We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable cottage, a great place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Juliet Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Juliet Cottage
Juliet Front Door
Patio
Bathroom
Juliet Cottage Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RogerMorg...
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable cottage, a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owner really went the extra mile to make sure we were welcome, comfortable, and had everything we needed from the welcome pack of goodies to those kitchen bits and pieces that you often leave behind!
The cottage is really well placed in Alnwick, just minutes from the shops, Castle and Gardens, and Barters Books. There was loads of information provided from the outset about places to go and see etc.
On our three day visit, we didn't get close to seeing everything we intended (despite a trip to nearby Bamburgh Castle), so we expect to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nonblonde...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I stayed here for Christmas, Louise and her team thought of everything to make our stay unforgettable, she thought of everything to make us feel so welcome. I was worried about not having a tree, I needn't have as a beautifull lit one was waiting to welcome us. I cannot recommend Juliet Cottage enough and we do plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little touches to make it personal to us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Aaah, what a lovely review. We love doing the tree and the decorations for Christmas.
Have a great 2016 and we hope to see you back in Alnwick soon!
All the best, Louise and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petalia_8...
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is beautiful; much more spacious than in the online photos and in a great location. The owners have thought of everything, even down to providing sewing kits! There is lots of information available in the cottage with regards to day trips, restaurants and things to do all over Northumberland. The cottage is really cosy and the bathroom and kitchen are well equipped and have everything you might need. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the homely touches
Liked least: Weather not good enough to enjoy the little courtyard garden!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed a long weekend in Juliet Cottage and would highly recommend it. The cottage is a decent size with small outdoor space at the back. It's very warm and cosy, the kitchen is small but has everything you could possibly need. The location is right in the town centre so you're within easy walking distance of nearly everything - Castle, gardens, bargain books etc.

What really made the stay special for us was the attention to detail that prevails through the whole cottage. From the personalised message in magnetic letters on the fridge to the notes in the boardgames and the snacks that were left for us - it all added to the experience.

I would (and already have) recommend Juliet Cottage to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cosiness
Liked least: The bed was a bit small - but thats my fault for being 6'6"
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachEdinb...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just back from 4 nights in Juliet cottage and had a lovely stay. We received a warm welcome with some lovely treats which were unexpected and the fresh flowers were a lovely touch. The cottage was very well equipped and it really was a home from home. Our wee boy loved the bunk beds and our bed was really comfy. Lots of local information was provided which we found really useful along with the information which Louise had emailed us prior to our stay. We were really lucky with the weather and were able to visit Alnwick Castle, Bamburgh Castle, Lindesfarne and Dunstanburgh Castle to name a few. Lots of places we didn't get to so will definitely return. Would recommend Juliet Cottage for anyone planning a visit to Alnwick and the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extra touches which really made Juliet Cottage a lovely holiday base
Liked least: Can't think of a thing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are impressed by how many castles you managed to visit - there are only two other local ones which you have missed that we can think of - Chillingham Castle and Warkworth Castle - both of which are well worth a visit. Maybe next time!
Have a lovely Christmas and New Year. All the best, Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane70Mc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable house.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Alnwick. The cottage was in a great position very near to the castle and gardens (across the road). Alnwick town was a short walk away as was Barter books. The cottage itself was ideal for a small family- although with bunk beds, a truckle bed and a travel cot I did note that a family of six could be accommodated although it would be a squeeze. The yard is small which suited us but may be a negative with young children. There was no parking outside the house but we had no trouble with parking in the car park nearby, it is possible to load and unload outside the door. All in all we were perfectly happy and received a great service from Juliet Cottage- we felt very welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you felt comfortable in Juliet Cottage and that you thought that the location was great. We are so lucky to have the handy car park for our guests to use just around the corner. Enjoy the rest of 2014 and come back and stay sometime soon. Thanks again. Louise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needed A Break”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from Juliet Cottage, what a great place to stay, just around the corner and you are in the Market Town Centre. Plenty of Cafes to choose from. The pubs on a night for Tea and Indian and Chinese restaurants and take aways. Alnwick Castle is 200 yards away.
The cottage itself is real cosy, everything is available so just bring yourself.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Great Shower instant Hot Water and plenty of room to move
Liked least: Toilet Seat needs up grading to a soft close model...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Alnwick and Juliet Cottage. We have a couple of jobs lined up for the 6th and 7th of June this year and they include a new lick of paint in the shower room. I hadn't thought of a new toilet seat but while we are revamping, we will replace that too.
Thanks again, and please come back and stay at Juliet Cottage again in the future.
All the best,
Louise, Juliet Cottage. Alnwick Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing