We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Character cottage in idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Riverside Cottage opposite The Running Fox Cafe and near the Northumberland Arms pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Riverside Cottage opposite The Running Fox Cafe and near the Northumberland Arms pub
The stylish living room has original cast iron open fire, window shutters, LCD TV and DVD The stylish living room has original cast iron open fire, window shutters, LCD TV and DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Beautiful Riverside Cottage opposite The Running Fox Cafe and near the Northumberland Arms pub
The stylish living room has original cast iron open fire, window shutters, LCD TV and DVD
The stylish living room has original cast iron open fire, window shutters, LCD TV and DVD
The dining room seats four and has an original bread oven feature
Riverside Cottage's Dining Room Comfortably seats four people and has a feature bread oven fireplace
The kitchen has top of the range appliances, family size dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer
KitcheThe kitchen has top of the range appliances, family size dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer/dr
The Master Bedroom has window seats and lovely views over the river
A glimpse of the Master Bedroom
The second bedroom is a twin with original fireplace, built in wardrobe and chest of drawers
Twin BedrooThe second bedroom is a twin with original fireplace, built in wardrobe and chest of draw
Riverside Cottage's modern Bathroom
Riverside Cottage's fireplace with original oil painting
Riverside Cottage's beautiful cast iron open fireplace
Herb Boxes underneath the Kitchen window
The Outside Seating space is a sun trap in the summer.
Riverside Cottage has a beautiful location right by the river Coquet in a friendly Village.
The old Bridge in front of the Cottage is always full of colour and a beautiful spot
Views from the bridge in front of the Cottage are gorgeous. The perfect spot for fishing as well!
The amazing Running Fox Cafe opposite has an outdoor seating area so you can take the dogs!
The Running Fox Cafe, a wonderful place to eat while you're at Riverside Cottage. Great breakfasts!
The Northumberland Arms pub is a few seconds walk away, pet friendly bar and a great restaurant!
A Northumberland beach, just a few miles from Riverside Cottage
A walk in the Cheviot Hills, easily accessible from Riverside Cottage
Bamburgh Castle from the beach, one of Northumberland's many stunning Castles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Osciewosc
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is my second review, following what was an initial generous review. I have now reduced the rating due to the owner's negative response to constructive criticism to areas of the rental that can, and should be improved. Firstly, the owner referred to me as 'managing to break the dishwasher'. On arrival to the property my husband noticed a hairline crack above the plastic door handle that opens the dishwasher, he forgot to mention this to me. As I went to pull the handle, as intended, half of it snapped off. The dishwasher did not look fairly new; this is 'fair wear and tear', alongside a poor design. I informed the owner, there was no response from him following our stay and he duly replaced it. Secondly, I mentioned that the sealant needed replacing around the shower area. I am not the only reviewer who has alluded to the bathroom needing attention. The tiling also needs investment. Finally, the disposal of waste needs addressing. The owner states that there are general waste bins outside, there are, but the instructions in the Guest folder requests guests to dispense waste away from the property. ... every other property has wheelie bins for general and recycling waste, not this one and I am not the only reviewer to mention this as an issue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
I'm very sorry to read that you felt my response was negative and reduced the rating of your review because of this, I always start by thanking guests for taking the time to leave feedback. I always try and respond to points made simply so that prospective guests know that I take the feedback seriously and promptly see to any maintenance issues eg the bathroom sealant or replacing a broken dishwasher. This was in no way intended to cause offence and I apologise profusely if the meaning of my response was misinterpreted this way.

I have reviewed the guest folder and I can't find where it asks guest to remove waste from the property, as I mentioned we provide two large bins in the yard which we empty at every changeover. I will be reviewing all written communication so that I can find where this has been mentioned as again it's certainly not my intention to give this impression. Kind regards, Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davierobh...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Character cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely village location but easy reach from A1. Cottage had everything needed. Village has good pub for food & lovely bakery (famous Running Fox). So much to visit nearby, coastal walks & castles, Morpeth, Alnwick & Newcastle within short drive. Lovely welcome pack including delicious local bread & honey. Wood burning stove but not needed as cottage cosy. Walks from doorstep along River Coquet. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we always really appreciate it. It's lovely to have the open fire at this time of year but the Cottage's heating is so good it's not always necessary! We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful riverside cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage clean and tidy. Nearby to pleasant village and shop. Easy to get to coast and useful information file provided.
Bathroom was rather shabby and difficult to get out of bath.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we always really appreciate it. I'm really sorry to read that you thought the bathroom was shabby, we have never had any negative feedback before and I will certainly check on everything immediately. The bath is a standard shape and size but I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty getting out. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay so much and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette C
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Cottage & location ”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just spent a superb week with our 2 Bedlington Terriers at Riverside Cottage. In the lovely village of West Thirston on the River Coquet. The cottage was cosy, clean and we were well catered for. No need to take the kitchen sink EVERYTHING is all ready there. Very comfortable double bed, small patio area and lovely welcome pack from the artisan bakery 5 minutes away called the Running Fox. Pub The Northumberland Arms only a few doors away, dog friendly, good food and friendly staff make Riverside Cottage the perfect base to explore Northumberland . Loads of walks and information in the Welcome file at the cottage. We would highly recommend this cottage for a relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we always really appreciate it. We are so very lucky to have the Running Fox and Northumberland Arms in the Village, they're a huge asset! We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne M
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in an fab village”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Riverside cottage is a lovely cottage in a wonderful little village, the owners have thought of everything you will need while away and cater especially for your four legged friends, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Ideally situated for walks down by the river and The Running Fox over the bridge does amazing breakfasts and deli food to take away, Thank you also for the welcome pack that was delicous, would definitely recommend and will hopefully book again in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your review, we do work hard to try and think of everything our guests will need on their holiday so it's great to hear read your comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_andrews...
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal locationand accommodation.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Riverside cottage is in a lovely village location and central to all the tourist attractions in Northumberland. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay extremely comfortable and the bowls, towels and lead provided for the pooch is a nice touch.
The welcome pack is very generous and much appreciated after a long journey!
Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we work really hard to maintain our lovely Cottage to such high standards so it's great to read that it's appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knarfmmad
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly accommodation in pleasant village”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Felton was a very pleasant village alongside the River Coquet with an excellent pub, The Northumberland Arms and a great shot, The Running Fox. The latter supplied an excellent welcome pack in the cottage. The Cottage was all we expected, well kept, clean and tidy. All the facilities we required were available and we were extremely comfortable. The location was excellent for visiting, during out stay we went up to Berwick on Tweed and along Hadrian's Wall to Corbridge and beyond. The beaches at Bamburgh and Alnmouth were deserted and we and the dog enjoyed walking along the edge of the water for miles. Overall a very pleasant trip in a part of the world that we had not been to before, but it will not be the last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your review, I'm so pleased to hear that your first visit to Northumberland won't be your last! It's a wonderful area and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing