We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alnwick's best restaurant offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Tirreno

Caffe Tirreno
Ranked #21 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Quality authentic food served daily 01665 605455
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Alnwick's best restaurant offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My first impression of the restaurant was that it is more of a cafe, however after walking round the picturesque town in an attempt to find a restaurant that was open, offering a varied choice with sight of customers and staff, all roads lead to the Caffe Tirreno.

The place is buzzing with customers, and its so busy they don't take bookings, you turn up and take the next available table.

Fantastic food, packed with flavour, great service from a young enthusiastic team - we were on holiday and enjoyed the relaxed pace.

Last but not least, Caffe Tirreno offers excellent value for money. I look forward to my next visit.

Thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    129
    34
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Friendly atmosphere, lovely Italian café! Nice place to have a drink, located in the market place of Alnwick! Also helpful staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashleigh_priest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going down hill!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We often come to Alnwick and dine here as it is cheep and cheerful- or it was!!
Food is really going down hill- past 2 times we have been the potato skins have been burnt and pasta tasted bland.
If it is busy you will wait a good 20 minutes to order, if it is quiet you will be rushed. Staff seem constantly rushed and stressed- it is a small place so I don't think they would have room for any more staff.
We waited in the pub next door until our table was ready- we waited a good 40 minutes. I think they forgot about us! We then waited a further 10 minutes to order.
I suppose here you get what you pay for- not alot! This has definitely not always been the case- in the past we have had some of the best italian food ever! Such a shame.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Place But Fraught”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a nice Italian restaurant with good service and an excellent Italian menu at reasonable prices. Unfortunately the menu isn't translated into good tasting food (maybe the pizzas are their strength). Shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClearViewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

A busy little place that doesn't take reservations sounds hard to explain, but the staff here make it work and keep the customers happy. the staff were very friendly without interfering with your meal. The food prices were very reasonable and the portions were more than big enough. It was great value for money. The only draw back was that we felt a little rushed to leave once we've ended the meal - I would point out that this wasn't as a result of the staff making us feel this way, but more the way the restaurant was run you could feel hungry people waiting over your shoulder from the tiny bar/waiting area for you to finish your meal so they could start on theirs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Tirreno also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Caffe Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing