We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T time”
Review of Bari Tea Brewery

Bari Tea Brewery
Ranked #2 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bari [baa-ree] - Lovely in Northumberland. Contemporary tea brewery, with a traditional Northumberland heart: fine teas and teaware to try before you buy. Open 7 days during school holidays, closed Tues & Weds in Term time. Please check our website for details.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“T time”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a really nice cup of tea in here with my wife this afternoon, only downside was finding it a little late,could have spent a pleasant hour or two here. Highly recommend it for tea lovers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raith46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    44
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tea shop with a difference!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited this tea house with my partner and friend whilst visiting Northumberland recently having found it highly recommended on Tripadvisor and it most certainly did not disappoint. As a big tea fan this was a wonderful experience. There was a huge variety of tea available and the extensive menu offered a clear description of each tea, along with small jars of the tea leaves available to smell and make an informed decision. The service was fantastic - we were made to feel very welcome and the lady serving us was incredibly enthusiastic about the teas which made the whole experience exciting and unique. Along with our teas we had a homemade scone (grape and cream, although they have different scones and cakes each day). The tea and scone were delicately presented and just delicious. Perhaps one of the nicest things about Bari was the relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the feeling that we were welcome...there was no rush to get us out and so we spent a leisurely hour enjoying the whole experience. I highly, highly recommend this to tea lovers. Just note though, this is a tea shop and so the only coffee offered is filter coffee. If you're after fresh coffee, this isn't the place for you. Otherwise though, just perfect for a cuppa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claireabellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea with a difference”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We wandered into Bari Tea quite by chance and asked for coffee since our experience of ordering tea previously had been the typical low quality tea bag variety. The very pleasant assistant said that they only served filter coffee since their speciality was tea. We decided to try a Glendale tea and a Darjeeling both of which came in a pot; a 3 minute egg-timer determined when to pour. My partner got 4 cups from the Glendale and I three from the Darjeeling, both superb. We had a large fruit & syrup scone each, freshly made and served with butter and jam. A good chat with the owner of Bari explained why this is the only decent place we have had tea; she is so obviously knowledgeable and concerned with maintaining quality. Our bill came to £8.75: for two scones and 7 cups of tea! I can't recommend Bari too highly. Along with the Castle, this is one part of Alnwick which is unmissable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knaresborough in yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Whilst on holiday in Alnwick we came across this tea room and cafe and what a good thing we did. The lady was so helpful and knowledgeable about the various teas and the cakes were delicious and all homemade. The soups looked delicious especially combined with the amazing variety of cheese scones and the place was obviously frequented by regular customers and we will be joining them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 86badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must for tea drinkers”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wonderful choice of teas in a contemporary setting. just round the corner from market square. Friendly and helpful staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bari Tea Brewery also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Bari Tea Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing