We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Debbie makes the Joiners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Joiners Arms

The Joiners Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Joiners Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 118 Restaurants in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Debbie makes the Joiners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have been to the Joiners on numerous occasions and have always found the food to be enjoyable. It must be said however that when Debbie is working the service is vastly improved. She is attentive, friendly & creates a welcoming atmosphere. Would give this a 5 if Debbie was in on every visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Good afternoon

Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience, and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you again for your very kind words, I will pass this on to the rest of the team.

Have a lovely evening.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    216
    87
    65
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
paisley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited this pub on about 5 occassions during our recent holiday. had lunch, afternoon tea and all food we had was lovely, the homemade chips are to die for.
Friendly staff, always somewhere to sit and could take our dog inside too which was great. Would recommend to friends and will definately return when we are next in area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerbiePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Good afternoon

Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences here. The homemade chips are definitely a favourite of mine as well – they’re delicious!!

Thank you again for your very kind words, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a lovely evening.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited one Sunday afternoon without booking and although they were very busy managed to find us a table. Ordered the roast lamb and were very surprised when it came almost immediately leading us to assume that meals are already plated up.
this did not detract from the quality of the meal and we both enjoyed it very much. Lamb was cooked in Rosemary and garlic and was very tasty and the Yorkshire puddings are enormous.
Staff were very efficient and pleasant.
Would visit again but it is very busy and may book ahead next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Good afternoon

Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. Here at Apartment Group we value each and every one of our customer’s comment’s and do our utmost to provide you with a perfect experience every time.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience here. The Roast Lamb is one of my personal favourites- it's delicious!!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Have a lovely evening.

Kind regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Top nosh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Worth going off the beaten track for some great pub grub. Not cheap, but all the pieces are on their website. Menu is quite, er, fancy maybe for some tastes. Food very nice though.

Helpful?
Thank Ro3ert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Good afternoon

I hope all is well with you?

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Joiners Arms. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience here and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“massive portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

lovely meal nicely presented & fresh would have given 5 stars but I had onion peel in my onion ring. When I brought this to the attention of the waitress I was told it was because they were busy! not really a good excuse & no apology.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Joiners Arms also viewed

Newton by the Sea, Alnwick
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Joiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing