We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holly Lodge
Ranked #7 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just back from a four night stay at Holly Lodge - clean, comfortable and convenient. Situated in a quiet road within easy walking distance of town centre - bus stop for excellent X18 coastal bus route - Alnwick Castle and Gardens and the wonderful Barter Books. Will stay again when in area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumped55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
171
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We cannot but say that this is very good B&B and which is close to visit Alnwick Castle and Gardens.
Though we were a bit early George welcomed us and showed us to our room, which was upstairs (looks like the attic has been converted into rooms). We cannot say anything about the room (room 1) except because of the tilted roof one has to be content with a fixed shower.

Another thing is that although WiFi is advertised, one cannot get connection in Room 1. I would have expected that in this modern age this can easily be solved and save you from having to stay in lounge after a days out instead of relaxed in you room to get internet.

Apart from that room was immaculately clean.

Also, have to thank George for welcoming us with a pot of tea and a very very good piece of carrot cake, which we later learnt that it was made by Jackie. Thanks and Hmmm it was lovely.


Also, i would like to mention the ample choice one has for breakfast with hot meals served in heated plates.

Ample parking is available and would recommend for those who want to visit Alnwick Castle and places in the vicinty like Bamburgh Castle, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daxisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I headed down to Alnwick on 28th April for a five night stay at the Holly Lodge. This was our SIXTH visit to this lovely B&B and as the title of this review says, it just gets better and better. We feel totally relaxed in the Holly Lodge as George & Jackie go out of their way to make sure we feel at home.
The hotel itself is kept in immaculate condition and the food is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable and there are also a few extras like complimentary bar, chilled bottles of water in fridge at reception along with ice making machine for guests to help themselves to.
George & Jackie are the ideal hosts and if there is anything they can do to make your stay more comfortable then they will try their very best to accommodate you.
If you are looking for a base to enjoy the many delights of Alnwick and surrounding area then this is the perfect choice, that's why we have booked again for next year. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: As I have a walking disability, I always choose room No. 1 as it is easily accessible but any of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

George and Jackie are the perfect hosts, room was available even though we arrived 3 hours early (on the off chance), lovely fresh fruit available at breakfast before tackling the full cooked mains that sets up up for the rest of the day, complimentary bar available which is a nice touch and one I made use of ;-), top marks holly lodge

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steven123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights and there isn't anything I can add to previous reviews. Everything was excellent. In particular the freshly prepared selection of fruit at breakfast as well as the cooked options made this the best B&B breakfast I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janerogers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this very nice B&B in Alnwick recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
George and Jackie were extremely welcoming and within a few minutes of arriving, we were ensconced in the small but comfortable lounge, with a very welcome cup of tea! Cake was also on offer, but you have to draw a line sometimes!
There was a small reception area for the property and George took care of all the business, right at the outset.
George explained that our ground floor room was on the small side, but the bed was a king size and everything else about the room and bathroom was absolutely fine.
There were lots of nice towels, loads of hot water and the central heating came on in the evening and in the morning, as it was still only mid April.
The room had all the fittings and accompaniments you would expect and we were very comfortable. There was also tea and coffee in the room, as well as travel and local information etc.
Breakfast was a delight. You had to choose your breakfast main course in writing the night before and leave this in reception. Breakfast provided a great selection, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and juices before the main course arrived. This was exactly as described and was simply delicious. There was also a choice of toast, butter and preserves. You would be hard pushed not to enjoy it all - it was very nicely presented, served by a very friendly waitress and tasted fantastic!
The property was only ten minutes walk from the centre of town, an easy walk too, not too many steep hills and there was plenty of off-street car parking too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holly Lodge and will certainly stay there again when we have a need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely B&B in a quiet location with a short walk to Alnwick.
Our room was a very good size in the roof of the Bungalow with an en-suite wet room.
There was ample car parking out front and we received a warm welcome.
The bed was comfy and huge! We had blackout blinds as well so we sleep all the way though!
We had no problems with the wet room and had lovely showers.
The breakfast was terrific and nothing was too much trouble!
We have both agreed that we would love to stay again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SazzySparkyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
george s, Owner at Holly Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Many thanks for your review.

Jackie and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments and overall excellent review.

We do hope you visit us again.

George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
7.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bow House
Bow House
#4 of 69 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Acre House
West Acre House
#2 of 69 in Alnwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge

Property: Holly Lodge
Address: Holly Lodge The Avenue, Alnwick NE66 1UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Holly Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Gold Award, Visit Britain Kellogg's Breakfast Award. Location: Situated up a very quiet cul-de-sac, The Avenue off Prudhoe Street next to Police Station, a three minute walk to centre, restaurants and Alnwick Garden and Castle. A very peaceful place for an undisturbed great night's sleep, perfect base for Alnwick and district. Bedrooms: Six en-suite travertine tiled shower wet rooms, 1 room has sunken bathroom and bath /shower. 1 room has been modified to include ground floor disabled facilities. Five of these rooms have super king sized double beds, which can be split into comfortable single beds. Three rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a child. All rooms have flat screen TV with freeview package, Sky TV and free Wi Fi. Tea /coffee making, hairdryer and ironing facility. Car Park: Large secure car park for up to 10 cars, C.C.T.V protected, in grounds. Lounge: Guest lounge with 42" flat screen TV with freeSAT and Sky package. Breakfast Room: Individual tables in modern style breakfast room. Reception: Private secure guest entrance with Reception facilities, and fridge with complimentary bottled chilled mineral water and ice making machine. Drying Room: Drying room available along with bike storage room. Decking Area: Private rear decking area and gardens with seats and two fish ponds with waterfall feature available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Lodge Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing