!! A wonderful huge warming evening dinner was also included in the price. Pub is about 15 min walk from the centre of town and it was easy to get there (There is a bit of a steep hill) . He has three rooms in the pub and also a small camp site in the field next door and we soon made friends with other guests. There is a little garden with ducks and an aviary. Would definitely stay there again - Thanks again Bob - Tricia & Gerry

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TriciaBNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The Shepherds Rest is a pub and small B and B on the edge of the historic town of Alnwick. The owner is called Bob, who provides friendly, efficient service and great food. It is not expensive. We paid £70 per nigh for two. One note of warning, Bob does not accept plastic.

We were recommended to this B and B by a hotel in Alnwick who were fully booked at the time. In future, we will always try to book here first when we return to the area.

There are three rooms available, all en-suite. The beds are comfortable, and the location means the main source of noise is the occasional bleet from a sheep.

Breakfast's are massive if you want. Evening meals can be arranged with Bob. We can recommend the home made steak and kidney suet puddings.

Do not expect a hotel, or hotel service. Do expect an enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnandMij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOBGEL, Owner at The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Bob Writes - Thank you very much for your kind review. We try our best from day to day to help our guests.

Kind regards

Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews