We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alnwick Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We really enjoyed two nights stay here. Friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy and very comfortable hostel in a great location. We even had a double bed with en suite room, have never known this before in a youth hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lizcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Alnwick Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location - friendly staff - clean hostel -good value -tasty breakfast--- only negative was the very squeaky bunk beds that are the noisiest I've ever encountered! Shame that they haven't bothered to deal with this issue as it reoccurs in other reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alvin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived at the hostel soaked after cycling down from Berwick. We were shown where to put our bikes which is a very secure lockup, then quickly registered and went to our spotless clean en suite room. The drying room was ideal for our soaked gear, even newspaper to pack your shoes! Breakfast was lovely and served in a light modern dining room. We would definitely stay again.
I agree the bunks were very creaky and my only other criticism is we had difficulty finding it, could find no signs and ended up having to ask a few people, also the YHA sign is broken which didn't help when we were wet and cold.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenni6126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The YHA was a great place to stay. The staff were kind and helpful and the facilities clean and tidy.there was space for people to just have some quiet or play in the games room. I would recommend a room to the rear tho as the road at the front is noisy.

Room Tip: The front rooms face a noisy road with a church clock that chimes quarter of an hour all through the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very excited to come here !
The hostel is shiney new all singing all dancing which it should be for the price! Its a lovely location parking was free nearby and in the town for the moment . when its not its an added expense to stay here.

Apart from the manager the staff were mediocre . we experienced breakfast gate!the buffet is not a buffet breakfast its a here's one rasher of bacon don't ask for more ........we then watched the staff have plates filled high with breakfast !!! Much more than the meagre child's portion we were offered!
You can get better value elsewhere for family rooms with breakfast .
Fan games room and it has a TV! We loved this 8 nights hostelling we were ready for a TV!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The negative first, aka the reason why I've only given 4 stars:
The bunk beds are so creeky. No matter what you do,no matter how simple (like adjusting your pillow) your bed will creek so loudly you will wake the whole room. I'm a pretty heavy sleepier but even I woke up a couple of times in the morning due to the creeky beds. Also doesn't give you a great sense of security when you are sleeping up and wonder if you are going to fall down or not.

The positive:
The beds, while creeky, were really comfortable. Everything was very clean. The staff was very friendly, really enjoyed it. The people in my room were great. Nice game room, awesome self-service kitchen (which was also amazingly clean, especially plates utensiles and stuff all looked new and not used at all) and nice dining room. The breakfast in the morning is good for omnivores, I'm a vegetarian/vegan and I found it to be okayish (I would for example never qualify canned fruit swimming in syrup as fresh fruit), also I just don't eat enough in the morning to justify a buffet.
There is Lidl and Morrisons close by for self-service people and lots of cafes and restaurants for those who like to go out to eat.
The hostel is on a quiet street, if you don't count the buses that go by and stop regularly in front of the hostel.
Would definately stay in it again and recommend to other people!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChemicalMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alnwickyh, Manager at Alnwick Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

Sadly metal bunk beds will always have some degree of noise - however it means we can clean them more effectively and there are fewer places for bed bugs to hide out than wooden beds. The beds were installed from new and we are monitoring their performance. They are checked weekly and if necessary the support rails are tightened. Other than this the rest of the bed is welded.

I am pleased to hear that the other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. As you spotted, the bus stops just outside the hostel making car free trips an easy option.

We look forward to welcoming you to Alnwick Youth Hostel the next time you are in the area.

Best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The little hostel fits perfectly into this cute town. Because there where only a couple of other people during my stay, I had a clean and nice six bedroom for me alone. Breakfast was not included but cheap and tasty. The receptionist was very polite but unfortunately he's only there from 4pm to 9pm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
1.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 69 in Alnwick
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alnwick Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alnwick Youth Hostel

Address: 34-38 Green Batt, Alnwick NE66 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Alnwick
Price Range: £38 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alnwick Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the town's Court House, now a new independent town centre youth hostel, Alnwick Youth Hostel welcomes guests from all over the world. The spectacular Northumberland coastline is only a short drive away to the east, the National Park and Cheviot Hills to the west. Alnwick Castle (of Harry Potter fame), The Alnwick Gardens and the beautiful medieval town all within walking distance. With 15 bunk rooms, all en-suite, from two to six-bedded, including some ground floor bedrooms, Alnwick Youth Hostel offers both families and independent travellers all the comfort you would expect from a hostel in a great location. We offer a tasty buffet breakfast to set you up for the day (and can provide a full catered option for group bookings). The hostel also has a comfy lounge, bright and airy dining room, games room, courtyard with outdoor seating and a drying room. Cyclists have use of a secure bike store onsite. Our reception staff are on hand to offer tourist advice, sell you a locally brewed beer or two and can even recommend a good cafe for a decent cup of tea. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alnwick Youth Hostel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing